Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 03:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to make F2 boot options permanent? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
jbarntt

Joined: 22 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 23:02    Post subject:  How to make F2 boot options permanent? (Solved)  

In order for my graphics card to work properly, I need to press F2 at boot, and enter: puppy pfix=ram radeon.modeset=0

I'd like to make this subsist between boots, but I've been unable to find out how. I assume there is a config file I need to edit.

I'm running v. 5.7.1 LTS, Ubuntu based, I believe, from a flashdrive

For reference see:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=89622

TIA,

jbarntt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5380
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 13:01    Post subject:  

You do not say how you installed Puppy to the flash drive, so in general this is what you do.

Access the contents of the flash drive by using Rox the file manager.

Look for extlinux.conf, syslinux.conf, or isolinux.cfg

Left click on file to open in text editor or Right click on file and choose open as text.

At the end of the kernel line add

radeon.modeset=0

Save changes.

Reboot.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbarntt

Joined: 22 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 13:22    Post subject:  

Thanks bigpup, I think tthat will get me going.

jbarntt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbarntt

Joined: 22 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 14:12    Post subject:  

Here is the relevant lines from my extlinux.conf file. Neither syslinux.conf or isolinux.conf are present.

label puppy
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy

I changed the kernel line to:

kernel vmlinuz radeon.modeset=0

and saved and rebooted. Didn't help. Perhaps i need to add something to the append initrd line instead ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9259
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 14:52    Post subject:  

You want to add the additional arguments on the end of the "append" line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbarntt

Joined: 22 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 17:33    Post subject:  

I'm not familiar with the syntax, current is:

append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy

should I change it to:

append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy pfix=radeon.modeset=o

or is like:

append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy, radeon.modeset=o

If pfix is a variable then the first way would negate pfix=copy, perhaps with bad results.

jbarntt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jbarntt

Joined: 22 Oct 2013
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 19:20    Post subject:  

Problem solved, and tip of the hat to bigpup and rcrsn51 for pointing me in the right direction. Note that there is only one pfix=<line>. Each thing you want to add, is offset by a comma.

Sorry that my append line below is word wrapped, don't know how to fix that

label puppy
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usbflash pfix=copy, radeon.modeset=0

jbarntt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5380
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 27 Oct 2013, 00:25    Post subject:  

As my signature states, how true it is.

Glad I did not lead you too far off.
Hey we could not make it too easy. You would not have learned Twisted Evil Laughing

Look to see if there is a specific graphics driver, for your hardware, in Puppy Package Manager, that you can install and use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0510s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]