Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 22:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
pe_pplog v2.1b bufixes!
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1805
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 01:42    Post subject:  

efiabruni your advice was very close and on the right track.

You suggested adding this to the .htaccess file:
Quote:
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
Options +ExecCGI


This is what got it working:
Code:
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews +ExecCGI
AddHandler cgi-script .py .pl .cgi


Thanks again

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1805
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 15:59    Post subject:  

efia, I sent you a couple of messages to your gmail account.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 22:11    Post subject:  

I saw the messages and answered Smile

some lessons learned from the epic battle of setting the pe_pplog up on a live server:

the zip file is set up to extract in the web-server root, not a sub-folder (I will change this in the next version, but for know to avoid headaches it might be easier to follow this)

To execute cgi-scripts write the following in the .htaccess file:
[quote=smokey01]Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews +ExecCGI
AddHandler cgi-script .py .pl .cgi[/quote]
without MultiViews, as this might mess with js files (according to my experience, though I cannot explain why)

To get prettyPhoto to work add the following in $config_customHTMLhead:
Code:
<script src=js/jquery.prettyPhoto.js></script>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat 09 Nov 2013, 14:09    Post subject: new Release!  

I proudly present the latest version of the pe_pplog. Thank you to Grant and Chris for suggestions Smile

Some changes:
Fixing some path issues and adding an htaccess file to make it easier to upload and run the zip file on a live server.

replaced prettyPhoto with a css solution, lightboxes are now made with the "box" button. {box=thumbnail title=title}photo or text(any bbcode works in here){/box}. If there is no thumbnail the title will be clickable. Example.

possibility to use other programs than sendmail to send mail or to save mails locally and read them from the admin page.

notes to save and publish later

smiley buttons (like in this forum)

See first post for more info and download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 21:54    Post subject:  

efiabruni,
I like your pe_pplog very much! Very Happy

I have installed it, see here:

http://bkhome.org/news/

As you can see, I have worked on the theme a bit.

I turned off jquery, as it seems that calls to jquery.com slow the first page load down a bit?

I am using your latest version.

I put back the option to have numeric-only security code, coz I like that.

I found a bug. When I made the fourth entry, number 00004, the last line in file posts/00004.ppl had this:

Code:
<br />¬23 Nov 2013, 9:36¬Insight¬posts


whereas it should have been:

Code:
<br />¬23 Nov 2013, 9:36¬Insight¬00004


This meant that the entry did not display when I clicked on that post (it was listed in the menu).
I manually fixed it by downloading file 00004.ppl and editing it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Fri 22 Nov 2013, 23:06    Post subject: bug  

I noticed the same bug. It seems that it appears if one writes a new post and then edits immediately. I have not figured out why, yet. For now I would advice clicking on index after writing a post and then go back to edit it.


there is a bug with the lightboxes as well, they only work in firefox, but this is easily fixed by changing the following in the css file

Code:
input:focus + .box {width:100%; padding:2%; font-size:14px; }


to

Code:
input:focus + .box {width:100%; padding:2%; font-size:14px; height:100%;}


and

Code:
.box
{   
     width:0%;
     top:0px;
     left:0px;
     height:100%;
    position: fixed;
    background: rgba(0,0,0,0.5);
    text-align:center;
    color:white;
    font-size:0%;
}


to

Code:
.box
{   
   width:0%;
   top:0px;
   left:0px;
   height:0%;
   overflow:hidden;
    position: fixed;
    background: rgba(0,0,0,0.5);
    text-align:center;
    color:white;
    font-size:0%;
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 06:31    Post subject:  

efiabruni,
I have a couple of feature requests!

1.
Sage commented on my blog that he would like to be able to edit his comments.

I don't really know if I want to give people the right to go back at any time and edit their comments, however what would be really great is a Preview window.

So, alongside the Submit button, have a Preview button, so the person can see what their comment will look like, and if required go back to the edit window and fix any typos, links, etc., then submit.

2.
It would be good to have the (optional) security question in the Contact Me page also.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 14:51    Post subject: contact me page with bugfix and new feature  

I fixed a bug in the contact me page for the blog (when saving messages locally the new one would overwrite the previous one) and added the possibility to use a security question.

Settings for security question or captcha is now chosen as with comments ($config_commentsSecurityCode etc) in the pe_config.pl file

I have a contact me page as a stand alone page outside of the blog, which I have fixed/updated as above.
contact_page.zip
Description  contact me page as a separate page
zip

 Download 
Filename  contact_page.zip 
Filesize  1.71 KB 
Downloaded  106 Time(s) 
contact.pl.gz
Description  fixed contact plugin
gz

 Download 
Filename  contact.pl.gz 
Filesize  1.17 KB 
Downloaded  109 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 20:45    Post subject:  

efia,
Thanks, I have applied your latest fixes.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 21:39    Post subject: wrong password but still posted  

Hello Efia

I posted a comment on Bary Kauler's blog:
http://bkhome.org/news/

The first time I mistyped my password, got an error, but the comment was posted.

I assumed it would not be posted, and tried again with the correct password. Now there are two of the same post.

I posted a comment to Barry, and he suggested filing a bug report with you.

Bill
Santa Cruz, California
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 23:37    Post subject: post with wrong password  

I tried to recreate the error, but do not seem to be able to, neither on mine nor Barrys blog. Can you tell me exactly what happened?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 01:04    Post subject: Re: post with wrong password  

efiabruni wrote:
I tried to recreate the error, but do not seem to be able to, neither on mine nor Barrys blog. Can you tell me exactly what happened?
Efia

I posted 'passwd test 01' with a bad password and got this error:

Wrong password for this nickname. Please try again or choose another nickname.

So far, today, I do NOT see the 'passwd test 01' post using a bad password!

Then I posted 'passwd test 02' with the good password and it is shown on the blog.

Early yesterday, I could not enter into the comment fields or select any of the blog text using Mac Safari or the RSS reader Vienna. Today everything works!

There are other double posts, and I wonder if the same wrong password message prompted the second post.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1033
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 10:49    Post subject: Re: post with wrong password  

broomdodger wrote:
There are other double posts, and I wonder if the same wrong password message prompted the second post.

Bill


I just managed to create a double post on Barry's blog. I posted last night and all looked fine, just a single post. I went to bed without shutting down the webpage. When I came back to the computer this morning I simply refreshed the webpage to see if there were any new comments and lo and behold, double comment. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
efiabruni

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Mon 02 Dec 2013, 23:37    Post subject: bugfixes and new features  

I'm currently working on bugfixes for the blog.
Bugs I fixed:
bug in the lightbox as described above
bug for the "contact me" page also as described above
posts being printed instead of the entry number as described by Barry
changed the way entries were sorted out from posts as the old way could lead to no entries per page for the index
some spelling and css changes

the double post problem is still a mystery to me, as I cannot recreate it (except hitting refresh, as jrb described)

new features
delete emails when they are saved locally
comment preview (see here)

any other bugs you found, let me know Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 03 Dec 2013, 07:37    Post subject: Re: double post problem  

efiabruni wrote:
...the double post problem is still a mystery to me, as I cannot recreate it (except hitting refresh, as jrb described)


...just check : if the post already exists then do not insert it Wink

[edit]derivated from the rule: Check all user input[/edit]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [70 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0903s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]