Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 11:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy is a pain to install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
jacatone

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 370

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 00:49    Post subject:  Puppy is a pain to install  

Tried installing Wary 5.5 on an older XP laptop and just ended up with a black screen with a lot of code. Seems every version of PL has a different install procedure. I've never found any of the instructions in this forum of any use. Why doesn't this distro just have an easy installer like Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Such a pain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 00:59    Post subject: Re: Puppy is a pain to install  

jacatone wrote:
Tried installing Wary 5.5 on an older XP laptop and just ended up with a black screen with a lot of code. Seems every version of PL has a different install procedure. I've never found any of the instructions in this forum of any use. Why doesn't this distro just have an easy installer like Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Such a pain.


What kind of install?

I run all "frugal" installs. I boot from disk a couple times, as I get things tuned up. Then I run the universal installer (from Menu >> Setup). I'm using Lupu 5.28, and I am assuming that Wary looks the same (all of the other versions of Puppy that I've used looked the same)

This, of course, doesn't install the grub -- but it tells you how to modify your grub file.

Now, with a folder containing the Puppy setup, with all the required files, I then...

http://www.icpug.org.uk/national/linnwin/contents.htm

Which uses the existing Windows bootloader, to run Linux...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 01:34    Post subject:  

jacatone the recommendation AFAIK is to make a frugal install.

Maybe you tried to do full install?

Maybe the graphic card drivers are missing.
Try the Vesa option next time you boot

You should tell us more details on the grub menu.lst you use.

I trust that all installs are hard if the hard ware and the software
don't find each other. But if they do and one have done frugal install
before then it is super easy to do new installs. I do such within 5 minutes
and I am a total noob. I fail with most things in life

so if one don't know and the hardware and software don't mix well
them maybe it is very difficult but if things fit each other then it is super easy.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 472
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 02:57    Post subject: Re: Puppy is a pain to install  

jacatone wrote:
I've never found any of the instructions in this forum of any use. Why doesn't this distro just have an easy installer like Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Such a pain.

After 300 posts and more than 6 years you still keep asking the same questions, provide no feedback and ignore all the help extended to you. You are incredibly ignorant.!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 732
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 03:59    Post subject:  

Puppy has created a big PITA for me when it comes to installation.

I usually download an ISO, mount it, copy the contents to a suitably named folder on my boot drive, edit menu.lst for grub4dos with something like this

Code:
title Saluki 021 (sde1/SSDluki021frugal)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /SSDluki021frugal/initrd.gz
  kernel /SSDluki021frugal/vmlinuz  pmedia=atahd psubdir=SSDluki021frugal pfix=fsck
  initrd /SSDluki021frugal/initrd.gz


and it works - 97.5% of the time. (2.5% is user error)

The pain in the ass is lately I've been hankering to try Mint. It does not work so nicely. Puppy is so easy to install that I have forgotten how to make mint or other less easy linuxes install frugally for testing, and using the authoritarian install programs that come with Mint et al will try and delete my grub and maybe my puppies too.

I will stick with Puppy for now, for its absolute ease of installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darry1966

Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 533
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 06:43    Post subject: Re: Puppy is a pain to install  

MochiMoppel wrote:
jacatone wrote:
I've never found any of the instructions in this forum of any use. Why doesn't this distro just have an easy installer like Ubuntu or Linux Mint. Such a pain.

After 300 posts and more than 6 years you still keep asking the same questions, provide no feedback and ignore all the help extended to you. You are incredibly ignorant.!


Do you think calling someone ignorant is any better??????

that is an abusive comment ok his feedback and comments at times are probably may be annoying to you but that doesn't mean you have to contribute to some of the negative terrible things that are going on in the forums at the moment. just ignore him.

It really depresses me to see stuff like this in the forums and to have been subjected to some abusive comments myself.

what would a newcomer to these forums think???????

Please for the sake of the open source communtity think before you post..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2647
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:00    Post subject: Re: Puppy is a pain to install  

jacatone wrote:
Tried installing Wary 5.5 on an older XP laptop and just ended up with a black screen with a lot of code.


I also had troubles running frugal Wary on Toshiba Satellite. I guess the problem is missing driver.
Try Lupu or Fluppy and if you ask me - forget full install and use only frugal. It is really mistake-proof way of running puppy.
I prefer to install grub from old version of GeeXBox. It takes only 8 Mb space and gives me opportunity to play videos directly from GeeXBox. It needs less resources which is important for old computers.

Cheers

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1456
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
Tried installing Wary 5.5 on an older XP laptop


What kind of laptop (specs included) and what type of install (details included)
Quote:

Why doesn't this distro just have an easy installer like Ubuntu or Linux Mint.


Well for starters, A frugal install is not possible with those distros. I know Slax and AntiX are some of the few capable of this and you would not find the install features friendly either in those distros probably if comparing to Mint or Ubuntu.

By the way. The software was free or am I wrong and you paid for Puppy Linux?
If so. Go to the person you bought it from and complain you want your money back.

My Old how to, when I first got into Computers, Puppy install how to.
http://yatsite.blogspot.com/2008/09/compaq-armada-1540dm-running-windows-95.html

As you can see. I have not been using computers that long. It probably won't apply to your Windows XP install problems though. We need more details to comment on that problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 12:51    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Quote:
Tried installing Wary 5.5 on an older XP laptop

What kind of laptop (specs included) and what type of install (details included)


For perspective, my XP laptop is a Dell Latitude, 1.6 GHZ, 1 GB RAM (a decade old, perhaps more).

It runs Puppy 5.20 and 5.28 just fine. I've also installed Puppy 5.2 Retro, which also works well.

I run frugal installs on everything, and use Lin 'N Win on almost everything (I haven't attempted the Lin 'N Win on my Win7 laptop -- I have it booting from the SD card in the side of the machine).

Quote:
My Old how to, when I first got into Computers, Puppy install how to.
http://yatsite.blogspot.com/2008/09/compaq-armada-1540dm-running-windows-95.html

As you can see. I have not been using computers that long. It probably won't apply to your Windows XP install problems though. We need more details to comment on that problem.


Now that critter is old. My Armada is a PII, 333MHz, 256MB RAM (max it will handle), and a 512 MB swap partition. IIRC, it has a 4GB HDD, and still runs Win98 (dual boots, using Lin 'N Win).

It ran 5.25 Retro fine (a little heavy for it), and runs 4.12 Retro quite well. ttuuxxx's 2.14 Classic runs, but the keyboard mapping is all goofed up... It does really struggle under Firefox...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 14:24    Post subject:  

Nice to know the old Lin'N'Win is still being used. Of course, once the process is done once it is easy to install all sorts of Pups afterwards.

One thing I would say if you have lots of trouble installing. Try the Puppy on CD first to make sure your problem is not with your hardware, particularly the video if you are getting blank screens. If your hardware is the problem then installing is going to be very hard.

Puppy used to have lots of trouble with Toshiba laptops - don't know why - but it caused Caitlin Martin, a well known Linux reviewer, to say bad things about Puppy all the time.

Puppy 5.2.8.x will not work on PCs with the latest Intel video chips.

If you know your hardware works with the Pup you are trying to install then I would recommend a frugal install via Lin'N'Win or the Windows Installer from Noryb that uses the same technique but is automatic.

There are others here who swear by full installs so I will leave it to them to sort out problems with full installations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 14:54    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
Nice to know the old Lin'N'Win is still being used. Of course, once the process is done once it is easy to install all sorts of Pups afterwards.


I love the Lin 'N Win system!! It always makes me nervous mucking around with a working boot sector... (e.g. installing grub).

I do the mods entirely from Puppy (I boot from CD, "install" in a folder, then edit the files required).

I haven't tried it on my Win7 system... I was just reading up on it, and it makes me nervous... I will likely do a HDD backup (clonezilla) before trying it - then I can restore if I goof up.

The last several times I put grub on a machine, I used a Debian live boot disk to do it. I let it pretend that I'm going to install Debian (you have to actually install a minimal system), then use the grub and menu.lst that it creates, to hook in my Puppy (or other systems). I've had good luck with Debian -- I haven't had it mess up an existing bootable system...

But Lin 'N Win is trivially reversible if you want to remove the Puppy boot.

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1456
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
I haven't tried it on my Win7 system


I cheated on one of my Windows 7 Laptops.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72576&start=270

Found out it was easier to put a 128MB flash card to good use.

jacatone may have had a Holloween hangover when he posted. My head is killing me
from all the mixed candy and beer. So I can sympathize/empathize if that is the case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:19    Post subject:  

rokytnji wrote:
Quote:
I haven't tried it on my Win7 system


I cheated on one of my Windows 7 Laptops.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72576&start=270

Found out it was easier to put a 128MB flash card to good use.


I had a 4GB SD laying around, so that's mine (not very fast to shut down, however).

I'm thinking about trying to boot from the SD, but point to a folder on my HDD... (i.e. see if I can make the HDD "home", while booting from the SD -- should be possible, as soon as I get ambitious enough to poke at it). That would cure the slow shutdown problem.

Quote:
jacatone may have had a Holloween hangover when he posted. My head is killing me
from all the mixed candy and beer. So I can sympathize/empathize if that is the case.


Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing I figured to save my alky for this evening... Wink

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8659

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
I haven't tried it on my Win7 system... I was just reading up on it, and it makes me nervous... I will likely do a HDD backup (clonezilla) before trying it - then I can restore if I goof up.

There is a sneaky appoach that involves renaming a couple of files.... if you are interested..... idea is to be as unintrusive as lin'n'win.

Otherwise its bcdedit time...not too hairy but a little confusing I find.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:41    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Quote:
I haven't tried it on my Win7 system... I was just reading up on it, and it makes me nervous... I will likely do a HDD backup (clonezilla) before trying it - then I can restore if I goof up.

There is a sneaky appoach that involves renaming a couple of files.... if you are interested..... idea is to be as unintrusive as lin'n'win.

Otherwise its bcdedit time...not too hairy but a little confusing I find.

mike


What made me nervous was the apparent need for a correct UUID, for it to work... (I assume M$ trying to make is as difficult as possible to run an OS other than theirs...)

I like the less intrusive methods (which is why I'm currently running from SD -- no "funny" editing required at all).

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1071s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]