DebianDog - Squeeze

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#101 Post by saintless »

sunburnt wrote:Hi again Toni; I tested Wheezy, I`ll post that in it`s thread.

Where is your modded script.? I`m trying to get Deb Live`s layout.

Try out these code improvements if you have time:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
########### mount-sfs.sh ### From filemnt by Terry B. & Barry K.
set -x

[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
imgFile=$1
[ "${imgFile##/*}" = '\.' ]&& imgFile="`pwd`${imgFile#.}"

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgFile |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`

Ext=${imgFile##*.}		# get file type from extension

case $Ext in
	2fs) Type=ext2
	3fs) Type=ext3
	4fs) Type=ext4
	ext2) Type=ext2
	ext3) Type=ext3
	ext4) Type=ext4
	sfs) Type=squashfs
	squashfs) Type=squashfs
	sq) Type=squashfs
	iso) Type=iso9660
	img) Type=ext2
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $Mnt
xfe -d $Mnt
Thanks, Sunburnt,
I will test it today.
Path to the script is /scripts/mount-sfs
When you open XFE right click on sfs or squashfs and choose properties. From there you can add program or script for open, edit etc this type of file.

Cheers, Toni

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

Firefox brand

#102 Post by mcewanw »

@saintless: Posting this on your Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze non-pae version.

If you want to install latest genuine Firefox (or Seamonkey or Thunderbird) instead of iceweasel you could of course download directly from mozilla and run from /opt or wherever, but here is an alternative using apt that worked for me.

Please note that, I am not used to Debian, so I don't know if any of the following is advisable but it seems to work. The Firefox it brought me is current version 25.0.1 and I am posting from that now.

I installed firefox ('en-US' version) using the following commands:

Code: Select all

echo -e "\ndeb http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/ubuntuzilla/mozilla/apt all main" | tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list > /dev/null
apt-key adv --recv-keys --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com C1289A29
apt-get update
apt-get install firefox-mozilla-build
However, lots of gtk stuff was missing, but the dependencies for that problem were resolved when I also installed geany text editor using:

Code: Select all

apt-get install geany
I had earlier also installed the following, but I'm not sure if this is needed or not:

Code: Select all

apt-get install libdbus-glib-1-2
If you already have iceweasel installed, you should uninstall it before doing the above (i.e. use: apt-get remove iceweasel)

I found the information for doing this here:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/u ... =Main_Page

http://superuser.com/questions/322376/h ... -on-debian

EDIT 11 Dec 2013: I think I may have also have had to install libxul.so, (apt-get install libxul), but I can't remember. I have a feeling libxul.so was in the firefox installation directory (/opt/firefox), so I maybe just made a symlink to that from /usr/lib. Problem I have had since is that I can't get adobe flash to work, with firefox or with iceweasel (any versions I've tried), even after I put libflashplayer.so into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins.[/b]
Last edited by mcewanw on Wed 11 Dec 2013, 00:55, edited 1 time in total.
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#103 Post by saintless »

Thank you, Mcewanw,
I didn't know how to install firefox this way.

Fixing dependencies is much easier this way.
Just after installing firefox use:

Code: Select all

apt-get -f install
This will do the job.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#104 Post by saintless »

sunburnt wrote:Try out these code improvements if you have time:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
########### mount-sfs.sh ### From filemnt by Terry B. & Barry K.
set -x

[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
imgFile=$1
[ "${imgFile##/*}" = '\.' ]&& imgFile="`pwd`${imgFile#.}"

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgFile |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`

Ext=${imgFile##*.}              # get file type from extension

case $Ext in
        2fs) Type=ext2
        3fs) Type=ext3
        4fs) Type=ext4
        ext2) Type=ext2
        ext3) Type=ext3
        ext4) Type=ext4
        sfs) Type=squashfs
        squashfs) Type=squashfs
        sq) Type=squashfs
        iso) Type=iso9660
        img) Type=ext2
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -t $Type -o loop $imgFile $Mnt
xfe -d $Mnt
Hi, Sunburnt,
replacing the content with this new one doesn't work from quick test. I think I see how to modify it with the improvements to make it work. Will try after finishing wheezy core.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#105 Post by sunburnt »

My apologies Saintless, I did a quick edit of code I saw as needing it, and didn`t look at the rest.
I wrote filemnt over 5 years ago while I was just starting to learn Bash scripting.
So it wasn`t the best choice for grafting onto a project...

I completely rewrote it, now it mounts and unmounts, and does more file extension types too.

# A thought: It really shouldn`t run a file manager, it should just work quietly.
A wrapper script that calls mount-img.sh should run a filer if one is wanted.
# OR... If you like I can make mount-img.sh use an option "-x" to run Xfe. What do you think.?

A separate script for you to do this: xfe-img.sh ( would need to comment 2 Xfe lines in mount-img.sh )

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
############	xfe-img.sh		Run mount-img.sh and then Xfe.


mount-img.sh $1

xfe -d $1 &			# Should use the O.S.`s default filer setup.

It does more than SFS, so changed the name to: mount-img.sh ( feel free to rename it if you want )

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
############	mount-img.sh		Terence Becker		SunBurnt	Dec. 9  2013

#####	Usage:  mount-img.sh /(Path)/(ImageFile)

#####	Run to mount image files, and run again to unmount them.


FM='xfe -d'				# set file manager		( Should be O.S.`s default.)


[ "$1" ]|| exit 1
[ -f $1 ]|| exit 3

if [ "${1:0:1}" = '/' ];then							# if is full path
	imgPF=$1
else													# get full path
	cd ${1%/*} ; imgPF=`pwd`$1
fi

Mnt=/media/`echo $imgPF |sed 's#^\.##g;s#/#+#g'`		# get mount point path


if [ "`mount |grep $Mnt`" ];then						# if mounted, unmount
	umount -d $Mnt
	[ $? -gt 0 ]&&
		echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Failed to Unmount Image File.\n" && exit
	rmdir $Mnt ; exit
fi

Ext=${imgPF##*.}										# get file extension

										# get file type & r/w from extension
case $Ext in
	2fs) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;			# read write
	3fs) Type=ext3 ; rw=rw ;;
	4fs) Type=ext4 ; rw=rw ;;
	ext2) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;
	ext3) Type=ext3 ; rw=rw ;;
	ext4) Type=ext4 ; rw=rw ;;
	img) Type=ext2 ; rw=rw ;;
	iso) Type=iso9660 ; rw=r ;;			# read only
	sfs) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
	squashfs) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
	sq) Type=squashfs ; rw=r ;;
	*) echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Unrecognized Image File Type.\n" ; exit ;;
esac

mkdir -p $Mnt
mount -$rw -t $Type -o loop $imgPF $Mnt

[ $? -gt 0 ]&& echo -e "\n###  ERROR:  Failed to Mount Image File.\n" && exit

$FM $Mnt &

Last edited by sunburnt on Tue 10 Dec 2013, 22:38, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#106 Post by saintless »

Thank you, Sunburnt,

I will try the scripts tomorrow and I'll write back.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
session
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon 07 Feb 2011, 23:11
Location: Valley of the Sun

#107 Post by session »

It turns out you can easily load this release from an ext hard drive with grub4dos.
I wrote:grub4dos loads vmlinuz and initrd.img just fine, and then debian is unable to find a medium containing a live filesystem.
I kept renaming the "live" folder for the sake of organization (other variants of debian allow this), which led to the errors. Solved.
Last edited by session on Wed 11 Dec 2013, 00:54, edited 5 times in total.
[color=green]Primary[/color] - Intel Pentium 4 2.40GHz, 571MB RAM, ATI Radeon 7000. Linux Mint 17 Qiana installed.
[color=blue]Secondary[/color] - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#108 Post by sunburnt »

Toni; Made a few mods to the scripts, so be sure to scrape the page for them again.

session; Saintless posted a work-around for that. Put /live in a sub dir.

Use: /(Deb-Live_Sq)/live
.

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#109 Post by mcewanw »

saintless wrote:Thank you, Mcewanw,
I didn't know how to install firefox this way.

Fixing dependencies is much easier this way.
Just after installing firefox use:

Code: Select all

apt-get -f install
This will do the job.

Cheers, Toni
I think I earlier tried apt-get -f install and it for some reason didn't find the dependencies, but maybe I forgot the -f.

Problem I have had since is that I can't get adobe flash to work, with firefox or with iceweasel (any versions I've tried), even after I put libflashplayer.so into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Anyone managed to get flash working with this distribution and how?
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#110 Post by saintless »

mcewanw wrote:Problem I have had since is that I can't get adobe flash to work, with firefox or with iceweasel (any versions I've tried), even after I put libflashplayer.so into /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Anyone managed to get flash working with this distribution and how?
Have you tried this one?
http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/flashplugin-nonfree
According to debian it works with iceweasel:
https://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer
I'm sure it can be solved. I will focus on this in a few days.

jesudia
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 18:19

how install in a usb-stick

#111 Post by jesudia »

Can you tell me please how install Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze in a usb-stick, thanks

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

Re: how install in a usb-stick

#112 Post by saintless »

jesudia wrote:Can you tell me please how install Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Squeeze in a usb-stick, thanks
Hi, Jesudia,

this is the easiest way I know. It works with any type of bootable CD:
Creating bootable USB from Windows:
http://foxyroxylinux.com/viewtopic.php? ... p=114#p114
Creating bootable USB from linux:
http://foxyroxylinux.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=133
The only problem from linux is to get working Unetbootin.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#113 Post by saintless »

1 Gb save file in archive uploaded - 1Gb-persistence-or-live-rw.zip
Old file with live-rw removed.
The new extracted file is named persistence and is a save file for Debian Wheezy with persistence.conf file inside.
To use it with squeeze just rename it to live-rw. The config file inside will not make troubles.
First post updated.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
stu91
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon 06 Aug 2012, 15:11
Location: England. Dpup. Dell Inspiron 1501

#114 Post by stu91 »

Just been having a play with this.
wifi > had to copy b43 firmware from puppy to debain live to get working wifi connection - managed to connect and get online ok.

Any idea what package i need to install to get laptop touchpad / double tap working?

I see there is now a Wheezy version - i should probably move over to testing that version.

jesudia
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 18:19

wifi and persistent

#115 Post by jesudia »

can you tell me please how connect to wifi my Stick-usb-zydas, seem look after iwconfig, but do not " iwlist list scan".
also how do a persistent method for keep configuration, thanks

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#116 Post by saintless »

stu91 wrote:Just been having a play with this.
wifi > had to copy b43 firmware from puppy to debain live to get working wifi connection - managed to connect and get online ok.

Any idea what package i need to install to get laptop touchpad / double tap working?

I see there is now a Wheezy version - i should probably move over to testing that version.
I'm not sure how to configure it with the current driver. I guess installing this package will help:
http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/xser ... -synaptics

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

Re: wifi and persistent

#117 Post by saintless »

jesudia wrote:can you tell me please how connect to wifi my Stick-usb-zydas, seem look after iwconfig, but do not " iwlist list scan".
also how do a persistent method for keep configuration, thanks
Sorry, Jesuida, I don't have wifi hardware. I asked if someone can give proper instructions to do it here. Since it creates problems I will upload WICD separate sfs file tomorrow. You will only have to download and move it in /live folder and reboot. It should set your wifi automatic on boot. I will write here when it is uploaded.

Save file - download 1Gb-persistence-or-live-rw.zip from here:
http://www.smokey01.com/saintless/
extract it on top of any Fat32 or Ext2,3,4 partition and rename the file persistence to live-rw
Then add the word persistent in your boot menu code. Reboot the computer.
Cheers, Toni

User avatar
Keef
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 22:12
Location: Staffordshire

#118 Post by Keef »

saintless

Rather than use my crude method, it might be better to include a something like pns_tool.
It is CLI, but can work quite well.

Well for reference, what I did was copy wpa_supplicant.conf that was already configured (from a running Puppy). It can be found in etc/, but may be in another directory in etc depending on the network tool used.
I have used several variations of scripts, but as they are on another HDD somewhere, I just got one from tempestuous's
thread
and altered it slightly:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/sh
ifconfig wlan0 up 
 rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/* 
 wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -B 
 sleep 15 
 rm -f /var/lib/dhcpcd/*.info 
 rm -f /var/run/*.pid 
 dhcpcd -t 30 -h `hostname` -d wlan0
The interface may need changing. On my current laptop it is 'eth1' rather than 'wlan0'.

Oh, and it will throw up an error first time it is run as

Code: Select all

rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/* 
is trying to remove a file that does not exist yet. It can be ignored.

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#119 Post by saintless »

Thank you for this information, Keef,
I will search for debian version of pns_tool ore something similar to include.

Cheers, Toni

User avatar
Keef
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 22:12
Location: Staffordshire

#120 Post by Keef »

pns-tool is just a couple of scripts. 01Micko adapted them from a Porteus tool. It does work for me on L-D-C. Just extract the pet and make a deb out of it. Don't know how to do it myself.

Post Reply