Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 14:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
How to configure grub4dos?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 14 Mar 2013, 16:56    Post subject:  How to configure grub4dos?
Subject description: I don't understand the instructions in many webpages...
 

... either they're incomplete or I am!

A sample of my menu.lst follows:

Code:
title konboot from floppy image
  map (hd1,0)/aa.img (fd0)
  mao --hook
  chainloader (fd0)+1
  rootnoverify (fd0)
#  errorcheck on
  boot

# additionals
title DSL (sdb1:PBS)
  map (hd0,0)/dsl-4.11rc1.iso (hd32)
  map --hook
  chainloader (hd32)
#  "lo que está a la derecha estaba pegado al final de la línea anterior" >> ramdisk_size=100000 init=/etc/init lang=us apm=power-off vga=789
#  "esto no estaba comentado" >> nomce noapic BOOT_IMAGE=dsl
#  "      "            " >> initrd /dsl_root/boot/isolinux/minirt24.gz
#  find --set-root --ignre-floppies --ignore-cd /sdb1/boot/isolinux/linux24
#  uuid BF7B-1BED
#  chainloader +1
#  chainloader /linux24
#  "esto no estaba comentado" >>  errorcheck on
  boot
   
title CDROM (any OS - cd0)
  cdrom --init
  cdrom --hook
  chainloader (cd0)
  boot


First of all, I don't have a Windows OS in this machine nor in the CFCard. All I'm doing at this Comp (#1) is within PL528 (frugal), don't have a FD drive &, even though I've an installed pet for PXEing the HP laptop that never completed??? So, all I want is to be able to boot something from the CFCard that can be used for executing konboot (also contained there) at another machine.

My logic, which by now needs a desperate defragmenting process, tells me that what I'm putting at the menu.lst is incomplete because I don't find a way the OS loader can find what I need to execute but I cannot find instructions to that end, neither.

I've tried diferent forms but all I receive back are error messages like:
1) konboot @(sdb1:PBS) - error 15: File not found;
2) DSL (sdb1:PBS) - error 27: unrecognized command.

Notes: The 'sdb1' thing seen above is the name my puppy gives to this drive when I connect it to the Comp #1 (VAIO). I can't remember from where I extracted the UUID. In any case, things are more or less the same with all the methods I've used so far. Much of the code that's commented above (notice the # symbol within the menu.lst extract) was already tried; it was pasted from some webpages that are suppossed to be showing a TUTORIAL!

Thanks to anybody that has something to point out about this issue.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2579
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 08:51    Post subject: Re: How to configure grub4dos?
Subject description: I don't understand the instructions in many webpages...
 

benny7440 wrote:
... it was pasted from some webpages that are suppossed to be showing a TUTORIAL!...

Why not use puppy's page:
Code:
defaulthtmlviewer file:///usr/share/doc/help/C/grub4dosconfig.html

Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Thu 21 Mar 2013, 13:45    Post subject:  

Thanks, L18L, for replying!

Have been reading those pages you pointed out & they're much better, hope to be able to solve my issue soon; I'll post below whatever happens in the next few days.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
benny7440


Joined: 20 Apr 2009
Posts: 416

PostPosted: Tue 26 Mar 2013, 15:17    Post subject:  

OK, this's to establish that I catched a syntax error in my 'menu.lst' file at the 3rd line after the one starting with "title konboot ...". The error was that 'map --hook' was written as 'mao --hook'. Now the story is a bit different.

It's not saying Error 15: etc., but now it's Error 23: Error while parsing number.

The fact that those errors appear as per my 2 interesting selections (DSL & konboot) for me it says that the boot loader is in fact finding the targets; this has been one of my doubts because I'm creating the menu.lst file at another machine & using PL528 to identify the device in a VAIO but the Ist target machine here is an HP & a clone desktop somewhere else. This still disturbs me a bit: can one system (H/W) identify a device as, say, sdb1 & another as sdc1 or hd0 or whatever, making the commands in the menu.lst file unusable?

Thanks to anybody that has something to say.

_________________
Sony VAIO VGN AR250G Notebook + 512MB RAM.
Need color of cables of 2 connectors at top & down side of Dell monitor 1704FPTt (look through vents at right side at the back)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 523
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Mon 28 Oct 2013, 01:31    Post subject:  

benny7440 wrote:
OK, this's to establish that I catched a syntax error in my 'menu.lst' file at the 3rd line after the one starting with "title konboot ...". The error was that 'map --hook' was written as 'mao --hook'. Now the story is a bit different.

It's not saying Error 15: etc., but now it's Error 23: Error while parsing number.

The fact that those errors appear as per my 2 interesting selections (DSL & konboot) for me it says that the boot loader is in fact finding the targets; this has been one of my doubts because I'm creating the menu.lst file at another machine & using PL528 to identify the device in a VAIO but the Ist target machine here is an HP & a clone desktop somewhere else. This still disturbs me a bit: can one system (H/W) identify a device as, say, sdb1 & another as sdc1 or hd0 or whatever, making the commands in the menu.lst file unusable?

Thanks to anybody that has something to say.

The kernel says sda1 (increment the number for a new partition, and the "a" for a new physical drive)
and grub uses (hd0,0), IIRC.
Which drive is which is completely unpredictable if yu have more than one.
With grub4dos you should start by getting a grub commandline (press "c" instead of selecting from the menu), then you can use "find /path/to/file" or even find --set-root /path/to/file (which works in the menu, as well)
For an example of how to use that,
Code:
map (hd1,0)/aa.img (fd0)

becomes
Code:
find --set-root /aa.img
map /aa.img (fd0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0660s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]