Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 04:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 174 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 195
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 17:52    Post subject:  

Hi All

I have now set up opera 11.50. This includes, bookmarks imported, bookmark toolbar, some user preference changes via opera:config and install urlfilter.ini to .opera. I have installed the following pets.

flashplayer10-10.3.183.23
Xorg_High-1.1-Lucid
Opera-11.50-Lucid
pupradio-0.11
VLC-1.0.6-Lucid
gimp-2.4.5-i386-stripper
shrink-1.1
Python-2.6-Lucid
get_iplayer2.80_4
I also installed calibre by downloading from their web site.
I also had to increase the size of the "test" savefile. At each stage I tested Opera for corruption of dialogue boxes and ability to play flash.
So far I've had none of my previous problems. This leaves me with no idea as to why I had trouble in the fist place. Opera 11.50 does not seem to produce the crash logs.

Regards,

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 19:10    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Look in /root/.gconf/desktop/gnome/urlhandlers/http and make sure the xml file contains /usr/lib/firefox/firefox %s.

Here is content of xml file.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<gconf>
   <entry name="needs_terminal" mtime="1333142113" type="bool" value="false"/>
   <entry name="enabled" mtime="1333142113" type="bool" value="true"/>
   <entry name="command" mtime="1333142113" type="string">
      <stringvalue>/usr/lib/firefox/firefox %s</stringvalue>
   </entry>
</gconf>

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 19:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
In various programs when I select help->contents
I get the internet browser open to this:
file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm

Quote:
From /usr/bin/iron
exec /usr/lib/iron-linux/iron --user-data-dir=/root/.config/iron "$@"

from /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
exec iron "$@"

From /usr/share/applications/iron.desktop
Exec=iron %U

My default browser is Firefox.

I added the "arguments" to the Firefox files at these locations.

Problem fixed.

None of the files contained the "arguments".

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 19:44    Post subject:  

keniv,

Remember when I suggested to start over fresh.
With computers you never know. Twisted Evil
Well, now you know why I suggested that! Very Happy

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 12:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
From /usr/bin/iron
exec /usr/lib/iron-linux/iron --user-data-dir=/root/.config/iron "$@"
from /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
exec iron "$@"
From /usr/share/applications/iron.desktop
Exec=iron %U
My default browser is Firefox.
I added the "arguments" to the Firefox files at these locations.
Problem fixed.
Non of the arguments were there.


Most excellent. Now, the question is why they were not there.? How did you install Firefox? Could you uninstall and try the Firefox 24 pet from PPM? Quickpet -> More Pets -> Update Lupu PPM to see the Firefox 24 if you can't already. If you are already using that, or any Firefox from PPM, then the answer might be that rerwin is refining the browser install process.

Well, I am not helping much Bigpup, but watching with great interest. I could not resist something we had worked on together before and made a great improvement in 005, that has carried over to most other puppies..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 13:04    Post subject: Desktop Templates
Subject description: Lock Icon remains
 

I apologize for this question, but can somebody explain how to get the desktop "Lock" icon permanently moved from the top right screen corner?

I want to use Zigbert's Pwidgets for analog clock, calendar, etc., and can't get the Lock icon to stay out of the way.

Thanks in advance,
-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 13:33    Post subject:  

Try this:

Left click and hold on icon.
Move the "Lock" icon to the place you want it on the desktop.
Right click on icon.
Select edit item.
Select locked.
Hit OK.

That should lock the "Lock" icon to that position on desktop.

This is one way that may work.
menu->Desktop->Desktop settings->Desksetup Templates for desk icons
Before using this program, arrange the icons on the desktop the way you want them.
Start the program.
Click this button to save your custom arrangement.
(this makes a custom template, of the desktop, as you now have it)
Under choose a desktop layout
Select custom.
Select apply.

This should now be the desktop that gets used at boot.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 14:32    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
From /usr/bin/iron
exec /usr/lib/iron-linux/iron --user-data-dir=/root/.config/iron "$@"
from /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
exec iron "$@"
From /usr/share/applications/iron.desktop
Exec=iron %U
My default browser is Firefox.
I added the "arguments" to the Firefox files at these locations.
Problem fixed.
Non of the arguments were there.


Most excellent. Now, the question is why they were not there.? How did you install Firefox? Could you uninstall and try the Firefox 24 pet from PPM? Quickpet -> More Pets -> Update Lupu PPM to see the Firefox 24 if you can't already. If you are already using that, or any Firefox from PPM, then the answer might be that rerwin is refining the browser install process.

From a fresh frugal install of Lupu3hd5286 no save file.

Installed Firefox 24 lucid from Quickpet.
With this, help contents, in any program, works and goes to the programs help page.

However, not sure if this is an issue.

/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
exec Firefox
Has the "argument" "$@"

/usr/bin/firefox
Code:
#!/bin/sh
/usr/lib/firefox/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/firefox/firefox


/usr/share/applications/firefox.desktop
Code:
Exec=/usr/lib/firefox/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/firefox/firefox


The defaultbrowser file is the only place that has the "argument"
Seems to work with it only there.
Not sure if other browsers would have the "argument" in their entries.

With the other setup of Lupu3hd, I had been trying installs of Opera, from various locations. That did mess up the default browser file.
One of the Opera installs made the desktop browser icon revert to showing the browser selection screen.
I used that screen to install Firefox 24 and noticed that programs help was not working.
For some reason the "argument" "$@" did not get entered anyplace.

I learned Opera is evil Twisted Evil

Edit:
From a fresh frugal install of Lupu3hd5286 no save file.
Tried Iron and Opera 11.62 from Quickpet.
Programs help seems to be working OK.
All of these browsers seem to be putting the "argument" "$@" in the defaultbrowser file.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Sat 09 Nov 2013, 15:25; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 14:36    Post subject: Desktop settings  

bigpup wrote:
Try this:

Thank you, bigpup.
MyDesktop.png
 Description   Custom desktop
 Filesize   3 KB
 Viewed   385 Time(s)

MyDesktop.png


_________________
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 16:02    Post subject:  

rerwin,

Something you may want to look at.
Seemed to be some missing firmware, in Lucid 5.2.8, that caused this problem with wireless connection.
The solution is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=90088

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 17:15    Post subject: about .deb install  

deleted.
_________________
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X

Last edited by sheldonisaac on Sat 09 Nov 2013, 17:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 17:20    Post subject: install from .deb, etc  

playdayz wrote:


Conventional install of deb file. By conventional install I meant, click the deb file and PPM will install it. One would still have to manually create the desktop file to get a menu entry, and the defaultbrowser file if one wanted. Personally I always believed that if a program such as Opera offered a Ubuntu deb file and Puppy claimed Ubuntu compatibility, then Puppy should install that deb file "properly," that is, with a menu entry and optionally as the defaultbrowser. Not to mention that the program would run correctly. PPM will install the deb file, but not "properly"--though with some coding it could be done.


Hi, playdayz.
I snipped out your text, except for the part I hadn't noticed yesterday, about .deb install.
Had been using 5.2.8-005 as my primary Puppy for a couple of years?
Having recently messed up the savefile, I thought to try the updated

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 167938048 2013-10-29 10:48 /mnt/sda4/sources/LinuxSourc/lupumini-5.2.8.6-20131028.iso

It seems to work OK.

------------------

With that as background:

I have most recently tried

-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 11463094 2013-11-07 09:07
/mnt/sda4/sources/LinuxSourc/opera_11.64.1403_i386.deb

Downloaded, clicked its name in ROXfiler, and it installed. First time I'd ever used a .deb file.
Don't recall exactly what I've done, but it works fine.

Can someone explain the role of the .desktop files?

I just edit ~/.jwmrc until it does what I want.

eg,
<Program label="Web" icon="opera-browser.png">/usr/bin/opera</Program>

and

cat /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
#!/bin/sh
## exec quickpet BI "$@"
## /opt/opera/bin/opera "$@"
/usr/bin/opera "$@"


Thanks a lot,

Sheldon

_________________
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X

Last edited by sheldonisaac on Sun 10 Nov 2013, 08:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 22:32    Post subject:  

bigpup,

I sincerely thank you for your advice! However, it didn't work for me. Every time I restarted X or rebooted, the Xlock icon returned to the upper right of the screen.

One issue that cropped up is that I don't know what a custom "radio button" in the icon manager is.

But... screw it. I deleted the Lock icon completely. This guy isn't going to use that feature anyway. His problem is solved for now.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5103
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 23:39    Post subject:  

Roy wrote:
bigpup,

I sincerely thank you for your advice! However, it didn't work for me. Every time I restarted X or rebooted, the Xlock icon returned to the upper right of the screen.

One issue that cropped up is that I don't know what a custom "radio button" in the icon manager is.

But... screw it. I deleted the Lock icon completely. This guy isn't going to use that feature anyway. His problem is solved for now.

-Roy

If you move the lock icon down on the right side of the desktop, it will stay there. Seems something just keeps it along the right side of the desktop.

My other suggestions usually work for all the other icons.

In fact, usually all you need to do is move the icons to a new location and they are at that location, on next x server start.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sun 10 Nov 2013, 16:49    Post subject:  

Quote:
From a fresh frugal install of Lupu3hd5286 no save file.
Tried Iron and Opera 11.62 from Quickpet.
Programs help seems to be working OK.
All of these browsers seem to be putting the "argument" "$@" in the defaultbrowser file.


Bigpup, Yes, that's OK for Firefox. I forgot. The browsers in the Lucid repo should all work correctly with Help and About. Here's Firefox 25 by the way. I am assuming everything is fine with the Help and About when using browsers from the Lucid repo.
http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/Firefox-25-Lucid.pet

Sheldon
, basically you are just doing manually what the pet files in the Lucid repo do for you automatically. Help might not be working for you, because Help needs /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser to be set to the installed browser. /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser is set by the pet files that have been prepared for Lucid--if the browser is then uninstalled, the defaultbrowser file reverts to calling the Browser Installer.

The desktop file is one way Puppy makes menu entries. The pet files in the Lucid repo set the desktop file to make a menu entry. There is an alternate method called xdg that is newer and also makes a menu entry--probably you got that when you installed the Opera deb. You can also modify the desktop icons by right-clicking them and choosing Edit Item, but if you leave it as /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser, you can make the change in a more system-wide manner by editing defaultbrowser, or you can let the pets do it for you.

Anyone who wants to see the structure of the Lucid browser pet files can download this Firefox pet, and then right-click it and choose Extract Here (that is a feature from don570's program right-click). In the resulting directory you will see all the files we have been discussing. You can also do this with deb files, right-click and choose Open Archive, and see the structure of them. By comparing, one can figure out how to package pets for Lucid or other Puppies. One could, for instance, replace /usr/lib/firefox/ with a later version and change the name of the directory. The last step is open a terminal and enter dir2pet Directoryname. (that's how I just made the Firefox 25 pet).

In my testing, Firefox and Seamonkey are the only current browsers that work correctly in Lucid. Firefox and Seamonkey will also update themselves without using up any more space in the save file. The versions of those 2 in PPM and Quickpet (the lucid repo) will update themselves so there would be no need to install any more. Quickpet -> More Pets -> Update Lupu PPM to make sure you have the latest list of the contents of the lucid repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 174 of 190 [2845 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 172, 173, 174, 175, 176, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1795s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0784s) ][ GZIP on ]