Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 03:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Do you ever install both the 32bit AND 64bit...
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  

Choose your answer
All the time
11%
 11%  [ 1 ]
Yes, but I only use the 32bit version for Wine
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Yes, but installing the 64bit version was just for wasting space
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Sometimes, but usually I am running an official puppy which is only 32bit
11%
 11%  [ 1 ]
Sometimes, it depends on if there is an advantage in my case
11%
 11%  [ 1 ]
No, I have 4GB or less of RAM on my 64bit box
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
No, I just have a 32bit computer
33%
 33%  [ 3 ]
Not on the same computer
22%
 22%  [ 2 ]
Never
11%
 11%  [ 1 ]
This is some consiracy and I don't want in on it!
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 9

Author Message
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Sep 2013, 16:21    Post subject:  Do you ever install both the 32bit AND 64bit...
Subject description: ...version of the same distro on the same pc?
 

I want to see if anyone does this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 24 Sep 2013, 20:23    Post subject:  

I don't install them but I do use them, by booting them from multisession DVDs. Didn't think of that, did you? Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darrelljon


Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 548

PostPosted: Fri 27 Sep 2013, 07:45    Post subject:  

What would be the point?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Sep 2013, 08:56    Post subject:  

For me the point was to try out the new Puppy without making a commitment, maybe try some program that only came with that particular Puppy. Whether it was 64- or 32-bit didn't make any difference to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
EdD

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Location: Southside Virginia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2014, 12:34    Post subject:  

Yep. both....on the same hard drive, but at different times. The 32 bit version of Mint Petra sucked, so I dumped it and installed the 64 bit version. That gave me a better idea of how Mint performs. I dumped it and cleaned my spare drive the same day. Wink

Puppy for me. Maybe I'll try Fat Dog on this new machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4240
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2014, 13:09    Post subject:  

Happy new Year @bark_bark_bark.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think you ask this to glean reasons why community members have done this in the past.

This does NOT usually occur in Puppyland because PUPs are usually aimed at one platform or the other. When Puppy was first started by @BarryK, 64bit PCs did not exist.

PC hardware architecture started with 8bit then moved quickly to 16bit. From there it remained until 32bit architectures came along. There it remained until 64bit, now ubiquitous, arrive. All along the way, people have argued the benefit.

Today of the primary CPU architectures, including for ARMs now showing up in platforms, 64bit has become the standard in business/consumer marketplace.

My reasons for having used 32bit AND 64bit on same PC(s)
In my years, my answer is yes, as I have been with various teams where analysis has been provided to validate what vendors were saying about their products...32bit vs 64bit.

Also, over the years Tom's Hardware website has provided some of the most extensive reporting on their findings of benefit.

In assisting anyone/everyone, I have merely tried to match their needs against their hardware. PC speeds have become so blindingly fast and RAM so easy to add, that today, for me, I select based upon the application the PC will be used for, and not concern whether its 32bit/64bit. If the distro/vendor offers, I will use the one which matches the hardware it will be used on.

Hope this helps what I think you're after.
P.S. Is this question a part of a class you're enrolled?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 796
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2014, 13:51    Post subject:  

Simply quoting your question,

gcmartin wrote:
Is this question a part of a class you're enrolled?


No, the question just came to me for some reason.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 951
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2014, 15:56    Post subject:  

No, the computers I install Puppy on have always been 32 bit. Smile

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wboz

Joined: 20 Nov 2013
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jan 2014, 13:03    Post subject:  

my computers are modern enough to run 64 bit, but to be honest with something like Puppy I don't bother. the 32 bit version are likely to be better tested and I don't value the minimal speed increase. this is because i use mine only for a very small set of stuff (primarily web based work). also because, i have 4gb of ram so the primary benefit of 64 bit is not relevant.

I like Puppy a lot but I do not consider it a "full" distro in the sense that you might install Ubuntu and boot to it every time. Part of this is due to my having laptops - I don't want the stick coming out the side and maybe damaging my last remaining USB port; plus the computer came with an OS.

If I were installing a Linux distro as the primary OS - I've been toying with the idea of buying a small barebones box - then yes, I would go for the 64 bit. I'd see no advantage to installing both. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2316
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jan 2014, 15:26    Post subject:  

heard that JamesBond got 64 and 32 bit to work side by side in a sandbox type of install. 64 bit programs use its filesystem and 32bit system uses its filesystem. Not only are the installed together they even run at the same time.. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]