Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 15:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 74 of 88 [1308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, ..., 86, 87, 88 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1212
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 01:18    Post subject:  

ac2011 wrote:
Yes, I think so. The problem is you have to run ld-linux.so.2 from /usr/lib/slimboat/ and not a sub-directory under that (that's what's weird/unique about slimboat compared to other apps I've done this tweak with).

In my tests I couldn't even use a sym-link: it has to be the actual file. All the other libs can go where you've put them, but ld-linux.so.2 is the special case and has to go in /usr/lib/slimboat/

Then you'd have something like this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# glibc hack from Puppy forum member ac2011
export LC_ALL="C"
export QT_PLUGIN_PATH=/usr/lib/slimboat/plugins
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/slimboat/libs:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/usr/lib/slimboat/ld-linux.so.2 --library-path /usr/lib/slimboat/glibc2113/lib:/usr/lib/slimboat/libs /usr/lib/slimboat/slimboat "$@"


PS. Thanks for the credit.


No worries Wink

That fixed it, didn't like the path, I'll test it a bit more and upload it a little later.

Thanks for the help.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1212
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 04:21    Post subject:  

I've uploaded slimboat-1.1.44-lina.sfs to the repo, it contains all the needed glibc files, appears to work ok.
This should be the safest way to use Slimboat without polluting the library files, please test.

http://smokey01.com/carolina/sfs/slimboat-1.1.44-lina.sfs

md5 70d7f5580c258018b347b0a158c1779a

Also re-uploaded Hotshots-2.0.0 as the menu entry was in the wrong place, it was in /usr/share/application that should of been /usr/share/applications, the easy fix is to just move it for those that have downloaded it previously and delete /usr/share/application directory which needn't be there.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 10:12    Post subject:  

Slimboat works on my Carolite 1.1 , but it's much slower than Firefox .
Started with Carolina 1.0 , then saw the upgrade to 1.1 and meanwhile I was working to make a custom remaster ( I put everything I need in it and don't use savefile ) Carolite1.1 appeared . So I added just the things I needed to it and now it's my favourite on my old laptop ( 1Gb RAM , AMD Turion ML34 1.8GHz). Light and fast , love the way writes directly ( no blanking ) over DVD RW , and Firefox on Carolite 1.1 it's faster Very Happy than Seamonkey I use on Fatdog on my newer desktop .
On that desktop Carolite sees ( with mvsas and libsas modules ) my OCZ Revodrive 3 PCI Express ( OCZ gave no free linux drivers ) but only as 2 partitions (actually there is a third controller which makes a RAID from them). I can even see those 2 partitions in Gparted but I'm afraid to touch them 'cause I have Windows 7 there . First linux to show them in Gparted for me... Maybe soon I shall be able to access that drive from Carolite or oher puppy ( things evolved pretty well ) ...

The way ...lite helps make small and highly personalized puppy should be a feature all puppies take advantage from...

In my opinion , it could make Caroline a bit better the possibility to let a single way to delete files , I mean to be able to remove from the right click menu : 'Delete' - which sends the files to Trash . That's because if I want to really remove some file and since I'm used to choose 'delete' in other puppies I do something else choosing 'Delete' in Carolite. A good choice could have been 'Send to Trash' instead of 'Delete' ... Moreover - every partition where I delete ( send to trash ) something , gets a brand new '.Trash ' folder and since often there are other operating systems there , it's a pain in the a..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1212
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 19:00    Post subject:  

Gobbi wrote:
Slimboat works on my Carolite 1.1 , but it's much slower than Firefox .
Started with Carolina 1.0 , then saw the upgrade to 1.1 and meanwhile I was working to make a custom remaster ( I put everything I need in it and don't use savefile ) Carolite1.1 appeared . So I added just the things I needed to it and now it's my favourite on my old laptop ( 1Gb RAM , AMD Turion ML34 1.8GHz). Light and fast , love the way writes directly ( no blanking ) over DVD RW , and Firefox on Carolite 1.1 it's faster Very Happy than Seamonkey I use on Fatdog on my newer desktop .
On that desktop Carolite sees ( with mvsas and libsas modules ) my OCZ Revodrive 3 PCI Express ( OCZ gave no free linux drivers ) but only as 2 partitions (actually there is a third controller which makes a RAID from them). I can even see those 2 partitions in Gparted but I'm afraid to touch them 'cause I have Windows 7 there . First linux to show them in Gparted for me... Maybe soon I shall be able to access that drive from Carolite or oher puppy ( things evolved pretty well ) ...

The way ...lite helps make small and highly personalized puppy should be a feature all puppies take advantage from...

In my opinion , it could make Caroline a bit better the possibility to let a single way to delete files , I mean to be able to remove from the right click menu : 'Delete' - which sends the files to Trash . That's because if I want to really remove some file and since I'm used to choose 'delete' in other puppies I do something else choosing 'Delete' in Carolite. A good choice could have been 'Send to Trash' instead of 'Delete' ... Moreover - every partition where I delete ( send to trash ) something , gets a brand new '.Trash ' folder and since often there are other operating systems there , it's a pain in the a..


Thanks for testing Slimboat, yes I find it slow loading Google Image view, but in general web pages load as fast as Firefox or even a tad quicker in some instances, others report no faults at all.

As far as the trash is concerned there isn't a way the rename Delete, to bypass the trash just hold down the Shift key when selecting Delete.

There is also a entry in the right click menu called Permanently Remove... this can be lethal and destroy everything if not used with care, you can rearrange these custom actions by selecting in Thunar file manager Edit > Configure custom actions... and select an entry which can be moved up or down the menu list.

The .Trash-0 directories are of no consequence if they are deleted in another operating system, provided they contain nothing you planned on keeping, they will be recreated if anything is deleted in that partition using Thunar in Carolina.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 19:25    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
Permanently Remove... this can be lethal and destroy everything if not used with care


I once managed to right-click on the background in Thunar, narrowly missing the directory I was planning to delete. I didn't notice the mistake and selected Permanently Remove. Result: it deleted the entire current directory.

Silly user error, but for safety I've now disabled Permanently Remove on my machines. One day I'll get around to writing a script that checks for such accidents, then I can reinstate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 04:08    Post subject: Carolite 1.1a - no Thunar video thumbnails  

In Carolite 1.1a there are no video thumbnails in Thunar, though they are present in Carolina 1.0 and 1.1.

Is this a bug or an inevitable consequence of some stuff being deliberately left out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 04:39    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:


As far as the trash is concerned there isn't a way the rename Delete, to bypass the trash just hold down the Shift key when selecting Delete.

.


Thank's Geoffrey Exclamation I didn't know about this ...
I used 'Permanently remove... ' but sometimes I forget to pay attention ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1212
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 21:04    Post subject: miXimum  

I've added miXimum to the repo, this is a DJ's mixing desk, it seems to work ok for me, the only thing I've found is that I have to select the audio monitor to get sound, I need to do this every time I start the application.

Whether this will work for everyone I don't know, as it is hardware dependent, it does say it requires two sound cards but if I select Default for the monitor that works for me, please test.
miximum.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   117.04 KB
 Viewed   576 Time(s)

miximum.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2013, 15:41    Post subject: Frisbee on the fritz - Carolina 1.1 non pae  

See the picture. Frisbee shows its connected to the internet but the icon says its not. After a while it looses the connection.
Its hard to tell because the icon does not change.

How do I fix it.?


Pete
frisbee issue.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  frisbee issue.png 
Filesize  154.79 KB 
Downloaded  70 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1212
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 18 Dec 2013, 19:53    Post subject: Re: Frisbee on the fritz - Carolina 1.1 non pae  

Pete22 wrote:
See the picture. Frisbee shows its connected to the internet but the icon says its not. After a while it looses the connection.
Its hard to tell because the icon does not change.

How do I fix it.?


Pete


Pete, I don't have a wireless connection to test that problem, did this happen after installing anything

Has anyone else experienced this wireless problem and found the cause.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pete22


Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 239
Location: Utah, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 14:10    Post subject:  Carolina and Grub4dos  

Added Carolina 1.1. to a new computer.
Grub4dos can no longer see it.
It does see other puppies. Not sure what changed.


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 16:15    Post subject: Oolite  

Has anyone tried to get Oolite (http://oolite.org/) working in Carolina? I can run it in other Puppies (albeit slowly as the 3D performance of this laptop isn't great) but in Carolina it fails to even start.

It asks me to report the error, but no error message is actually given. I've tried the latest version 1.77.1 and also an older 1.75 version: same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GaRailroader

Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 10:18    Post subject: Carolina 1.1 versus Lina 1.1  

I was unable to get HandBrake working in Precise 5.7.1 and I read that it works in Saluki. I followed that trail and ended up installing Lina 1.1 although the splash screen says Carolina 1.1. HandBrake is working fine though I'm a little confused about the lack of applications in this distro. I thought I read hat Lina was a lightweight version of Carolina though I don't see a separate d/l link for Carolina. Is there a way to unlock Lina 1.1 to turn it in to Carolina 1.1?

GaRailroader
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 452
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 12:20    Post subject: Re: Carolina 1.1 versus Lina 1.1  

GaRailroader wrote:
I was unable to get HandBrake working in Precise 5.7.1 and I read that it works in Saluki. I followed that trail and ended up installing Lina 1.1 although the splash screen says Carolina 1.1. HandBrake is working fine though I'm a little confused about the lack of applications in this distro. I thought I read hat Lina was a lightweight version of Carolina though I don't see a separate d/l link for Carolina. Is there a way to unlock Lina 1.1 to turn it in to Carolina 1.1?

GaRailroader


Sounds like you downloaded Carolite, the lite version at 140MB. It has a basic set of applications.

The full version is here: http://www.smokey01.com/carolina/isos/lina-1.1.iso at 400MB.

_________________
Carolite-1.1 / Carolina-1.1 / X-precise-2.2 / X-slacko-1.1
Carolina X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 184
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Dec 2013, 17:06    Post subject: OOlite  

Sorry, I tried OOOlight I think it is. It's a cut down version which you can find at Akita Linux Repository by scottman. I know it doesn't work either. This is the first puppy I have found that it doesn't work on. Hope that helps, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 74 of 88 [1308 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, ..., 86, 87, 88 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1072s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0280s) ][ GZIP on ]