Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 10:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Some questions about using Puppy in Slovenia
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep 2013, 07:18    Post_subject:  Some questions about using Puppy in Slovenia  

Hi im new in Linux and got few questions.

Is any lang pack to make all common menues in Slovenian Language ?

What internet browser is best and light for this distro ? Because I and all my family preferred Firefox on Windows til now.

what procedure I must sucess install Open Office Sovenian? Because I use packet manager if I say proper, and there make search, but so many different options and I become total confused.

edit: I try apt -get update and upgrade and not work, what is proper way to do that in this distro ?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep 2013, 09:14    Post_subject: Re: programs ?  

You did not tell us which Puppy you have (and how) installed on what hardware.
But any how here some answers:
georg1 wrote:
Is any lang pack to make all common menues in Slovenian Language ?
It is up to you making a slovenian langpack. Cool
Code:
momanager
We will help you, of course Wink see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/index.php?f=16

georg1 wrote:
What internet browser is best and light for this distro ? Because I and all my family prefered firefox on windows til now.
So continue using firefox. Install it with Puppy Package Manager
Code:
ppm


georg1 wrote:
what procedure I must sucess install open office slovenian ? because I use packet manager if I say propper, and there make search, but so many diferent options and I become total confused.
I recommend LibreOffice. Get downloader here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65918

georg1 wrote:
edit: I try apt -get update and upgrade and not work, what is propper way to do that in this distro ?
There is no apt. It is Puppy.
Read more about puppy: http://puppylinux.com/

...just 1 question per thread please Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep 2013, 09:31    Post_subject:  

Hi. I got puppy precise.

When I on first run set timezone and keyboard, than get notice who say something about lang packs but normal Idont pay attention, so now Im off LOL

For me is not problem but for others non-computers freak in my house and parents is problem, they just open internet Browser and that is TOP what they can, so all other is on my back, and must set all this to work like on butter.

I be glad to make lang pack for menu's, but I dont even know how.

Will try that links and report back.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Wed 25 Sep 2013, 10:57    Post_subject: localization  

georg1 wrote:
Will try that links and report back.

Wow Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 07:59    Post_subject: translation
Sub_title: momanager
 

Use recent momanager from here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81259&start=111
please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 12:53    Post_subject:  

Hi. Thank you for link, I install and try open momanager and get error
error.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.57 KB
 Viewed   268 Time(s)

error.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 16:05    Post_subject:  

Hi. where I can find this devx sfs ? on which Dir is that file ?

I think I figure out must load on the fly that sfs but I cant find file.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 16:27    Post_subject:  

Hi georg1,

you can find the devx file for Precise Puppy 5.7.1 right there:

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/

If you are using Precise Puppy 5.x.x. you'll have to look right there:

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/

Greetings,
Feodor
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 16:46    Post_subject:  

thx. I use last puppy precise I think is 5.7.1 I load on the fly that devx sfs and if start momanager I got another error
error2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   14.48 KB
 Viewed   251 Time(s)

error2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu 03 Oct 2013, 17:29    Post_subject:  

georg1,

you need to have a puppy savefile on your hard disk or your USB stick.

Example: Frugal install to a USB stick (f.e. booting of a liveCD and saving the preciseave-571 file to your USB stick.)

The devx file has to be copied to the directory /mnt/home.
HomeDirectory-Frugal-USB.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.54 KB
 Viewed   239 Time(s)

HomeDirectory-Frugal-USB.jpg

Example-Frugal-to-USB.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.91 KB
 Viewed   239 Time(s)

Example-Frugal-to-USB.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2013, 16:13    Post_subject:  

Hi. Sorry for late respond I work on central-heat system all day Smile

I got my puppy installed on HDD, normal not frugal mode, and I cant find that file in /mnt/home folder.

I doownload that from your link, and than I got error like before.

I need file to manual translate this thing, where I can get that file, I doubt Im capable in this stage to inplement that file to make usable .pup file, so I will translate and than need one of you to make other, which I dont know in this stage, Im rookie now Like 95 on windows Smile

Thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 04 Oct 2013, 18:48    Post_subject:  

Hi georg1 ... no problem!

In order to get the momanager to work, you'll have to do a so called 'Frugal' install (from a liveCD).
MomanagerOnUSB-Frugal-Example.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   84.76 KB
 Viewed   212 Time(s)

MomanagerOnUSB-Frugal-Example.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 05 Oct 2013, 03:12    Post_subject:  

Aha so I must make reisntall and chose Frugal installation.

OK. I be back Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Sat 05 Oct 2013, 06:45    Post_subject:  

Hi I think I do all wrong, but I not know what.
devx-loaded.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   94.99 KB
 Viewed   190 Time(s)

devx-loaded.jpg

error2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   22.62 KB
 Viewed   178 Time(s)

error2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2507
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sat 05 Oct 2013, 09:06    Post_subject: frugal install
Sub_title: entry in menu.lst ?
 

georg1 wrote:
I must make reinstall and chose Frugal installation.

Looks like you have made frugal install to your win partition.
but booted into old full installation.

You have a working grub or grub4dos because you can also boot win? Right?
Post your menu.lst (maybe at /boot/grub) so we can see
that option for frugal install is there, please.

@FeodorF, thanks for having started the help Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0750s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]