Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 13:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Barry's Simple Network
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 11:53    Post subject:  Barry's Simple Network
Subject description: A Puppy User can't get to the Connect button on a 1024x600 screen
 

I have been contacted by a convert to Puppy, so far the verdict is good, I have helped him tweak the little aspects that confused him.

But the big one is, he uses Barry's network, loves it, it always works over the other ones in there. The problem is that when it populates with the scan, he cannot get to the connect button, presumably because of the 1024X600 screen.

He even tried some bacofoil sheet to try and obscure some of the network population with a bit of success.
I haven't seen what's happening, it sounds as though it disappears out of view though.

But is Barry's hardcoded or might there be some way of moving the connect button to a location where it could be reached on a netbook?

Said he was close to tears one day trying to get to his network lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1015
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 12:07    Post subject: Re: Barry's Simple Network
Subject description: A Puppy User can't get to the Connect button on a 1024x600 screen
 

Smithy wrote:
might there be some way of moving the connect button to a location where it could be reached on a netbook?


You can move any window on the desktop by holding down the ALT key, placing the mouse cursor anywhere in the window and then dragging with the mouse. This allows you to move it even if you can't see the title bar.

Cheers, J
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2049
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 12:19    Post subject:  

Yes ALT key works but DO NOT release it until button is well into view, it can slip below bottom menu bar. Once connected you may not be able to reach ALT focus area, and its safe to hover over title in titlebar, right click and close from popup menu.

DANG SPAM BOT.. <spam on either side of this post was removed, thank you mods>

Last edited by Ted Dog on Mon 21 Oct 2013, 15:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 12:26    Post subject:  

Cheers guys, I will relay this solution to my friend!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 12:30    Post subject:  

Hi Smithy

Two solutions :

1) Try another puppy thats better suited to a smaller screen, ie Saluki. Saluki-NOP, Puppeee or similar.

2) When at the offending screen :-
depress Alt and the left mouse-click button simultaneously - and whilst keeping then depressed - use the cursor to drag the screen up
(or down, or in any direction)
thus allowing the previously hidden part to be seen.

HTH - best regards - Ray

edit: looks like I will have to improve my thinking and typing speeds,
hope all works out well.

_________________
Acer 243LC laptop. 384mb ram. 2.5Ghz Celeron proc. 30gb hdd. pcmcia Wifi card. Asus 701SD. 512mb ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. IBMX60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 223
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 15:12    Post subject:  

if the window disappears from the screen altogether, right click its taskbar button and select "move." the mouse will grab it from where ever it is and you'll see it as an outline which you can then position, clicking the mouse again to release it. double click the title bar and it should fill whatever the screen dimensions are correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 413

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 16:27    Post subject:  

Click and hold middle mouse/scroll button anywhere on title bar or on any visible edge of the window and drag to preferred position.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 09:43    Post subject:  

SNS Scrolling to be added to lupu-5.2.8.6, soon. Thanks for reporting this problem, Smithy.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 697
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 18:45    Post subject:  

precise versions 5.5 and up have window size problems on netbooks. I think because of some crazy change of the size of something from 78 dpi to 96 dpi.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, No OS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sun 27 Oct 2013, 05:44    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
SNS Scrolling to be added to lupu-5.2.8.6, soon. Thanks for reporting this problem, Smithy.
Richard


You're welcome!

Thanks for the other replies on this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
g2k


Joined: 30 Oct 2013
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2013, 00:35    Post subject: Buttons off screen
Subject description: reply
 

Hi, I use puppy 5.2.8 on my laptop with jwm, and I can right click the icon for the program in the tskbar and choose resize.

I then make the whole window smaller and choose whatever input button I need to.

I don't know if this will work for any other version of puppy though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Smithy


Joined: 12 Dec 2011
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Sun 03 Nov 2013, 15:09    Post subject:  

That's a handy tip g2k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0613s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]