Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 08:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 25 [368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9113
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 11:58    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
This bug is something that development will need to look into for this distro version and maybe release a fix in a future service-pak.

In /usr/lib/cups/backend/pdf-writer, change Line 69 to
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=1

No reply? The first step to getting a bug fixed is to confirm that the fix actually works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 14:56    Post subject: Python
Subject description: Tkinter
 

Maybe this is not the place for this question..

I am trying to write some Python code to interface to an Arduino system (using serial port). II have 5.7.1 and the devx loaded.
I did install the pySerial package (but that is besides the question here).

I want to create a GUI, and (as in the examples) try to import Tkinter with:

Code:
from Tkinter import *


I get error messages from this line.
Anyone tried using Tkinter in puppy before ? Or what is the preferred GUI programming in Python .. PyGTK ?

I hope someone can put me on the right track..

Thanks.

P.S. tried the same in Slacko 5.3.3, and get a different error message from the same line. It can's find a lib.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1693
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 15:30    Post subject: Re: Python
Subject description: Tkinter
 

Volhout wrote:
Maybe this is not the place for this question..

I am trying to write some Python code to interface to an Arduino system (using serial port). II have 5.7.1 and the devx loaded.
I did install the pySerial package (but that is besides the question here).

I want to create a GUI, and (as in the examples) try to import Tkinter with:

Code:
from Tkinter import *


I get error messages from this line.
Anyone tried using Tkinter in puppy before ? Or what is the preferred GUI programming in Python .. PyGTK ?

I hope someone can put me on the right track..

Thanks.

P.S. tried the same in Slacko 5.3.3, and get a different error message from the same line. It can's find a lib.



hi Volhout,

you didn't post the error message.... but i managed to use the command without an error...

you'll need python-tk and blt (that's BLT) from the PPM ..... type it in the find box.


i believe pygtk (python-gtk2) is used by modern gui apps though

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 385

PostPosted: Fri 13 Sep 2013, 03:23    Post subject:  

666philb,

Thanks,
Ik will try this tonight. I was just confused by the fact that it didn't work ootb since it is part of the devx. Apparently nobody uses it, since the missing libs where not identified in the bug thread.

Your suggestion for gtk2 libs also suggests installing lib's that are not in the devx.

So I am wondering...what is included in the devx. What am I supposed to do with python in the form it is included in the devx. If anything I want to do with it requires me to install packages, then we could put the whole python in PPM as a package. Or did I miss the point ?

I will install, and feedback if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 14 Sep 2013, 18:47    Post subject:  

double post
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Sat 14 Sep 2013, 18:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 14 Sep 2013, 18:48    Post subject: This fix, by Rcrsn51, addresses the "Print-to-File" bug  

gcmartin wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
This bug is something that development will need to look into for this distro version and maybe release a fix in a future service-pak.

In /usr/lib/cups/backend/pdf-writer, change Line 69 to
Code:
PUPPY_LINUX=1

No reply? The first step to getting a bug fixed is to confirm that the fix actually works.
Tested! It Works!

BarryK, if you're reviewing the thread, this fix resolves the "Print-to-File" bug.

Thanks, @Rcrsn51!

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Tue 17 Sep 2013, 08:53    Post subject:  

Subject: 4 bugs in the XKB Configuration Manager
Subjetc description: (xkbconfigmanager)

Recently, while musher0 and I were helping a new forum member with some keyboard stuff (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=725598#725598), I realized that one problem seemed familiar. Sure enough, I found my old bug report, work-arounds, suggested fixes, and patch file here:

Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011: 4 bugs in the XKB Configuration Manager (xkbconfigmanager)

These bugs remain in Precise 5.7.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 19 Sep 2013, 11:33    Post subject:  

Speaking of keyboard stuff, here are a couple of newly discovered XKB symbol file bugs (and suggested fixes) that have surfaced recently:

Bug thread: [resolved] slacko-5.6 / Punctuation for greek
Post with corrected file: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=721757#721757

Bug thread: print key not recognized
Post with corrected file: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=722237#722237
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oushua

Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 29 Sep 2013, 21:01    Post subject: Re: cant detect microsd in usb modem
Subject description: solved
 

oushua wrote:
come from 5.6.1 and just install and run precise 5.7.1. plug my usb broadband modem with microsd inside modem but it cant detect my microsd. (external usb thumb/flash HDD just fine) have not had this issue in precise 5.6.1. any solutions?
ok, i think i manage to find the solution to the problem by restart X server everytime i plugged in my modem. it solved the problem although mount it through pmount sometimes seem to work but in my case the drive icon wont or not appear on the desktop for most of the times.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 04:44    Post subject: pmount- desktop icon  

This is a great os have it working well on
this Toshiba laptop c855d-s5320

I have put up a screenshot of what I found.

Can anyone point to what to change to fix the problem

Thanks
pmountd.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   253.57 KB
 Viewed   1129 Time(s)

pmountd.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 07:16    Post subject: Re: pmount- desktop icon  

Tui wrote:
Can anyone point to what to change to fix the problem
Which problem?
Are you sure this is a bug in Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2013, 07:33    Post subject:  

new backgrounds.
preciseau3,rs.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?yhf9frimn6ama50,k3c0t9bdullgcri,hikk1c9nl0chvc9,7s77vaac6agasgh,cmf5vz1ni8esas2,mu3953boa7gi1n1
 Filesize   11.01 KB
 Viewed   924 Time(s)

preciseau3,rs.jpg

preciseau3,rs1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?yhf9frimn6ama50,k3c0t9bdullgcri,hikk1c9nl0chvc9,7s77vaac6agasgh,cmf5vz1ni8esas2,mu3953boa7gi1n1
 Filesize   9.03 KB
 Viewed   911 Time(s)

preciseau3,rs1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2443
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2013, 11:07    Post subject: creation of blanck pupsave  

Usually, to create an additional pupsave file, I use the script below.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
dd if=/dev/zero of=precisesave2.3fs bs=1M count=256
yes y | mkfs.ext3 -q -m 0 -F precisesave2.3fs


But with Precise (5.7.1) it does not work well. When restarting the computer, I get an error message (see screenshot below).


What can I do to make the additional pupsave compatible with Precise?

Cordialement,

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2013, 13:00    Post subject: "mount- desktop icon" request for info  

@Tui, on your post ===> "pmount- desktop icon", is there a chance you have your PUPPY installed as a Frugal/Full install? And if so, is it installed on SDA2? Or did you make a SWAP "file" and placed it on SDA2?

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
xmf-149

Joined: 02 Aug 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 05 Oct 2013, 17:11    Post subject:  

@ASRI éducation recently my desktop looked like that somehow and the fix was at http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=615494#615494
_________________
Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 25 [368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0974s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]