Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 24 Sep 2014, 00:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-slacko-2.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 877
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 13:55    Post subject:  

When I was experimenting with a Chromium package a while back I did look at the possibilty of including a copy of those libs within the Chromium package. This was around the time when BK seemed to be considering releasing Precise without Seamonkey.

It does work and it does mean that Chromium will still work even if a user completely removes Seamonkey or Firefox.

In the end I didn't do this, mainly because BK kept Seamonkey in Precise. It does increase the Chromium package size of course, though not by much as a percentage, however in the majority of cases it would mean that the libs would be duplicated unnecessarily. Might be worth looking at the idea again though as it would make Chromium (or Chrome) more "standalone".

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 14:40    Post subject:  

In this case, the libs are installed - just not in the "right place" for Chromium to use.

I have a 1.4MB pet of Seamonkey libs that I made some time ago which when installed on xslacko1.1 makes chromium29 work.

I can upload it if needed.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 15:22    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
In this case, the libs are installed - just not in the "right place" for Chromium to use.

I have a 1.4MB pet of Seamonkey libs that I made some time ago which when installed on xslacko1.1 makes chromium29 work.

I can upload it if needed.

Cheers
peebee


Much appreciated! I'm trying a Chrome package as well. I am curious as to why I just can't move the file into the directory; I assume it needs to be repackaged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 03:17    Post subject:  

Got the James & co. 'unable to contact X-server' message on my XPs of all flavours with many Radeon and nV cards, all video options. This must be a simple error somewhere because all Puppies, all video cards, etc work, even PAE versions, on these most reliable and flexible old chips. As an ardent Xfce fan, confirm that nearly (excepting gross memory complement demanders) all other Xfce distros, even Xbuntu, work on the old XP chips. No plans to not continue using XP testbeds, so a fix would be most valuable. Maybe one of the regular compiler-guys or the maestro himself can finger the issue? Not worth sacrificing this great project for such an (elementary?) failure. How did Lighthouses and NOPs, for example, achieve working Xfces? Sadly, coding, as most folks well know, is not my bag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 505
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 03:42    Post subject:  

@ Deacon and peebee

I put Firefox in /opt because that's for "optional" apps, Qt and LibreOffice go there so I'm not sure why FF and Seamonkey end up in /usr/lib.

You could try making a symlink to /opt/firefox in /usr/lib and see if that works or, you could move the firefox folder to /usr/lib and make a new firefox symlink in /usr/bin.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 505
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 04:14    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Got the James & co. 'unable to contact X-server' message on my XPs of all flavours with many Radeon and nV cards, all video options. This must be a simple error somewhere because all Puppies, all video cards, etc work, even PAE versions, on these most reliable and flexible old chips. As an ardent Xfce fan, confirm that nearly (excepting gross memory complement demanders) all other Xfce distros, even Xbuntu, work on the old XP chips. No plans to not continue using XP testbeds, so a fix would be most valuable. Maybe one of the regular compiler-guys or the maestro himself can finger the issue? Not worth sacrificing this great project for such an (elementary?) failure. How did Lighthouses and NOPs, for example, achieve working Xfces? Sadly, coding, as most folks well know, is not my bag.


I believe it's a dbus issue, why it's only a problem with P3 and Athlons is beyond me.

I do have plans to try and rectify the issue, although it's not a high priority at the moment.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 08:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
plans to try and rectify the issue

Good to know and thanks, but there must be regular correspondents who already know/surmise the answer?
P.S. Forgot to mention having problems with sound (none!)on newer systems when a PCI card is used. [Assume all the necessary BIOS, Mixer, etc settings properly set.]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 07:01    Post subject:  

Hello rg66 et al.

In an email, a certain herbed named member asked if I could be of assistance. I have an athlon 1900+ in service so I'll d'load the latest and give it a spin. Sounds to me like a timing issue or perhaps a d-bus compilation issue. Did you change d-bus?

By the way, slacko can install a package called "semonkey-solibs", it's an official slackware package, get it from the "patches" repo, it will up to date. Also there is some issue with latest google-chrome ( re dependent libs + slackware ), but I'll get back on that.

Cheerio.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 505
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 05:01    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hello rg66 et al.

In an email, a certain herbed named member asked if I could be of assistance. I have an athlon 1900+ in service so I'll d'load the latest and give it a spin. Sounds to me like a timing issue or perhaps a d-bus compilation issue. Did you change d-bus?


Hey 01micko,

I had a look at the package I used for Xfce and it did have d-bus in it. When I have time I'll try the one that came with slacko to see if it fixes the P3/Athlon issue.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue 12 Nov 2013, 00:04    Post subject: Firefox 25.0  

Firefox updated to 25.0 and seems to be working good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu 14 Nov 2013, 04:12    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

By the way, slacko can install a package called "semonkey-solibs", it's an official slackware package, get it from the "patches" repo, it will up to date. Also there is some issue with latest google-chrome ( re dependent libs + slackware ), but I'll get back on that.

Cheerio.


On my current run with x-slacko I found that package and installed Google-Chrome with no success; however, I then installed Seamonkey itself, rebooted, and it worked fine! Definitely fun to experiment with.

However, I am unsure if it was the reboot or installing Seamonkey that did it and I am not sure I want to take them off to find out as I put all my apps in it Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Deacon


Joined: 19 Mar 2013
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon 18 Nov 2013, 03:18    Post subject: Cairo-Dock 2.1.3- an odd question  

First thanks to everyone who helped with the Chrome question! It worked great, and left me so satisfied I decided to quit Chrome and go smaller-- if it hasn't been tested, happy to report that with 61MB of dependencies Midori also works "out of the box" from the Salix repo in PPM.

Now to my current experiment.

I loaded Cairo-Dock onto X-Slacko to make the Desktop GUI I'd been working on for some time and I found an oddity which I was wondering was due to XFCE's build or Cairo-Dock (I've used Cairo-Dock on Xubuntu, but I know that builds are smaller on Puppy, which is why I ask.)

Everything works fine, except in trying to move a panel to the edge of the screen. Whereas I am accustomed to setting the lateral edge at 0 to get it to a left corner, for example, in this case I have to set it to -165 get close. I am not sure if this is due to the netbook or what-- I will test it soon on another monitor- but I am curious as to whether anyone testing X-Slacko has found this curiosity.

An oddity with X or Cairo-Dock?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 21:35    Post subject: xslacko notes  

I’ve been using Xslacko exclusively as of late - I was using Linux Mint and Arch Linux, but was very much impressed by Xslacko. Yes, it doesn’t have the repository that Debian/Ubuntu does, but for my purposes, it seems to be so much more stable as far as a Puppy-styled distro is concerned.

I am a HUGE fan of the ability to use a frugal install, and to be able to use legacy Grub; I’ve come to the conclusion that this is my distro of choice. Rod66 has done a great job of integrating the xfce desktop with the slacko build, and at present this is my distro of choice. Obviously, that may change down the road due to updating crap, but at present, this is, for myself anyways, the best route. I can successfully update Firefox to version 26.0, and run most of the packages that I need to use as an end-user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2013, 04:10    Post subject:  

Came to the same conclusion, el. Hope rg & micko can divert attention for a mo. to fix the video issue. This one is significantly underrated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 505
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2013, 20:28    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Came to the same conclusion, el. Hope rg & micko can divert attention for a mo. to fix the video issue. This one is significantly underrated.


Not sure what video issues your referring to.

As far as the d-bus P-3/Athlon issue goes, I had a go at fixing it and failed. So, it will most likely stay as is unless I feel motivated to start over with the Xfce packages from the repo. It is a lot of work so I'm not really sure I want to do it all over again. If I do decide to do it, I'll most likely wait for the new slacko if there's a non-pae version.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0942s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]