Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 18:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-precise-2.4 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 338
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct 2013, 22:17    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:


I added some stuff to petget, a file overwrite warning and a dep check. One of them is causing petget to hang randomly and lock up the desktop. Ironically, I'm working on that right this moment and will hopefully solve the issue (so far so good).

In the mean time, download the installpkg.sh.gz below and extract it to /usr/local/petget and see if that fixes the problem. Make sure it's executable after extracting. Right click on it and select "make executable".


Tried the above in x-slacko 1.0 non-PAE. Seems to fix the blowups on pet installs there too. I flogged it quite mercilessly chasing and adding libraries to an emendo pet and it both installed the pets and found dependencies ok.

Thanks,

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 12 Oct 2013, 02:23    Post_subject:  

Marv wrote:
Tried the above in x-slacko 1.0 non-PAE. Seems to fix the blowups on pet installs there too. I flogged it quite mercilessly chasing and adding libraries to an emendo pet and it both installed the pets and found dependencies ok.

Thanks,


Hmmm, I didn't get that in X-slacko. If it's doing it there I need to change the installpkg.sh as well. Looks like it was the file clobber overwrite check that I borrowed from lina.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 08:46    Post_subject:  

re: xprecise 2.1.1...................

I can print with my wireless printer (hp deskjet 3510) on my toshiba laptop (a135-s4527) but cannot scan a document with simple scan, peasyscan, or xsane scanner. I have loaded the current driver (hplip_scan_3.13.7.pet). Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 09:21    Post_subject:  

yr1945 wrote:
but cannot scan a document with simple scan, peasyscan, or xsane scanner. I have loaded the current driver (hplip_scan_3.13.7.pet).

In the past, what procedures have you used to set up network scanning in other Puppies?

I just installed X-Precise-2.1.1 with hplip_scan_3.13.9.pet. Using Peasyscan, I set up network scanning to an HP unit. It worked correctly.

Connect your DJ 3510 directly by USB and test.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 10:07    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51... yea, I can scan by connecting my USB. I have not tried to scan with other "puppies". I have not taken any "set-up" actions for scanning other than loading the driver. What additional steps should I take to enable wireless scanning? Thank you for your support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 10:17    Post_subject:  

Read the Peasyscan Help. It discusses configuration files and how to use them for network scanning to HP units. In your case, you would need a configuration file with a single line like
Code:
<uri>hpaio:/net/Officejet_4500_G510n-z?ip=192.168.2.215</uri>

Modify it to use your printer's name and IP address.

I expect that the correct printer name is Deskjet_3510_series
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 16:03    Post_subject:  

@rcrsn51... Thank you for trying to help... I read everything you suggested and tried to make the terminal entries, but just get "no such file" or something similar... anyway, if I have to scan another document I will just connect via USB... Thank you again... PS: I will keep reading and experimenting... perhaps at some point in the future I will learn to scan using my wireless router...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 17:20    Post_subject:  

Why don't we solve the problem now?

1. Have you created a file in /usr/local/peasyscan/config?

2. When you start Peasyscan, do you get the window listing this file?

3. Please post the contents of the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 20:50    Post_subject:  

Okay... let's solve it now...

Yes, I have created a configuration file, but it's incorrect. I am not sure which IP address to use... it looks like I have 3 different types (external & Bcast & inet address). I used the inet address...

Also, relative to the script you gave me, immediately following my printer description should I have included "G510n-z?ip"?? I didn't (see below).

Anyway, when I press start, I get an error message (see below).

I was going to try and work this out myself, but I'm sure it will be much better with your help.

Thank you.
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   19.85 KB
 Viewed   219 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Screenshot-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   9.95 KB
 Viewed   214 Time(s)

Screenshot-1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 20:53    Post_subject:  

Please post the contents of the configuration file that you created.

You may just have missed the "?ip"

Code:
hpaio:/net/Deskjet_3510_series?ip=192.168.1.100

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 20:57    Post_subject:  

oops... the following are the contents of my configuration file named wireless...
Screenshot-2.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot-2.png 
Filesize  50.98 KB 
Downloaded  77 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 20:59    Post_subject:  

Delete all the lines but the first one from your configuration file and fix it as in my post above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 21:05    Post_subject:  

I got another error message...
Screenshot-3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.27 KB
 Viewed   194 Time(s)

Screenshot-3.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 21:08    Post_subject:  

Are you sure that Deskjet_3510_series is the correct name of the scanner? To know for sure, connect by USB and run the command "scanimage -L".

Are you sure that 192.168.1.100 is the IP address of the SCANNER, not your own IP address. Where did you find it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Sun 13 Oct 2013, 21:21    Post_subject:  

below is the results of my scanner name...

the IP must be mine... how do I get the IP address of the printer/scanner?
Screenshot-4.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot-4.png 
Filesize  20.87 KB 
Downloaded  68 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 23 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0191s) ][ GZIP on ]