Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 10:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 75 of 110 [1638 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 18:14    Post subject: Re: Oolite  

ac2011 wrote:
Has anyone tried to get Oolite (http://oolite.org/) working in Carolina? I can run it in other Puppies (albeit slowly as the 3D performance of this laptop isn't great) but in Carolina it fails to even start.

It asks me to report the error, but no error message is actually given. I've tried the latest version 1.77.1 and also an older 1.75 version: same result.


I did get it working, it seems to be a dependency issue which is path related, it don't load the lib files it comes with, but if you symlink them it helps but that shouldn't be necessary as it will overwrite some of the existing files which really shouldn't be done, I will have to do it again to find what is needed as I did compile a few things and it's a mess at the moment, thought it does need espeak installed as it couldn't find the speak-data directory, it may take me a while as I have other things I'm working on and it isn't a priority for me, but with this bit of info it might help someone else to find the problem.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 18:41    Post subject: Install Quirky 6 from Carolina  

Here are the files needed to install quirky-6 to a usb using Carolina, I needed to compile f2fs-tools to get the install script to work.
f2fs-tools-1.2.0-i486.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  f2fs-tools-1.2.0-i486.pet 
Filesize  42.46 KB 
Downloaded  129 Time(s) 

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 20:52    Post subject:  

I am in Lina 1.1 now and it is not easy for a noob
to get the different applications or programs.

They behave in a way one are not used to.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 21:16    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
I am in Lina 1.1 now and it is not easy for a noob
to get the different applications or programs.

They behave in a way one are not used to.



Yes, some of the applications are different from other pups, a number of them are Qt derived apps, such as the Image viewer, though it does have more advanced features than the standard pup viewers.

Once you become accustom to these apps you will find it easy to use.

Thanks for trying Carolina.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nmlkngdm

Joined: 27 Dec 2013
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 15:03    Post subject:  

Frugal install to HP Pavilion Entertainment laptop
-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5850 @ 2.16GHz
Memory : 4145MB (126MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 27 Dec 2013 01:58:44 PM EST
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Software Rasterizer
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
-SCSI Disks-
ATA TOSHIBA MK3252GS

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GaRailroader

Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 22:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
Sounds like you downloaded Carolite, the lite version at 140MB. It has a basic set of applications.

The full version is here: http://www.smokey01.com/carolina/isos/lina-1.1.iso at 400MB.


Thanks for the reply. I did d/l from the link you indicated and my iso is 401MB. I installed it on two different PCs and got the exact same result. I normally just copy 3 files from the iso to my frugal folder. Reexamining the iso, I see that there are 3 sfs files on it. It gave me an error message for the missing zdrv sfs and so I copied that one over as well. I didn't include the adrv sfs and that must be were all the applications are. Unfortunately, I'm on the road now and the 2 machines in question are at home. Anyway, I know what I'll try when I get home. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 27 Dec 2013, 22:37    Post subject:  

Compiled the latest version of nomacs 1.6.2 image viewer editor, which can be found in the repo.
Quote:
Release Notes: This release mostly contains bugfixes on every platform. Some tiny features are added, like cleaning up recent folders and allowing the user to save some default values (e.g., which interpolation to use).
nomacs-1.6.2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.13 KB
 Viewed   542 Time(s)

nomacs-1.6.2.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 22:26    Post subject: Re: Oolite  

Geoffrey wrote:
ac2011 wrote:
Has anyone tried to get Oolite (http://oolite.org/) working in Carolina? I can run it in other Puppies (albeit slowly as the 3D performance of this laptop isn't great) but in Carolina it fails to even start.

It asks me to report the error, but no error message is actually given. I've tried the latest version 1.77.1 and also an older 1.75 version: same result.


I did get it working, it seems to be a dependency issue which is path related, it don't load the lib files it comes with, but if you symlink them it helps but that shouldn't be necessary as it will overwrite some of the existing files which really shouldn't be done, I will have to do it again to find what is needed as I did compile a few things and it's a mess at the moment, thought it does need espeak installed as it couldn't find the speak-data directory, it may take me a while as I have other things I'm working on and it isn't a priority for me, but with this bit of info it might help someone else to find the problem.


Thanks for looking into it. I've now got it working in Fluppy (here's how: http://aegidian.org/bb/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16167), which is what I mostly use for gaming, so no need to investigate further on my account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon 30 Dec 2013, 22:08    Post subject: Grey/empty desktop with external monitor  

This might be related to what someone reported a little earlier. When connecting an external monitor via D-sub VGA cable, the desktop is wiped, no background shows and it's not possible to right-click on it.

This is true even with pfix=ram. The system tray still operates, but nothing else. Applications can be loaded from the menu, but there's high CPU load.

I've tried this with three different laptops ranging up to 2GHz & 2GB RAM, and with monitors from 1280x1024 to 1920 x 1080 - same result each time. Even if I use xrandr to switch off the internal display the result is the same. Re-running xorgwizard changes nothing.

All three laptops work fine with Carolina without the external monitor plugged in.

I'm guessing something to do with XFCE is to blame, but I don't know what. Other variants of Puppy without XFCE don't seem to suffer from this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 02:19    Post subject: Re: Grey/empty desktop with external monitor  

ac2011 wrote:
When connecting an external monitor via D-sub VGA cable, the desktop is wiped, no background shows and it's not possible to right-click on it.


I tried this connecting to my TV via D-sub VGA, yes I get this also, I did try connecting the cable after the laptop had loaded Carolina and I had a desktop, I then used xrandr to select the TV, this gave me a screen but as you have described it then maxed out the CPU activity, this as me baffled, I wouldn't even know where to start.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1538

PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 16:09    Post subject:  

Slimboat keeps crashing for some reason on my system. If my experience is any guide, it's still usable but I don't think it should be used in "mission critical" situations, i.e. ones where you need a browser that has to be relied upon.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS, Workhorse Puppy 4.31 and Puppy 3.02 CE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1509
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 17:00    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Slimboat keeps crashing for some reason on my system. If my experience is any guide, it's still usable but I don't think it should be used in "mission critical" situations, i.e. ones where you need a browser that has to be relied upon.


I have problems with it also, mainly with viewing images, though I haven't had it crash. I wouldn't use it for anything critical either.
slimboat.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.59 KB
 Viewed   311 Time(s)

slimboat.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 934
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 31 Dec 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Slimboat keeps crashing for some reason on my system


I find that Slimboat (almost) never crashes if I go to Tools>Options>New Tab and remove the tick from the checkbox "Auto create a new tab when a URL is entered" and run it without using this feature.

In my packages of Slimboat I have included a .ini file which sets up some preferences including that one, athough of course a user can always alter that setting manually at any time. Without the .ini file the default settings launch Slimboat with this feature activated.

Give it a try and let us know if it improves things for you.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1538

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 04:33    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
Slimboat keeps crashing for some reason on my system


I find that Slimboat (almost) never crashes if I go to Tools>Options>New Tab and remove the tick from the checkbox "Auto create a new tab when a URL is entered" and run it without using this feature.

In my packages of Slimboat I have included a .ini file which sets up some preferences including that one, although of course a user can always alter that setting manually at any time. Without the .ini file the default settings launch Slimboat with this feature activated.

Give it a try and let us know if it improves things for you.


Thanks for the advice; I'll try that when I'm next in Carolina (I'm in Racy at the moment). Happy New Year btw.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS, Workhorse Puppy 4.31 and Puppy 3.02 CE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1538

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jan 2014, 15:26    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
Slimboat keeps crashing for some reason on my system


I find that Slimboat (almost) never crashes if I go to Tools>Options>New Tab and remove the tick from the checkbox "Auto create a new tab when a URL is entered" and run it without using this feature.

In my packages of Slimboat I have included a .ini file which sets up some preferences including that one, athough of course a user can always alter that setting manually at any time. Without the .ini file the default settings launch Slimboat with this feature activated.

Give it a try and let us know if it improves things for you.


I've now done as you suggest and so far no crashes (I'm posting from Carolina and Slimboat right now) so thanks Smile

- CP

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS, Workhorse Puppy 4.31 and Puppy 3.02 CE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 75 of 110 [1638 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1324s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0297s) ][ GZIP on ]