Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 10:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
X-precise-2.4 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 19:51    Post_subject:  

Thanks borg286 and welcome to the puppy forum.

The puppy universal installer was an error on my part and will be fixed for the next release. Thanks for that because I didn't even notice.

Pcur should have been removed. Using "mouse and touchpad" in Control panel > hardware, changes the theme without restarting X. X-precise is supposed to be fairly stripped down so maybe an extra cursor theme's .pet will do.

The package manager was supposed to be changed to "ziggy" theme, which displays properly maximized. I'll have a look at quickpet, although it seems like an app that needs constant updating.

Not showing the drives on the desktop was a personal choice. I used an already made Xfce pet and after a reboot the drives don't show unless you re-check it or mount them. I just compiled Xfce-4.10 and will be testing it over the next few days so hopefully that will be fixed.

The second post has links to a few apps and one of them is extra panel plugins.

I noticed a few days ago that menu tool-tips wasn't enabled, that will also be changed.

Thanks for the feedback, I'm hoping that v2.1 will be out this week.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
borg286

Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 21:41    Post_subject:  

It seems the default browser isn't working. Almost every app, upon opening a web page, opens it up in mozilla instead of chrome, my default browser.

Another thing that doesn't work on my laptop is disabling the touchpad in favo of the trackpoint. I realize this won't be high priority, but it'd be nice.

It also seems that dragging a webpage to the desktop (make bookmark a desktop icon) simply does nothing in mozilla, and results in an error in chrome.

Right cliking on the desktop and creating a URL there seems to crash the desktop appliction.
It seems the desktop appliction remains dead after a restart. How do you restart it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 00:16    Post_subject:  

borg286 wrote:
It seems the default browser isn't working. Almost every app, upon opening a web page, opens it up in mozilla instead of chrome, my default browser.

Another thing that doesn't work on my laptop is disabling the touchpad in favo of the trackpoint. I realize this won't be high priority, but it'd be nice.

It also seems that dragging a webpage to the desktop (make bookmark a desktop icon) simply does nothing in mozilla, and results in an error in chrome.

Right cliking on the desktop and creating a URL there seems to crash the desktop appliction.
It seems the desktop appliction remains dead after a restart. How do you restart it?


Try Control Panel > Desktop > Preferred Applications and changing Web Browser to opera.

At the moment I don't have a laptop that will run X-precise, let alone one with a trackpoint to test this issue on.

I get a thunar error when dragging a webpage to the desktop. This seems to be an Xfce/thunar issue. Right clicking and making a url link works for me.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
borg286

Joined: 01 Sep 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 18:06    Post_subject:  

Try booting from the 2.0 iso, right clicking on desktop, create URL, then fill in the name and URL fields then click ok. for me the desktop dies. When trying to run xdesktop in the terminal it seg faults

# xfdesktop
Segmentation fault
# pwd
/usr/bin


Also the FFConvert utility fails to save screen capture movies to any destination. Perhaps there is something in the /tmp/ffconvert logs that seems like a smoking gun to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 03 Sep 2013, 04:00    Post_subject:  

borg286 wrote:
Try booting from the 2.0 iso, right clicking on desktop, create URL, then fill in the name and URL fields then click ok. for me the desktop dies. When trying to run xdesktop in the terminal it seg faults

# xfdesktop
Segmentation fault
# pwd
/usr/bin

Also the FFConvert utility fails to save screen capture movies to any destination. Perhaps there is something in the /tmp/ffconvert logs that seems like a smoking gun to you.


I booted from the ISO in virtualbox and made a URL and it work without crashing xfdesktop.

Also made a screen capture movie with ffconvert without problems. You should check your ISO md5: 64000431e54341a1558c43be00fcfda4

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1115

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 16:14    Post_subject:  

This is really awesome. Very Happy
All I have to say is that you should rename your main puppy.sfs file so that it doesn't make conflict with an install of the original Precise (for example xprecise571.sfs). I think there's a forum thread dedicated to how to do it for a pupplet, I just can't find it.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 05 Sep 2013, 19:40    Post_subject:  

vicmz wrote:
This is really awesome. Very Happy
All I have to say is that you should rename your main puppy.sfs file so that it doesn't make conflict with an install of the original Precise (for example xprecise571.sfs). I think there's a forum thread dedicated to how to do it for a pupplet, I just can't find it.


Thanks vicmz, glad you like it.

Didn't even think about changing the puppy.sfs name but that's a good idea and it shouldn't be to hard to sort out (hopefully). Will add that to v2.1 to-do list.

I was hoping to have v2.1 out this week but am fighting a few xfce issues and I need a break for a few days.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 340
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 21:41    Post_subject:  

Hi rg66,

Running 2.0 on my core 2 duo all intel Laptop. I had already skinned the acpid cat a slightly different way installing acpid, acpitool from the precise repo and used the lid.sh and sleep.sh from my lina-lite. Works fine, suspends on lid closure ok. I've used PM-tools on alphaOS also. Works fine. Only issue I see at all is xfce-terminal setting preferences doesn't work for me. Try it and see.

All in all, a very slick tuning of precise.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 01:40    Post_subject:  

Marv wrote:
Hi rg66,

Running 2.0 on my core 2 duo all intel Laptop. I had already skinned the acpid cat a slightly different way installing acpid, acpitool from the precise repo and used the lid.sh and sleep.sh from my lina-lite. Works fine, suspends on lid closure ok. I've used PM-tools on alphaOS also. Works fine. Only issue I see at all is xfce-terminal setting preferences doesn't work for me. Try it and see.

All in all, a very slick tuning of precise.


Hey Marv,

Acpitool from the repo seems to work ok but acpid doesn't run for me, check task manager and see. I've decided to use the packages from Saluki/Carolina.

I just booted into RAM and your right, no terminal preferences. I guess I fixed it on my install and forgot about it. Thanks for the heads up, will be fixed for v2.1

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 340
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 08:05    Post_subject:  

rg66 wrote:

Acpitool from the repo seems to work ok but acpid doesn't run for me, check task manager and see. I've decided to use the packages from Saluki/Carolina.


Seems to me that the package from the repo made a symlink in /etc/init.d to acpid rather than calling the full package in /usr/xxx from a script. That link failed, possibly because it invoked the busybox acpid. I substituted the usual script in init.d and it started.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pchan

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 09:53    Post_subject:  

rg66, Thanks a lot,

I feel really better with the "menu entry maker."

I also like xfce because xfce allows windows tiling.

I like precise 5.7.1 but i wonder how easy it is to get softwares. My experience is that the pakage manager takes hours to update compared to saluki or carolina. And whenever i find a software in pakage manager and go on to check its dependencies, the download (usually from ubuntu) becomes quite big. Even for something as simple as smplayer.

Of course, initially i was happy to see how we are going to have a puppy that will be compatible with latest ubuntu.

It is nice that you have collected softwares compatible for xprecise and put them together.

For those not so experienced like me , we can sometimes download from ubuntu what is suggested by pakage manager and break our puppies.

But still i can't resist your xprecise because it has the combination of nice stable xfce and the ubuntu "want to be" puppy.

Wonder if you could be kind enough to help me install compiz in xprecise. I don't trust installing it from pakage manager.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 512
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 09:56    Post_subject:  

X-precise v2.1 has been released.

Not too many changes so it will be a delta only at 20mb.

See the first post for the change log and download link.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KJ

Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 176
Location: Above sea level .. about 320m

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 10:55    Post_subject: 2.1 Delta Md5  

What am I doing wrong? I have D/Led the 2.1 delta twice and Gtkhash shows the MD5 as a8e69f7d0d34c8565ac775289f64fbc9 not c406bbdce626a5da8d2025cb268d5642 as X-precise-2.1.iso-md5.txt indicates. MD5 for main X-precise-2.0.iso checks good. Thanks... KJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 340
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 12:21    Post_subject: acpid  

Downloaded delta and updated iso. Didn't check md5sum.

Running fine, terminal preferences now work. Acpid in 2.1 needed the following changes to get suspend on lid closure for me. In /root/Startup/9acpid, change line 4 from acpid to /usr/sbin/acpid. This will start the full acpid, not the busybox via the symlink in /sbin. In /etc/acpi/lid.sh, replace * with LID in line 8.

Just a first look. Accepted my save file (with acpid,acpitool etc removed) from 2.0 just fine. Panel settings, network, thunar and desktop settings preserved. So far so good.

Edit: MD5 on the 2.1 iso created using the delta is: c406bbdce626a5da8d2025cb268d5642

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1727
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 14:44    Post_subject:  

pchan wrote:
Wonder if you could be kind enough to help me install compiz in xprecise. I don't trust installing it from pakage manager.


that goes for me as well .....

compiz does install and work from the PPM, but has the dreaded no window borders!... it seems the gtk-window-decorator crashes. it's a shame emerald can't be used with the version from the PPM.

lucid's version will work on precise, but that introduces other problems... one is that it's slow and old, and two, it'll mess up some libs in precise.

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 24 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 22, 23, 24 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0930s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]