Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 08:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 66 of 94 [1407 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, ..., 92, 93, 94 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1361
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 23:37    Post subject: Updated repo  

Updated repo with a few new and updated apps, see Recent Repository Additions.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1361
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Wed 09 Oct 2013, 23:57    Post subject: Updated repo  

Updated repo yet again with more Qt apps, see Recent Repository Additions.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Thu 10 Oct 2013, 17:10    Post subject:  

Good to see Carolina's still being developed/supported.

I have either a bug report or a feature request for version 1.1, not sure which.

Seagate Expansion 4TB external USB 3.0 drive, plugged into a USB 2.0 laptop. Seen perfectly under Puppeee 1.0, Fluppy 013 and Windows XP. Not seen by Carolina.

Looking at dmesg, it's failing to understand the drive's geometry: it assigns seven or eight device names (e.g. sde to sdk), none of which is correct. Doesn't matter whether I format the drive as one large NTFS partition, two smaller Ext3 partitions, four Ext 2 partitions, etc.: Carolina's not even getting as far as the partition table.

I've seen reports of this elsewhere online, with one fix being to blacklist a module ('uas') but I've tried that, and I don't think that module's even in Carolina. In any case, it didn't work.

This looks like a kernel issue, and the drive takes a long time to be recognised even at the initrd stage, whereas Fluppy sails straight through.

Any ideas on a work-around would be welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct 2013, 15:09    Post subject: Re: Carolina - 1.0
Subject description: final release
 

I managed to make a symlink on the desktop for my friend, who does not want to know any more about computers than necessary.

The link is to a a script which causes evince to load the pdf manual for a phone I gave her.

How can we have an icon, eg a picture of a phone, for that symlink?
(instead of the generic thing it now has)

Thanks,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1361
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct 2013, 18:05    Post subject: Re: Carolina - 1.0
Subject description: final release
 

sheldonisaac wrote:
I managed to make a symlink on the desktop for my friend, who does not want to know any more about computers than necessary.

The link is to a a script which causes evince to load the pdf manual for a phone I gave her.

How can we have an icon, eg a picture of a phone, for that symlink?
(instead of the generic thing it now has)

Thanks,
Sheldon


Sheldon,

Use a launcher on the desktop instead.

Rightclick the desktop and in the rightclick menu select " Create Launcher. "
To add the pdf, in the command input add " evince /path/to/my.pdf "
then for the icon click the icon button and when the menu appears " Select icon from: " > " All Icons " > type " phone " in the search,
it will show a phone, select that and OK it.

Hope that helps.
Screenshot-7.png
 Description   
 Filesize   27.18 KB
 Viewed   1071 Time(s)

Screenshot-7.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 405
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct 2013, 18:44    Post subject: Re: Carolina - 1.0
Subject description: final release
 

Geoffrey wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:
I managed to make a symlink on the desktop for my friend, who does not want to know any more about computers than necessary.

The link is to a a script which causes evince to load the pdf manual for a phone I gave her.

How can we have an icon, eg a picture of a phone, for that symlink?
(instead of the generic thing it now has)

Thanks,
Sheldon


Sheldon,

Use a launcher on the desktop instead.

Rightclick the desktop and in the rightclick menu select " Create Launcher. "
To add the pdf, in the command input add " evince /path/to/my.pdf "
then for the icon click the icon button and when the menu appears " Select icon from: " > " All Icons " > type " phone " in the search,
it will show a phone, select that and OK it.

Hope that helps.

Wow, Geoffrey!
I will try it.

THANK YOU!

_________________
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 02:06    Post subject:  

Hi Geoffrey :
I want to install Virtual Box to run Win xp in carolina. Tried different sfs files of vbox. also load the devx file of carolina, but no success. please help.
Thanks in advance.
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 02:27    Post subject:  

umair wrote:
Hi Geoffrey :
I want to install Virtual Box to run Win xp in carolina. Tried different sfs files of vbox. also load the devx file of carolina, but no success. please help.
Thanks in advance.
UMAIR


You need to load the kernel sources as well as devx.

http://smokey01.com/carolina/sfs/kernel_sources-3.2.13-ski.sfs for pae

http://carolina-linux.com/elroy/lina-lite/kernel/kernel_sources-3.2.13-c.sfs for non-pae

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 02:58    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
umair wrote:
Hi Geoffrey :
I want to install Virtual Box to run Win xp in carolina. Tried different sfs files of vbox. also load the devx file of carolina, but no success. please help.
Thanks in advance.
UMAIR


You need to load the kernel sources as well as devx.

http://smokey01.com/carolina/sfs/kernel_sources-3.2.13-ski.sfs for pae

http://carolina-linux.com/elroy/lina-lite/kernel/kernel_sources-3.2.13-c.sfs for non-pae

@rg66:
Thnx for quick reply.
I managed to install Virtual Box. Created virtual machine of 5 GB in home folder. But when I run the machine I saw the following error:
Any Idea ????
screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.67 KB
 Viewed   919 Time(s)

screen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 05:03    Post subject:  

I don't know if this is of interest to anyone, but I've patched Carolina's initrd.gz so you can run with ramboot=1, as was possible in Puppeee and Fluppy.

I find this useful for when the kids are using my machine, as any damage they do is undone on a reboot. Also useful for testing new software: install a PET, test it, if you don't like it it's gone on reboot.

If anyone wants it, here it is. You just need to add 'ramboot=1' to the boot line. I've merely copied the code from Jemimah's Fluppy 013 initrd.gz and applied it in the relevant places, and added a new /mnt/tmpfs3 directory for it to use.

Given the size of the SFS files you'll need a fair amount of RAM, but on a 1GB or 2GB machine it's pretty handy.

I've barely tested this, having only just finished it, so be warned...

Hmm... can't upload. Forum complains about an empty file, and says the maximum allowed file size is 0MB. Is that because I haven't posted enough yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1361
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 23:32    Post subject: Updated repo  

Updated repo with more Qt apps, see Recent Repository Additions.

I may as well do a bit of advertising for Carolina which contains some nice software.
There is the latest Nomacs image viewer, this now has a mosaic creator built in, along with it's many other features,
a great app to adjust raw camera images, along with it's ability to crop, resize and image conversion.
mosaic.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   97.06 KB
 Viewed   701 Time(s)

mosaic.jpg

mosaic1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   129.34 KB
 Viewed   705 Time(s)

mosaic1.png

nomacs.png
 Description   
 Filesize   199.05 KB
 Viewed   713 Time(s)

nomacs.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 10:50    Post subject: Firefox 24 from Carolina Repository  

Hi guys, just spent some time with Carolina and it is fantastic! Any chance it will be supported longer term? Also, just a heads up. Firefox 24 doesn't install properly. When trying to run from menu or quick launch, it doesn't want to work. I had uninstalled Firefox ESR and installed Firefox 24. I can run it from usr/lib/firefox. I couldn't run from terminal. I also checked with Racy NOP 522 and same problem there. Hope you guys can keep this up. IMHO this should be the official Puppy. Thanks again, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1361
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 25 Oct 2013, 16:39    Post subject: Re: Firefox 24 from Carolina Repository  

oligin10 wrote:
Firefox 24 doesn't install properly. When trying to run from menu or quick launch, it doesn't want to work. I had uninstalled Firefox ESR and installed Firefox 24. I can run it from usr/lib/firefox. I couldn't run from terminal.


I found the problem, it's a typo in /usr/bin "firefox" reads as "firfox", just rename it and it will be sweet.
I'll fix the package, strange it took so long to be noticed.
I guess most wouldn't uninstall the old version and only install firefox over the top of the existing one, thus keeping the good symlink.
firefox_error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.11 KB
 Viewed   537 Time(s)

firefox_error.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 10:25    Post subject: Fixed  

Thanks Geoffrey, all good now. Thanks for the quick response and solve. I hope you guys keep this running. I was amazed how polished this is. I know its based off Saluki, but it has really advanced since then. Thanks again, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sat 26 Oct 2013, 20:55    Post subject: Ramboot code
Subject description: for Carolina Linux 1.0
 

As mentioned in my earlier post, I modified the original Carolina initrd.gz to use the 'ramboot' sections from Fluppy (also present in Puppeee). I find this feature useful: other people might too.

I can't seem to upload attachments to this forum, so I've explained how I did it here. The code should actually allow you to add ramboot=1 to almost any other version of Puppy too, though I haven't yet tried that.

Backup everything before you start, and have a spare bootable medium on hand (e.g. USB stick or CD) as this could potentially make your system unbootable if your only running OS is Carolina.

First, make a temporary directory containing a copy of the Carolina initrd.gz. In that directory, do this:

Code:
mkdir initdir
cd initdir
zcat ../initrd.gz | cpio -i -d


Now create a new temp mount-point for the ramboot code to use (note, we're doing this inside the 'initdir' directory, hence the lack of a leading /):

Code:
mkdir mnt/tmpfs3


Now you need to edit the 'init' script in your favourite text editor and insert the necessary ramboot code at various points. Hopefully I've included enough of the surrounding code for you to work out where this all goes.

First bit:

Code:
#pmedia= usbflash|usbhd|usbcd|ataflash|atahd|atacd|atazip|scsihd|scsicd|cd
[ $pmedia ] && PMEDIA=$pmedia #boot parameter, broad category of boot media. ex: cd.
[ $pdev1 ] && PDEV1=$pdev1    #boot parameter, partition have booted off. ex: hda3
[ $psubdir ] && PSUBDIR=$psubdir #boot parameter, directory for puppy files. ex: puppy220
[ $pkeys ] && PKEYS=$pkeys #boot parameter, keyboard layout w476

# next bit added for ramboot
[ $ramboot ] && RAMBOOT=yes


Second bit:

Code:
  #[ "$REMOVABLEDRVSAVE" = "1" ] && PUPMODE=13
  [ "$REMOVABLEDRVSAVE" = "1"  -a  "$PMEDIA" != "usbhd" ] && PUPMODE=13  #110116 shinobar.
  [ "$PMEDIA" = "usbflash" ] && PUPMODE=13 #v404 fix classmate, with internal usb flash.
  [ "$PMEDIA" = "ataflash" ] && PUPMODE=13 #w019 constrain writes to internal flash drv.
 ;;
 76) #v3.01 64+8+4 multisession cd.
  PUPMODE=77 #yes, want tmpfs top layer.
 ;;
esac

# next bit added for ramboot
[ "$RAMBOOT" = "yes" ] && PUPMODE=12


Third bit:

Code:
 #normal ${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}save.2fs file. just mount it from where it is...
 echo -n "Loading personal file $PUPSAVEFILE ($PUPSAVEDEV)..." > /dev/console
 [ "`echo "$PUPSAVEFS" | grep 'ext[234]'`" != "" ] && echo "/dev/$PUPSAVEDEV /mnt/dev_save $PUPSAVEFS defaults  1 1" >> /etc/fstab #v2.21

# next bit added for ramboot
if [ "$RAMBOOT" = "yes" ] ; then
        if [ "$PUPSAVEDEV" = '' ] ; then
                echo -e -n " \\033[1;31mError, Save file is required for ramboot option  \\033[0;39m"
                exit
        fi
        mntfunc $PUPSAVEFS /dev/$PUPSAVEDEV /mnt/tmpfs3 noatime
        cd /mnt/tmpfs3/${PSUBDIR}
        SIZE=0
   SIZE=`ls *fs | while read line ; do SIZEK=$(du -k $line| cut -f 1); SIZE=$(expr $SIZE + $SIZEK); echo $SIZE ; done |tail -n 1`
        SIZE=`expr $SIZE + 1000`
        if [ $SIZE -gt $RAMSIZE ] ; then
                echo -e -n " \\033[1;31mError, Files too big to fit in RAM  \\033[0;39m" > /dev/consol
                exit
        fi
        mount -t tmpfs -o size=${SIZE}k tmpfs /mnt/dev_save
        mkdir /mnt/dev_save/$PSUBDIR
        echo -e  " \\033[1;35mCopying files to RAM  \\033[0;39m" > /dev/console #purple.
        echo -e  " \\033[1;35m${SIZE}KB RAM will be used\\033[0;39m" > /dev/console
        ls *fs |while read line ; do
                echo -e -n " \\033[1;35m${line} \\033[0;39m" > /dev/console #purple.
                cp -af ${line} /mnt/dev_save/$PSUBDIR > /dev/console 2>&1
        done
        cd
        umntfunc /mnt/tmpfs3
 else
      mntfunc $PUPSAVEFS /dev/$PUPSAVEDEV /mnt/dev_save noatime #-t $PUPSAVEFS -o noatime /dev/$PUPS
 fi
# above bit added for ramboot (and next line commented out)
 
# mntfunc $PUPSAVEFS /dev/$PUPSAVEDEV /mnt/dev_save noatime #-t $PUPSAVEFS -o noatime /dev/$PUPSAVEDEV /mnt/dev_save


Fourth bit:

Code:
       if [ "$nocopysfs" = "" ];then
        echo -en "\\033[1;35m" >/dev/console #35=purple
        echo "'${basepupsfs}' now copying to hard drive (but only available next boot)..." >/dev/console
        echo -en "\\033[0;39m" >/dev/console
        PPATTERN="/dev/$xPUPSFSDEV "
        PUPSFSDEVMNTPT="`mount | grep "$PPATTERN" | cut -f 3 -d ' '`"

      # next bit added for ramboot
      [ "$RAMBOOT" = "yes" ] && PUPSFSDEVMNTPT=/mnt/dev_save


Fifth bit:

Code:
 #100920 decide whether to copy .sfs's to ram (see prior decision above)...
 pdPATTERN="`echo "$PUPSFSDEV" | sed -e 's/[0-9]*$//'` "
 if [ "$PNOCOPY" != "yes" ];then
  [ "`echo -n "$ATADRIVES" | grep "$pdPATTERN"`" = "" ] && COPYCONTENDER='yes' #test if not fast internal drive.
  [ $PUPMODE -eq 5 ] && COPYCONTENDER='yes'
  [ "$DEV1FS" = "iso9660" ] && COPYCONTENDER='yes'
 fi
 [ "$PCOPY" = "yes" ] && COPYCONTENDER='yes'
 [ "$COPYCONTENDER" = "yes" ] && [ $RAMSIZE -gt 220000 ] && [ $RAMSIZE -gt $MINRAM2CPY ] && COPY2RAM="yes"

 # next bit added for ramboot
 [ "$RAMBOOT" = "yes" ] && COPY2RAM=""


Once you've done all that, you then rebuild the initrd.gz file:

Code:
find . | cpio -o -H newc | gzip -9 > ../initrd_new.gz


When it's finished, copy the initrd_new.gz file to wherever you boot Carolina from, and rename it to initrd.gz (or you might be able to set up a new entry in your grub/syslinux file to use initrd_new.gz instead of initrd.gz). Booting with the kernel boot parameter 'ramboot=1' should move the Carolina SFSs and save files onto a ramdrive: they must all be in the same directory to start with, and you may need to specify pdev1 and psubdir on the kernel boot line too. And you need enough spare RAM...

Remember, nothing will be saved when you shut down.

If someone tries this code, please let me know if it works OK. It's fine for me, but if it needs any modifications I'll edit this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 66 of 94 [1407 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, ..., 92, 93, 94 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1416s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0298s) ][ GZIP on ]