Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 00:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to use my mobile phone for a wi-fi hotspot?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 05:55    Post_subject:  How to use my mobile phone for a wi-fi hotspot?
Sub_title: I have my mobile set up as a hotspot - but no wireless interface is detected by puppy
 

Hi,

I am using Wary 5 and would like to be able to connect to my phones hotspot. When I open up the network wizard only the etho interface is seen. I have tried the load module option and used the auto-probe option. I got so many false hits I gave up on it (8139too, acenic, adm8211, airo, adm8111e, ar917usb, asix, 76c50x-usb, ath5k, ath9k, atl1, atl1c, atl1e, atl2, atmel_pci, b43).

Then I tried to use ndiswrapper, this didn't work. I have Windows 7 on my laptop, however, I couldn't locate the .inf file that the wrapper needs to use.

So, I'm stuck, would be grateful for any help.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11128
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 09:04    Post_subject:  

It might be helpful to first make sure that Puppy can see a wifi router at all. I'm certainly no expert in doing that, but I'm pretty sure you shouldn't have to do much of anything for Puppy to see your hardware and configure the wifi to look for routers. Is there a wifi base station anywhere around you, such as a coffee shop for instance, that Puppy might be able to detect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 14:46    Post_subject:  

I live in an apartment block, when windows is running my Wi-Fi can see about 20 possible connections. With puppy, nothing, I don't think puppy can see my Wi-Fi hardware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11128
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Oct 2013, 15:44    Post_subject:  

Have you tried running Menu -> Setup -> Internet Connection Wizard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 03:36    Post_subject:  

Yes (see first post for details).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 03:55    Post_subject:  

ktat wrote:
when windows is running my Wi-Fi can see about 20 possible connections. With puppy, nothing, I don't think puppy can see my Wi-Fi hardware.
I think you are correct about puppy not being able to see your wireless card. Looks like it is only detecting your wired port (eth0). I recommend you try a couple of other puppies that are more recent than Wary and see if they detect the wifi card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 05:04    Post_subject:  

I don't have much data in my plan. My laptop is quite old - it's a HP Pavilion g6, so I hope Wary is new enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3442
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 06:25    Post_subject:  

" I am using Wary 5 and would like to be able to connect to my phones hotspot.

I have Windows 7 on my laptop. "

::::::::

" when windows is running my Wi-Fi can see about 20 possible connections."

Which does not tell me if you can see your own phone.

So.....in Win7 can you see your phones Hotspot???

With so much wifi around you...can you make your phone
more identifiable???

""""""""""

Specs: HP Pavilion g6

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=6264&review=hp+pavilion+g6&p=3

Intel Core i3-380M dual-core processor
(2.53GHz, 3MB cache, 35W TDP)
Intel HM55 chipset
Integrated Intel HD graphics

4GB DDR3-1066 RAM (2x 2GB; supports up to 8GB - 2x 4GB)
500GB 7200RPM Seagate hard drive (ST9500325AS)

802.11n wireless network adapter (Atheros AR9285)

Atheros >> AR9285 >>>> should work with

squeeze-5.X.3.4.12-SCSI.iso

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/DpupSqueeze5X/DpupExprimo5X3412/

""""
Slacko

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/slacko/slacko-5.3.3.2/

or later versions of each.

:::::::::::

The newer Lucid 528.6 might work >>>
" The only difference between lupu and lupuplus are the additional networking drivers in lupuplus. "

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=726108#726108

Dowmloads:

http://www.mediafire.com/folder/dc28t2rkua3kw/Disk_Images-5.2.8.6

"""""""

Precise from Barry may be good as well for your wifi.

Precise Puppy 5.7.1

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87712

:::::::

Does your provider allow tethering??????....many don't.

This is what I do here in OZ with TPG internet.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=77767

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 14:55    Post_subject:  

ktat wrote:
I don't have much data in my plan. My laptop is quite old - it's a HP Pavilion g6, so I hope Wary is new enough.
That laptop sounds perfect for pretty much any puppy (it's more powerful than mine...). I just don't think Wary has the right kernel to drive your wireless card. I recommend you try a puppy with a newer kernel such as Upup 3.9.9.2 available here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87374 (It is a 180MB download)

If you don't have enough data available for the 180MB then I would recommend trying the 2012 version of THINSlacko which is a 100MB download:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=78228
This is a really capable puppy in a small package. It is the one I use most when connecting my laptop to the internet by tethering through my Android phone hotspot.

There is also a 2013 version of ThinSlacko but I found it less successful on some hardware (but who knows - it might be better on your hardware...)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85348
(I personally think the original version of THINSlacko was more fully configured than this recent one)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 21:28    Post_subject:  

Ok, so does this mean I can't get a newer kernel for the current version of Wary that I have - my data limit is small, only 1.5 Gb a month - so 100mb is really going to eat into that.

The other question I have now is - if I go with a different version of Puppy do I still get the same access to all the other software out there? Like GIMP, Inkscape, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3442
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Oct 2013, 23:48    Post_subject:  

Asking again>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

"So.....in Win7 can you see your phones Hotspot??? "

Useless to proceed until you confirm this.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2607
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 09 Oct 2013, 02:55    Post_subject:  

ktat wrote:
Ok, so does this mean I can't get a newer kernel for the current version of Wary that I have
Apparently it is sometimes possible to switch the kernel - there are some posts about it on this forum somewhere, but I have no experience of this. It might be an experimental thing for experienced people only.

Quote:
The other question I have now is - if I go with a different version of Puppy do I still get the same access to all the other software out there? Like GIMP, Inkscape, etc.
Unfortunately every different puppy has a different range of software available. Some puppies try to make use of software from larger versions of Linux - eg: Slacko uses slackware packages and Upup uses the "Ubuntu Raring" packages. Usually the developers of those puppies will help you find a package that you are looking for, or will compile it to run on your chosen puppy. Gimp and Inkscape (or at least Inkscape lite) are pretty common amongst the puppies I have tried. If you can't afford the bandwidth to try a variety of puppies I would probably suggest waiting till you can afford to download the latest Slacko version as that is probably the most likely Puppy to guarantee having all the software you will need.

(also - if you tried to switch the kernel of Wary that might impact how well some software packages might run - some might need recompiling)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ktat

Joined: 07 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 09 Oct 2013, 07:39    Post_subject:  

Quote:
"So.....in Win7 can you see your phones Hotspot??? "


Sorry, I overlooked your comment before - yes I can see the hotspot and I have no trouble using it with Win 7 or my version of Ubuntu that I'm using.

Also, I was able to locate the .inf file on Win 7 itself (netathrx.inf) and then tried to use ndiswrapper - no luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0765s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]