Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 16:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
shareInternet-2.2.5.pet - Puppy as router - bugfix
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
mpierrat25


Joined: 23 Aug 2007
Posts: 106
Location: France (25)

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2013, 12:28    Post_subject: tuto  

[Resolved] sorry forgot this post I just re read the thread and I got it!!

I'like to test and use this facility but failed , please help.

My config :

wrt54G feeding puppypc via Wifi (wlan0 slacko 5.4)
puppypc connected via ethernet (eth0) to android netbook

as soon as i run shareinternet I lost the Internet on wlan0

Please let me know how to setup interfaces.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2013, 00:44    Post_subject:  

Has anyone tried, have opinion or experience with replacing the Ethernet with a USB cable? I think my crossed ethernet cable is broken and also see that using USB might... thats a might... be just as good? Or?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Agnishom

Joined: 19 Aug 2013
Posts: 24
Location: /dev/null

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 09:02    Post_subject:  

I am using Lucid Puppy 528. I installed the dotpet but I cannot find an way to start the program.

What to do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4138
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 09:52    Post_subject:  

Agnishom- is pups firewall enabled? You should have a few scripts in /usr/local/shareInternet..

Read on.. you might not need it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 550
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 11:39    Post_subject:  

Agnishom wrote:
I installed the dotpet but I cannot find an way to start the program.
If I remember correctly there is a ROX application somewhere in "/root". Could be in "/root/my-applications" or something like "/root/my-rox-applications".
When you find it, you can just drag it to the desktop.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 00:52    Post_subject:  

Gyro...

I might be out of luck here, but is there a way to share internet using USB cables or even a USB hub? Could that possibly work?

How about "one to one" PC connection as twisted Ehternet does?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 550
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Atle wrote:
I might be out of luck here, but is there a way to share internet using USB cables or even a USB hub? Could that possibly work?
Basically you are out of luck. USB is not usually part of networking.
Atle wrote:
How about "one to one" PC connection as twisted Ehternet does?
Yes, here you have a chance. First thing to watch is that you may need a "crossover" cable.
If you connect both PC's to an ethernet switch, this will be sorted automatically by the switch.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2013, 11:16    Post_subject:  

Hi Gyro...

I used to have a smartphone. And that could share internet by USB or Wlan.

Due to the Wlan using all the battery, I normally used USB and also then charged the phone at the same time.

Puppy Linux has so far just accepted the USB connection as IF it was a normal ethernet coming out of a router.

I could test this my self, but dont have the gear as we speak.

But what i wanted to test was if you use a Puppy that supports ShareInternet and hook it up to a USB hub in order to hook up more Puppy computers, if that would provide internet sharing?

I guess the main issue is a matter of testing, but also if ShareInternet could share internet using USB, as my android did.

Imagine playing LAN games over USB Smile OR other possibilities that arises.

Justplaying around with the idea as ShareInternet is ranked as one of the very best pets out there. ITs homebrew and uniqe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 550
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2013, 11:41    Post_subject:  

Atle,

shareInternet simply doesn't work at that level. It only works after you have 2 working network interfaces. Usually you can see these using the "ifconfig" command in a console.
So, if you find a way to get Puppy to talk IP over USB, then shareInternet will do what you want. If Puppy can't do it, then shareInternet won't either.
Quote:
Imagine playing LAN games over USB
I can't get my mind past the simplicity of playing LAN games over an ethernet switch.

Gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2013, 12:24    Post_subject:  

Smile

Thanks Gyro...

I try just for the fun, if i get my hands on the right gear:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2533
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 15:33    Post_subject:  

I bit the bullit and got a android phone with the carriers 4G lte coverage on my Ranch. Which has always been an AT&T oddity. They have always had way more spot coverage in my zone. I expect that was due to the Motorola manufacturing plant about 20 miles away. I think they must have had a cell tower test equipment spreader nearby because of existing microwave back haul superhighway line of sight between ATT San Antonio and Houston that goes directly chest high across my property. The usb tether idea would be nice as well for me for the same power usage problem other poster pointed out.
My current sprint cell company mifi has the expected lousy coverage my distance and terrain should have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dwwideman

Joined: 29 Nov 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 22:14    Post_subject:  problems with bridge
Sub_title: looking for help with my configuration
 

hello all, this is my first post. thanks to all who have helped on this forum, i hope that someday i will have enough experience to do the same.

my configuration......

internet(wifi router) >>>>>> usb wifi adapter >>puppy box>>ethernet card >>>>> wifi router(Netgear) >>>>>>(android phones, tablets, etc...)

i am trying to use the netgear wifi router for my home, to connect adroid phoned, tablets, etc... the internet gateway and other wifi router is at my dads house. i use the usb wifi adapter on my puppy box to connect to it. i want to pipe the connection through the ethernet card to the netgear router here at my house.

i can connect to wifi internet with puppy box, i can connect to netgear router with android phones.shareinternet2.2.4 is showing green circle, but i cant get through

wifi router/gateway.....192.168.1.1 dhcp server192.168.1.100>>199
usb adapter...............192.168.1.102
ethernet card.............192.168.0.6(static)
netgear router............192.168.0.1 dhcp server192.168.0.2>>254
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 550
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 10:21    Post_subject:  

dwwideman,

I suggest you try using your Netgear router as just a wifi access point, not a router. The puppy box is the router.
Do this by connecting the ethernet cable to a lan port on the Netgear router, not the wan port.
Also disable the dhcp server on the Netgear. Again this service is provided by the puppy box.

You can easily test Internet access by using one of the other lan ports on the Netgear.

Devices connected to the Netgear, should see the IP address of the puppy ethernet card, as their gateway address.

OR
You could try just setting the IP address of the puppy ethernet card to 192.168.2.1

gyro

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2533
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 08 Dec 2013, 13:09    Post_subject:  

I have a tplink wr702n. and wanted it to run a AP wireless network as a local network, but it needs a ethernet cable hook into a router to work. Would this be what I need. No actual internet is hooked up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 550
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 09:36    Post_subject:  

Ted Dog,

The wifi routers I have used, will quite happily act as a local wireless network hub, when configured as a router, but with nothing connected to the WAN port.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0797s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]