Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 21:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 173 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 934
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Nov 2013, 22:00    Post subject:  

Ken,

Are you talking about the website bbc.co.uk/weather ?

I just tested rerwin's latest lupu 5.2.8.6 (20131028). Booted the fresh live CD with pfix=ram. Installed Opera 12.16 .pet and Flash Player 11.2.202.310 .pet (also tested 10.3.183.90).

My packages are in here:- http://yadi.sk/d/zTshLczR4wHj8

Went to the BBC weather page and the Flash videos are playing for me without any problems.

Sorry but I am baffled as I am unable to reproduce any problem with Flash in Opera. Could it be some issue with your graphics card perhaps? That is the only idea that springs to mind and I have no idea how to investigate further.
flashinopera.jpg
 Description   Testing Flash in Opera in Lupu 5.2.8.6
 Filesize   68.72 KB
 Viewed   614 Time(s)

flashinopera.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Nov 2013, 23:44    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Any chance of Playdayz putting some info about the Lupu 5.2.8.6 update in the first post of this topic?

Maybe time to start new topic for Lupu 5.2.8.6?

That is the plan. Playdayz has offered a link to a new thread, which I plan to start after my next uploaded version.

The delay, now, is to complete an upgraded pfbpanel. Radky and I are working it over, to kill bugs, shrink the window and add some of the Stu90 plugins that also need some work.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5481
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 02:24    Post subject:  

keniv,

This Flash problem you are having is caused by Firefox and their desire to take over the browser world. They have secretly paid Flash developers to block its ability to work on anything but Firefox.
Microsoft did the same thing for Internet Explorer, but Firefox made a deal to not tell the world that Microsoft used Firefox and simply changed the name to Explorer.

Here to make you feel good.

I too can not reproduce your problem. Opera and Flash work fine for me.

This is going to be something simple and easy to fix after you have pulled out all of your hair and stopped throwing the computer out the window.

First step for this kind of problem is start at beginning.
(You may have done this, but with computers you never know).

Do a completely fresh new install of Lupu 5.2.8.6
Install one program at a time and test each one completely.
Always make sure you are at a good working known condition before doing next step.

Hopefully that simple little unseen reason will show its self and we can all slap our foreheads. Wink

At any point in this process, if something pops up please tell us Exclamation Exclamation

I used the Flash Player you can get by using the program menu->Internet->Getflash install FlashPlayer

Graphics card driver could be an issue.
Are you using a Hardware specific driver?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5481
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 02:52    Post subject:  

rerwin,

Again, thank you very much for what you are trying to do. Nice to see you got Playdayz helping!!!

Not trying to push you.
Just wanted to suggest a way to make it a little more obvious that there was a Lupu 5.2.8.6. It is a little hard to find, with your post several pages back in this topic.
Figured a link in the first post, would help people find it for testing.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5969
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 03:16    Post subject:  

No problems with flash here....... frugal install of Lucid 5.2.8.6 with Flash 10.3.r183 (newest that will work on this old Athlon XP box).

Remember, testing is fun..... Laughing
Opera plugins.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.44 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

Opera plugins.jpg

Opera flash.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.6 KB
 Viewed   520 Time(s)

Opera flash.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5481
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 03:40    Post subject:  

keniv,

Any chance the AMD processor issue with Flash could be the problem.
getflash.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.43 KB
 Viewed   505 Time(s)

getflash.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 08:38    Post subject: Opera/flash problem  

James C wrote:
No problems with flash here....... frugal install of Lucid 5.2.8.6 with Flash 10.3.r183 (newest that will work on this old Athlon XP box).
Remember, testing is fun..... Laughing

Thanks to you guys for trying to help.
Only on this computer have I used rerwin's new Lucid Puppy.
I have the same setup & results as James C.
It's a Dell D610 laptop:
Quote:
-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 2.13GHz
Memory : 2066MB (237MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.52
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 07 Nov 2013 07:50:13 AM EST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation

Remainder snipped.

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite;
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 202
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 15:23    Post subject:  

Hi All

Thanks again for all the replies. It has given me new heart. I was beginning to give up hope. I'll try to answer the Q's I've been asked about my system. I am using a Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 800MHz 320MB. It uses a Pentium lll (coppermine) CPU. I guess this answers bigpups question about a possible problem with old AMD processors and flash 11. I assume there is no issues with old Pentium processors. I am using the Xorg_High-1-lucid which is the one recommended for my video card. I have attached some info from "system information" on this. The flash video I am using as a test is here http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/pa10 . It has a weather forecast flash video. I originally ran Opera 11.50 with flash 10.3.183. 23 which produced corrupted dialogue boxes in 5286 and then ran Opera from opera-12.16-1860.i386.opt.sfs with sheldonisaacs solution to the crash reports problem. Flash did not work. The history of this is in my previous posts. As I was getting desperate I decided to try opera 11.50 again in my "clean" test 5286 savefile. I uninstalled opera-12.16-1860.i386.opt.sfs and manually removed .opera from root. This savefile now only had Xorg_High-1-lucid and flash 10.3.183. 23 installed. I installed opera 11.50 pet. Normally I would have installed my bookmarks but I did not do this. I only have Google, the BBC weather site above and the puppy forum. Flash is working in this set up! There are no corrupt dialogue boxes Razz . I am gradually setting up opera the way I like it but have not broken it yet. I am posting from it now. I normally use JWM as my desktop manager but have left it as Openbox. I noticed in 5286 that when set to JWM my machine sometimes booted up into Openbox. Has anybody else seen this? I wonder if its possible that opera works better in Openbox. I also wondered if the manual frugal install and booting from grub could have an effect. I will burn a cd of 5286 and boot from it to a new savefile with opera 12.16 installed from a pet and see if flash will work. I will continue to set up opera 11.50 and see what if anything causes the corruption of the dialogue boxes. I will also switch desktop managers and see if that has an effect. I would stick with opera 11.50 if it keeps working but I do wonder if it would cause security issues. Is this likely?

Regards,

Ken.
SystInfo.jpg
 Description   Info on CPU and Video Card
 Filesize   18.97 KB
 Viewed   405 Time(s)

SystInfo.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5969
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 16:17    Post subject:  

keniv wrote:
I'll try to answer the Q's I've been asked about my system. I am using a Toshiba Satellite Pro 4200 800MHz 320MB. It uses a Pentium lll (coppermine) CPU. I guess this answers bigpups question about a possible problem with old AMD processors and flash 11. I assume there is no issues with old Pentium processors.


The same flash issue does affect some, or possibly all, PIII 's too....... my main PIII 733 Mhz Coppermine test box is limited to Flash 10 also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keniv

Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 202
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 16:27    Post subject:  

Hello James C

Thats interesting. Based on this perhaps I should just stick to flash 10.3.138.23 which is the one I found seemed to work best previously. Just to add to my previous post I have changed window manager to JWM. Flash is still working and there is no dialogue box corruption so it looks like its not a window manager issue.

Ken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 09:17    Post subject: pmount problem  

Hi, just a minor problem: I recenty changed a partition to ext4 without a journal.
Now, pmount refuses to mount it, if it was not mounted at bootup, or was unmounted afterwards.

Maybe this is a lead to fixing that?

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02885

Thanks,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite;
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1550
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 10:12    Post subject: Re: pmount problem - ext4 file systems  

sheldonisaac,
Thanks for point this out. The obvious thing to try is the fixed version of guess_fstype. Attached is the version from precise 5.7.1. Could you (and anyone else) try it?
Richard
guess_fstype-lupu_test.pet
Description  From precise pup 5.7.1, for experimentation only
pet

 Download 
Filename  guess_fstype-lupu_test.pet 
Filesize  6.55 KB 
Downloaded  74 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 10:50    Post subject: Re: pmount problem - ext4 file systems  

rerwin wrote:
sheldonisaac,
Thanks for point this out. The obvious thing to try is the fixed version of guess_fstype. Attached is the version from precise 5.7.1. Could you (and anyone else) try it?

Richard, that's great!!!
pmount now sees it as ext4 !!

THANK YOU1

Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite;
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5481
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 15:27    Post subject:  

Lupu3HD 5.2.8.6

In various programs when I select help->contents
I get the internet browser open to this:
file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm

In /usr/share/doc if you click on most of the .htm files
I get the internet browser open to this:
file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 08 Nov 2013, 17:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
In various programs when I select help->contents
I get the internet browser open to this:
file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm


Hey Bigpup, That problem is likely caused in the /usr/share/applications/desktop file that opens the browser or in the /usr/bin/browsername or /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser. The exec entry in those files should have an "argument" after. The argument passes the name of the url where the Help or About is located, otherwise the browser will open the home page. The red is just for emphasis. Iron is just an example.

From /usr/bin/iron
exec /usr/lib/iron-linux/iron --user-data-dir=/root/.config/iron "$@"

from /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser
exec iron "$@"

From /usr/share/applications/iron.desktop
Exec=iron %U

I hope that's it because the other stuff is messier. Look in /root/.gconf/desktop/gnome/urlhandlers/http and make sure the xml file contains /usr/lib/firefox/firefox %s. That should be the case even if Firefox is not installed. Also /usr/lib/firefox/firefox should exist whether or not Firefox is installed. This subterfuge was necessary because other browsers do not install themselves the way gvfs expects. Jemimah's method is more elegant but involves patching and recompiling an important system file, 01micko would know which one.


Historical note: Lupu did not do this correctly until 5.2.8.005. Bigpup made the breakthrough. Slacko does it, but uses a different method developed by jemimah.. pemasu's builds of Precise do it I think, but I am not sure about Barry's.

Conventional install of deb file. By conventional install I meant, click the deb file and PPM will install it. One would still have to manually create the desktop file to get a menu entry, and the defaultbrowser file if one wanted. Personally I always believed that if a program such as Opera offered a Ubuntu deb file and Puppy claimed Ubuntu compatibility, then Puppy should install that deb file "properly," that is, with a menu entry and optionally as the defaultbrowser. Not to mention that the program would run correctly. PPM will install the deb file, but not "properly"--though with some coding it could be done. However, Lucid Lynx is no longer the Ubuntu that developers use for testing, which makes it less likely that any program offering a deb file will work correctly on Lucid. For continued success of Lucid then I would think that people developing, testing and making pet packages would be important as people have often reported that the availability of software is an attraction of Lucid.

Last edited by playdayz on Fri 08 Nov 2013, 18:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 173 of 190 [2847 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 171, 172, 173, 174, 175, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1461s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0482s) ][ GZIP on ]