Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 00:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Synaptics touchpad not working by default
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Iedjee

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2013, 16:22    Post subject:  Synaptics touchpad not working by default
Subject description: In Precise Puppy 5.7.1 my Synaptics touchpad isnt on by default
 

Hi.

I have an Acer Aspire One A110 with a Synaptics Touchpad running Precise Puppy 5.7.1.
By default the touchpad doesn't work. Luckily i have a Fn-button with F7 i can toggle the touchpad off and on. If i do so the touchpad will start to work.
I tested in Precise Puppy 5.6.1 and there my touchpad works without toggling it with Fn+F7.

I would expect the behavior as in Puppy 5.6.1, can it please be fixed in 5.7.1?

With regards, Evert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2298
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 15 Nov 2013, 19:51    Post subject:  

wow you found a workaround I ve complained about this bug for years and have been ignored. Wink would like to use my old acer again. puppy version 4.16 supported it the best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iedjee

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 16 Nov 2013, 11:22    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7.1 on Acer Aspire One A110 ZG5  

Ive got almost everything working, except for that touchpad annoyance. I can skype (4.2) with cam and mic working too.

The only thing are the SD-cardslots that dont hotplug, they only do that when a card is in it during boot. But well, its just a small thing.

Ubuntu 11.10 worked best for me (everything worked!) but is out of support and grew too big (i have my small 8GB SSD parted in two, half nLited Windows XP, half Linux).

I have a left-over extra 512MB installed so 1GB of memory. I am still thinking of changing the SSD with a 32GB faster one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2298
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 17 Nov 2013, 11:47    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.7.1 on Acer Aspire One A110 ZG5  

Iedjee wrote:
Ive got almost everything working, except for that touchpad annoyance. I can skype (4.2) with cam and mic working too.

The only thing are the SD-cardslots that dont hotplug, they only do that when a card is in it during boot. But well, its just a small thing.

Ubuntu 11.10 worked best for me (everything worked!) but is out of support and grew too big (i have my small 8GB SSD parted in two, half nLited Windows XP, half Linux).

I have a left-over extra 512MB installed so 1GB of memory. I am still thinking of changing the SSD with a 32GB faster one.


That sdcard not being able to boot is an issue for me too, it is locked out in the windows version, but I understand the linux made version did boot from left hidden sdcard slot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iedjee

Joined: 15 Nov 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 17:30    Post subject:  

Im sorry to say this on this forum, but i switched to Crunchbang #! Its Debian 7 Wheezy based and everything is working now as it should be on my old Acer Aspire One A110. I hope to have this oldy for three or some years more up to date...

I have the left hand side SD-card filled with 8GB Class 10 and mounted as /home. The whole installation of #! takes around 2GB with additional programs i am around 3GB. No dualboot anymore (WinXP) but that one is going to die anyways in april 2014. With #! it flies as good as with Puppy.

Touchpad working, right hand side SD-card slot is hot pluggable and got sleepmode and hibernation working. I had to make some tweaks to make the microphone work, mainly for Skype (get rid of Pulseaudio) and all the function keys, but i am up and running now. Soon i will try to post all my tweaks on the Crunchbang forum...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0476s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]