Trying to compile QUCS 0.0.17 [solved (for slacko 5.6)]

discuss compiling applications for Puppy
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

Trying to compile QUCS 0.0.17 [solved (for slacko 5.6)]

#1 Post by darkcity »

Hi

I have installed qt 4.8, qt 4.8 dev and qt 3.38. I installed qt 3.3.8 dev from debian squeeze.

Can't get qucs 0.0.17 to compile

Code: Select all

checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for ar... ar
checking for lrelease-qt4... no
checking for lrelease... /opt/qt4/bin/lrelease
checking for lupdate-qt4... no
checking for lupdate... /opt/qt4/bin/lupdate
checking for moc-qt4... no
checking for moc... /opt/qt4/bin/moc
checking for uic-qt4... no
checking for uic... /opt/qt4/bin/uic
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -E
checking for X... libraries , headers 
checking for gethostbyname... yes
checking for connect... yes
checking for remove... yes
checking for shmat... yes
checking for IceConnectionNumber in -lICE... yes
checking for Qt headers... configure: error: not found
any ideas? :P

EDIT: Should have stated I'm using Slacko 5.3.1.
Last edited by darkcity on Wed 02 Oct 2013, 18:08, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#2 Post by OscarTalks »

Hello darkcity,

I'm afraid I don't know what the package is that you are trying to compile. There are a couple of ideas you could try which I have had success with previously when I have encountered "headers not found" errors.

It could be that the headers are installed in a nonstandard path where it can't see them. Presumably you can use ROX or your file manager to see where they are and then add the CPPFLAGS to tell it where to look. Along the lines of:-

Code: Select all

./configure CPPFLAGS=-I/path/to/includes
(character after the dash is a capital "i")

I have sometimes had to do this in Wary because some headers are down the /usr/X11R7/include path.

The other thing that sometimes happens is that headers are in a sub-folder when they need to be out in the open or vice versa. Creating symlinks to correct the path may resolve this but I'm not sure how practical that would be in the case of Qt.
Oscar in England
Image

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#3 Post by darkcity »

Hi OscarTalks

Thanks for the reply. I've compiled qjackctl and qtractor, but they both use QT4. Qucs seems to use QT3. Interesting to know sometimes the includes/headers need sym-linking in.

8)

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#4 Post by 666philb »

hi darkcity, it just configured for me .... it also needed libqt4-qt3support and possibly libqt3-mt.dev (as well as what you have already installed)
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#5 Post by darkcity »

Hi 666philb

Thanks for the reply.

Could you tell me what QT packages you have installed, I tried many without success, but have uninstalled most for them now.

8)

User avatar
mikeb
Posts: 11297
Joined: Thu 23 Nov 2006, 13:56

#6 Post by mikeb »

It might be worth grabbing a copy of slax 6 since it will have all the dev files included for qt3 though seems odd that the header files you obtained from debian will not play but perhaps debians qt3 layout differes in some way which would not be surprising...or qt variables need setting up..or it expects package config files to be already present.

I assume you have seen the 0.0.16 build for puppy http://www.qsl.net/wn2a/qucs.html

If you are into circuit simulators I found this one to be surprisingly good
http://www.falstad.com/circuit/

mike

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#7 Post by 666philb »

i'm using precise puppy and i installed pemasus qt4.8.2.sfs and qt4.8.2.dev http://smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-upup/ then libqt4-qt3support from the PPM. when installing libqt4-qt3support, i unchecked all the other libqt4 stuff as it's in the .sfs.

it doesn't need any other qt3 stuff

if you look at the file... /qucs-0.0.17/debian/control it shows the dependencies for the build and also some extra recommended dependencies once it's installed
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#8 Post by darkcity »

@Mike B

The java program looks very interesting at http://www.falstad.com/circuit/
Nice find, ill dig in when I have more time 8)

I have installed Qucs 0.16 packaged by WN2A. I just wanted to try the latest version - looks like a few years between releases even though it only a 0.01 version increase.
The copy you linked to seems to be corrupted, I used Geoffrey's mirror, see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 423#727423

@666philb

Thanks for your help making progress. Using qt4.8.2 and DEV SFSs meant I could configure Qucs, and added libqt4-qt3support from a deb (can't find in slacko repos). It won't compile though -

Code: Select all

...
Gui -lQtXml -lQt3Support 
/usr/lib/gcc/i486-slackware-linux/4.5.2/../../../libQtCore.so: undefined reference to `__fdelt_chk@GLIBC_2.15'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[3]: *** [qucs] Error 1
I think this means it Qucs in compiled against Glibc 2.15, but Slacko 5.3.1 is only 2.13. It may have to wait until I upgrade Puppy.
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/glibc

User avatar
mikeb
Posts: 11297
Joined: Thu 23 Nov 2006, 13:56

#9 Post by mikeb »

I think this means it Qucs in compiled against Glibc 2.15, but Slacko 5.3.1 is only 2.13. It may have to wait until I upgrade Puppy.
seems more likely the QT4 library wants glibc 2.15...do the set you have work with other apps?

Note...such as QT etc can usually be built against older glibc....and debian tend to force a higher glibc than actually needed as part of keeping things in the fold. Not sure how they do it...I just recompile the same sources and lo and behold glibc needs drop several versions...even if built on a system with a higher version.

Mike

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#10 Post by darkcity »

I compiled qtrackor on the an older version of Qt, but they where the ones that gave me the 'qt header not found' problems with Qucs.

User avatar
mikeb
Posts: 11297
Joined: Thu 23 Nov 2006, 13:56

#11 Post by mikeb »

Hmm perhaps dig into the configure and see what its looking for in terms of headers... different sources have different ways of checking dependancies...some want those little binaries that splurge out library infoi for example.
In linux one thing that is consistant is a lack of consistancy :D

OR..compile QT4 yourself....sometimes its easier....and you have a library set you can rely on

mike

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#12 Post by 666philb »

just tried it on slacko5.6 and it worked ..

open the PPM and tick the .dev box and search for qt
then install the qt-everywhere.dev package... this will also install qt (slacko version) and another dep. (qt everywhere includes libqt4-qt3support)

you will then either have to copy /opt/include to /usr/include, or you can tell the compiler to look for the headers in /opt/ .. i don't know how to do that, so i just dragged and dropped /opt/include to /usr.

qucs should then compile.

you need to make sure all your other qt remnants are uninstalled or they might conflict.

qt in slacko says it requires a reboot, so you may need to do that to run the package after compiling and installing it.
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#13 Post by 666philb »

i can post you the .pet if you want?
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#14 Post by darkcity »

>In linux one thing that is consistant is a lack of consistancy Very Happy
the standard is no standard ; -)

>OR..compile QT4 yourself....sometimes its easier....and you have a library set you can rely on
I had I go at that, it takes quite a long time on my machine.

>then install the qt-everywhere.dev package... this will also install qt (slacko version) and another dep. (qt everywhere includes libqt4-qt3support)
maybe this is where I was going wrong, looking for libqt4-qt3support on its own.

>i can post you the .pet if you want?
I would appreciate that, as I don't have much time at mo

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#15 Post by 666philb »

here you go ... just needs qt-everywhere from the PPM https://copy.com/NzRljvVwvOov
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
darkcity
Posts: 2534
Joined: Sun 23 May 2010, 19:16
Location: near here
Contact:

#16 Post by darkcity »

Much thanks for the PET and for the help. 8)

I need to update the libssl in Slacko to version 1, but I'm sure I can figure it out.

Post Reply