Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 08:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-precise-2.4 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 20 Oct 2013, 18:28    Post_subject:  

rg66........

I’m not sure why, but the reworked sleep.sh file that you sent me did not fix the problem.

At this point, I want to make you aware of two things: 1) My toshiba laptop is connected to the internet via my wireless router. 2) I stumbled across a peculiar situation. When I first boot and the Quick Setup window appears (country, timezone, etc), the Suspend Function works just fine. However, immediately after I set the country, timezone, etc and hit the OK button, a window appears for me to set up the internet connection... it’s at this point that the Suspend Function no longer works. I went through the same steps 3 times to validate this is where the problem begins.

Anyway, you are definitely right, the problem has something to do with my internet connection. Therefore, you should not WASTE any more of your time trying to sort this out... especially, since it may be unique to my laptop/router and workarounds exist for me (eg, replace the sleep.sh file with the one from v2.1.1 OR use the terminal command “acpitool -s”).

Once again, thank you for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ztealmax

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 05:50    Post_subject: X-Precise-2.2
Sub_title: Display
 

Hi great work tried it out in VirtualBox looks sweet Very Happy

However i cant get it to work on my realpc
it starts up normaly detects network etc but when it starts
X the graphics are garbled, just a side note have same problem on
Precise-Puppy 5.7.1 but not on 5.6.

Code:

AMD A10 64-Bit cpu
AMD Radeon graphics
8Gb RAM


any idea how this could be fixed?

Sincerally
Martin aka Ztealmax
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ztealmax

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 05:50    Post_subject: X-Precise-2.2
Sub_title: Display garbled at booting up X
 

Sorry double posted
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
baszek

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 04:52    Post_subject:  

I am using now X-precise - everything works grate, but I have one problem. I have two sound cards and I dont know how to switch to the other sound card (to be default output device). In normal precise 5.7.1 there is some tool in menu to switch sound cards. I tried to install pavucontrol from PPM (ubuntu users wrote that this is the only easy way to switch it), but it does not work after install.

I have also one other simple question - how to run xfce4-extra-panel-plugins ? I have installed it but I dont know how to run it - I was searching in /usr/bin but could not find it.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 05:09    Post_subject: Re: X-Precise-2.2
Sub_title: Display
 

ztealmax wrote:
Hi great work tried it out in VirtualBox looks sweet Very Happy

However i cant get it to work on my realpc
it starts up normaly detects network etc but when it starts
X the graphics are garbled, just a side note have same problem on
Precise-Puppy 5.7.1 but not on 5.6.

Code:

AMD A10 64-Bit cpu
AMD Radeon graphics
8Gb RAM


any idea how this could be fixed?

Sincerally
Martin aka Ztealmax


If you get the initial boot splash hit F1 and type puppy pfix=nox and run xorgwizard to see if you can get it working.

If you use grub4dos add pfix=nox to the kernel line in menu.lst and run xorgwizard, if you get your video working you can remove it.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 05:21    Post_subject:  

baszek wrote:
I am using now X-precise - everything works grate, but I have one problem. I have two sound cards and I dont know how to switch to the other sound card (to be default output device). In normal precise 5.7.1 there is some tool in menu to switch sound cards. I tried to install pavucontrol from PPM (ubuntu users wrote that this is the only easy way to switch it), but it does not work after install.

I have also one other simple question - how to run xfce4-extra-panel-plugins ? I have installed it but I dont know how to run it - I was searching in /usr/bin but could not find it.


Right click on xfce-mixer control (speaker) in panel and click properties, it should let you choose a sound card. Or, there is a Multiple sound card wizard in Control Panel > System. In hind sight it should have been in Hardware not System.

To use the extra panel plugins, right click on the panel and choose Panel > Add new items... and they will be in the list.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
baszek

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 05:48    Post_subject:  

Thx a lot ! I was searching that "Multiple sound card wizard".
Do you know why page http://grooveshark.com/ does not work ? I was trying at default firefox and chromium 28.0.1500.71 from PPM. As I read its based on html5 so it should work. I have chromium 25 on normal precise 5.7.1 and it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ztealmax

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 23 Oct 2013, 06:49    Post_subject: Thank you  

Thanx worked great Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
baszek

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu 24 Oct 2013, 05:17    Post_subject:  

Can you please check what is the problem with that grooveshark.com ?
I can figoured it out how to make it work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1429
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 24 Oct 2013, 06:08    Post_subject:  

baszek wrote:
Can you please check what is the problem with that grooveshark.com ?
I can figoured it out how to make it work.


I tried it yesterday and it didn't work for me either, I only just tried it today and it is now working fine, http://grooveshark.com/ had to have been a fault at their end.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2013, 23:40    Post_subject:  

rg66 ,


THANKS rg66 !!

Al though i have complained about the pakage manager of puppy precise, I find myself always coming back to precise based puppy.

And i am loving xprecise more and more.

Thanks for adding the feature where i can have the choice of saving or not saving at shutdown.

It is brilliant! Among the many great features that comes with a well integrated xfce environment, this feature which allows users to choose whether to save or not to save is very much welcomed.

It saved me a lot of troubles. Once, i foolishly played around and turned off the menu for thunar then I couldn't figure out how to re activate the menu back. Luckily, at shutdown, i could choose not to save the session, I got back my menu for thunar file manager on the next boot up.

Compiz is also working ok.

Thanks again for x-precise! It is now my favourite puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
baszek

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 15:54    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
baszek wrote:
Can you please check what is the problem with that grooveshark.com ?
I can figoured it out how to make it work.


I tried it yesterday and it didn't work for me either, I only just tried it today and it is now working fine, http://grooveshark.com/ had to have been a fault at their end.

Yep Now is working! Strength thing ! I have one more questing - where can I change time or completely turn of screensaver ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 02 Nov 2013, 02:49    Post_subject:  

baszek wrote:
I have one more questing - where can I change time or completely turn of screensaver ?


From terminal run the code below, That should stop screen blanking/monitor suspend
Code:
xset s off -dpms


To see your current settings:
Code:
xset q


To see optional settings
Code:
xset


An example to have screen blanking after 10 min. (defaults setting)
Code:
xset s on 600


An example to have monitor suspend after 10 min (default)
Code:
xset +dpms 600 600 600

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Mon 04 Nov 2013, 20:53    Post_subject:  

new background.
xprecisenb1b.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   11.1 KB
 Viewed   306 Time(s)

xprecisenb1b.jpg

xprecisenb1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?x4v77bi1p58ox
 Filesize   10.82 KB
 Viewed   291 Time(s)

xprecisenb1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
giannis4

Joined: 28 Jun 2013
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue 05 Nov 2013, 13:28    Post_subject:  

What an amazing Puppy.The more I use it the more I am loving it.Congratulations to everyone who worked on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0915s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]