Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LxPup : a Puppy with LXDE as its desktop environment
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 30 [443 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Senza Vega

Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 07:39    Post subject: wbar
Subject description: how to ?
 

hum..
I installed the .pet, but wbar isn't here.
restart X but not here yet.
Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 08:46    Post subject: Re: wbar
Subject description: how to ?
 

Senza Vega wrote:
hum..
I installed the .pet, but wbar isn't here.
restart X but not here yet.
Question


Hi Senza
Not really sure what to advise as it works OK for me....I'm at work now so will test when I get home tonight - which 'flavour' of LxPup13.11 are you running?
Have you tried running wbar from a terminal?
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Senza Vega

Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 12:13    Post subject:  

Hello,

the flavour is LxPup-13.11-s-pae.

I tried to lauch from a terminal and it return :

Code:
wbar: command not found
[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

Senza Vega wrote:
Hello,

the flavour is LxPup-13.11-s-pae.

I tried to lauch from a terminal and it return :

Code:
wbar: command not found
[/quote]

Hi Senza

Just tested - installed both from the menu via Desktop - Change Appearance - Options and also by clicking direct on the pet in /opt/lxpup-xtras

Both seemed to work fine for me and survived after a reboot and savefile creation.

Are you running as a frugal install with a reasonable size savefile created?

If wbar is not found in a terminal then that sounds as though the pet is not installed.....did you install the pet before or after savefile creation?

All I can suggest is that you install the pet again.

Sorry you are having problems and that I can't replicate them.

Cheers
peebee
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   67.74 KB
 Viewed   882 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Senza Vega

Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 14:54    Post subject:  

Hello peebee,
don't be sorry, your work is very appreciate !
So, I tried to reinstall wbar by the menu via Desktop - Change Appearance - Options", and it works now !

don't know how, very thanks for your help !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 06:43    Post subject: NETWORK icon in tray  

Dear PeeBee,

I use LXPUP on a laptop that typically connects via wireless.
There is an ethernet port, but it is not used.

I see following strange behaviour.

- frugall install, WIFI via Frisbee, installed on my home wireless (works fine).

When I move the laptop to another location, where wifi cannot connect (no pre-installed), I see following:

- CPU is 50% busy with the network icon in the tray (LxTask)..
- I cannot open the wireless by rightclicking on the icon.
- The "cont connect" icon is also not visible in the tray, only the background.
- I can open wireless via the control panel, network tab.

Is there any reason for this behaviour ?

Volhout

P.S. this is 13.10, not 13.11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 07:17    Post subject: Re: NETWORK icon in tray  

Volhout wrote:
Dear PeeBee,

I use LXPUP on a laptop that typically connects via wireless.
There is an ethernet port, but it is not used.

I see following strange behaviour.

- frugall install, WIFI via Frisbee, installed on my home wireless (works fine).

When I move the laptop to another location, where wifi cannot connect (no pre-installed), I see following:

- CPU is 50% busy with the network icon in the tray (LxTask)..
- I cannot open the wireless by rightclicking on the icon.
- The "cont connect" icon is also not visible in the tray, only the background.
- I can open wireless via the control panel, network tab.

Is there any reason for this behaviour ?

Volhout

P.S. this is 13.10, not 13.11


Hi Volhout

That sounds like a Slacko or Frisbee question rather than anything specific to LxPup....

Have you tried to see how Slacko5.6 behaves? If you could that would narrow it down as to whether it was an LxPup specific problem.

I will have access to a wifi away from home tomorrow so I'll see if I can replicate your problem as I understand it.

Regards
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Tue 26 Nov 2013, 18:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

# uname -a
Linux e732 3.9.9-upup #1 SMP Fri Jul 12 21:50:30 EEST 2013 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1804584 1161244 643340 0 316144
-/+ buffers: 845100 959484
Swap: 0 0 0
# uptime
13:34:58 up 9 min, load average: 0.16, 0.16, 0.12
#

What a very nicely presented puppy - all seems good OOTB - no nasties yet.
A keeper - many thanks for this - much appreciated - Very best regards - Ray.

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2013, 12:09    Post subject: Re: NETWORK icon in tray  

Volhout wrote:
I see following strange behaviour.


Hi Volhout

I have been able to replicate your observed behaviour of network_tray in LxPup when you reboot out of range of an established wifi connection.

You are right that network_tray does go into some sort of loop when lxpanel is restarted.

I can also confirm that this behaviour is not shown by Slacko5.6

I'm afraid I don't know the reason for the strange behaviour but I can tell you how to cure it:
Quote:
edit the line in root/Startup/1-lxde-startup.sh to comment out lxpanelctl restart - #lxpanelctl restart

do a "Restart WM" from the session control menu

You can then establish the new wifi connection.

Hopefully (not yet tested) you can re-edit 1-lxde-startup.sh to remove the comment once both connections are defined - or leave it commented out if you are going to be moving away from configured wifi signals a lot.

Hope this helps
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PsyBaba

Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2013, 19:04    Post subject:  Is there a non-pae version of LxPrecise-13.11 ?  

Hello, I'm testing out this great pupplet... for me it surely is the best puppy till now.

I can't find all the apps I need to use in slacko repositories... I was using ubuntu flavoured puppies before and there were simply more apps available.
But as I don't have a pae pc, I was searching for a non-pae verson of LxPrecise, but couldn't find any.
Why did you make the slacko flavoured Lxpup in both pae and non-pae versions, and made the LxPrecise flavour with pae kernel only?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2013, 03:31    Post subject: Re: Is there a non-pae version of LxPrecise-13.11 ?  

PsyBaba wrote:
I was searching for a non-pae verson of LxPrecise, but couldn't find any.
Why did you make the slacko flavoured Lxpup in both pae and non-pae versions, and made the LxPrecise flavour with pae kernel only?

Hi PsyBaba

No good reason other than the amount of work involved...and then the future support needed to maintain multiple isos.

I suppose logically I should offer the full set - so I'll see what I can do - in the meantime you can make your own version by adding LxPup-by-SFS to Precise-Retro. (or you could try LxRaring which is available on DOWNLOAD-1 under Other_Downloads)

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Thu 28 Nov 2013, 08:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2013, 07:09    Post subject: Re: NETWORK icon in tray  

peebee wrote:


I'm afraid I don't know the reason for the strange behaviour but I can tell you how to cure it:
Quote:
edit the line in root/Startup/1-lxde-startup.sh to comment out lxpanelctl restart - #lxpanelctl restart

do a "Restart WM" from the session control menu

You can then establish the new wifi connection.


I will confirm (and check if the solution is practical and workable) this weekend. Thanks for the effort to dig deeper in the matter.

Volhout

P.S. apps....yes, that should be one to the prime focuses of puppy. For a friend I had to transform a laptop to LXLE (=Lubuntu++), and the wealth of their list of apps is huge. And they install with a single click... and they work !!! If you install Python, then they have a build of Tkinter (the basic gui for Python). Last I looked in (slacko533) puppy I had to hunt one down from Slackware, and never got it to work properly. Of coarse that could be "me" doing things wrong. But fact is that in the ubuntu world it did not go wrong, even with my limited capabilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2013, 07:38    Post subject: FIX - NETWORK icon in tray  

peebee wrote:


I'm afraid I don't know the reason for the strange behaviour but I can tell you how to cure it:
Quote:
edit the line in root/Startup/1-lxde-startup.sh to comment out lxpanelctl restart - #lxpanelctl restart

do a "Restart WM" from the session control menu

You can then establish the new wifi connection.


Update - I can confirm in my tests that the comment can be removed once a new wifi connection has been established.

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1520
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2013, 07:58    Post subject: LxPrecise-13.11-retro available  

I have uploaded the requested by PsyBaba non-PAE version based on Precise Puppy Retro 5.7.1.....

Download: LxPrecise-13.11-retro md5=4a360e47631619fed06ca218ac9c49c4

Like the other flavours of LxPup the sfs in the iso is xz compressed, unlike the original iso which was gz compressed, - it is therefore smaller, in this case, than the base iso.

So there are now 4 main flavours available - 2*Slacko, 2*Precise (plus 1*UpupRaring)

Cheers
peebee
screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   134.96 KB
 Viewed   511 Time(s)

screenshot.png


_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 410

PostPosted: Fri 06 Dec 2013, 05:52    Post subject: LXpup runs logic analyzer  

Just a quick note on compatibility:
I can confirm that the Saleae logic analyzer software works under LXpup.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90628
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 30 [443 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1025s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]