Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 01:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 7 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 29 Aug 2013, 22:24    Post_subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I used the F2FS Installer - Flash Drives to do a frugal install to a
64gb flash drive, computer is a lenovo ThinkCentre.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 29 Aug 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.4.52 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
oem: Intel(r)Eaglelake Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)Eaglelake Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G41 x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Core 0: @2003 1: @2003 MHz
Linksys WUSB54GC 802.11g Adapter [ralink rt73]

No problems
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.41 KB
 Viewed   1509 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 02:31    Post_subject:  

More MPlayer fun........ in Slacko 5.6 will not play anything ,and I mean anything, on my main Athlon XP box.
However, on an install on an old P4 box MPlayer plays everything.... just tested a few flv,mp4 and mkv samples.
No such problems with the 5.5 install on the Athlon XP. Guess I'll try a different build of MPlayer.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 02:54    Post_subject:  

Took /usr/bin/mplayer out of 5.5, where it works fine, and inserted it into 5.6..... no improvement. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 04:33    Post_subject:  

I found that gnome-mplayer's language settings (audio and subtitles) may be broken in this compilation. Disabling subtitles makes working gnome-mplayer. In Edit-Preferences-Mplayer insert as Extra Options to MPlayer:

Code:
dvd://<titleno>


In Edit-Preferences-Subtitles untick the box "Show subtitles by default", too.

EDIT: as Extra Options to MPlayer also works:

Code:
dvd://1 -alang it -slang it


(Change it with your locale...)

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1101

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 06:16    Post_subject: filemnt + losetup  

Hi Mick

When mounting encrypted savefile file via mouse-click (filemnt) and a password typed in is incorrect, /dev/loopX remains associated with it and one can not unmount a partition, on which this savefile is.

What works for me is:
Code:
  else
   losetup-FULL -d $DEVLOOP      # SFR: disassociate
   rmdir "$MntPt" #121203
  fi

in /usr/sbin/filemnt, ~ line 189.

And although I haven't encountered any problems with it (so far), I'm a bit uncertain - perhaps you recall that the use of 'losetup -d' was once a culprit in sfs_load, with kernels >= 3.2.
Hmm, I don't know...just reporting...maybe it's rare enough to leave it as is..?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Fri 30 Aug 2013, 07:54    Post_subject:  

For those guys who are reporting problems playing Dvds I think they should read this madness:

http://linvdr.org/projects/regionset/

Is this the problem in some cases?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 02:42    Post_subject:  

Finally got got around to installing the Nvidia driver on this box. Ran the video upograde wizard which offered and installed the "old" 173.14.37 driver. Installed and working ok. But, in Mageia I'm using Nvidia 295.71 , Lucid is using 260.19.12, Mepis and Mint are both running 304.88.
I know this chip uses the newest Nvidia drivers but the newbies possibly wouldn't. Smile

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.6

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nvidia

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse ramdac record wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1440x900 pixels (402x251 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
9888 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1977.463 FPS
10277 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2055.300 FPS
10329 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2065.706 FPS
10335 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2066.983 FPS
10375 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2074.925 FPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 06:37    Post_subject:  

Thanks James, found that bug. Noted for future reference.

-


I compiled mplayer from today. I think I know what was wrong with the old one now. I enabled "--enable-runtimecpudetect" and that seems to let run on my fast box and a slow box. At one point that was automatic, but I think that was a bug so they reverted it, don't quote me on that though!

grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet

As for gnome-mplayer, yeah I know mine is 1.0.8b but in the changelog from that to stable was only 1 relevant detail to do with music playlists, wasn't worth my effort. I have been in contact with Kevin DeCorte since the Lucid days so I know it well.
As for later versions, well they don't build as they need automake-1.13 and we are at 1.11. I am not updating that as it will likely affect too much. If I find the energy to build against Slackware-14.1 (coming soon) then that will be taken care of. With this new mplayer compile and Xine as a choice, most people should be able to run dvds. watchdog's find could be a cause as well,

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 07:23    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet

I tested this on my old Athlon box with Slacko-5.6-PAE. Now Peasy DVD Player works correctly. Previously, it only worked with 5.6-NON-PAE.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 18:58    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:

grab it << http://01micko.com/packages/MPlayer-2013-08-30-i486.pet


Working well on the Athlon XP box. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 03:53    Post_subject:  

Copying a frugal install from an ext4 partition to a netbook's ntfs partition it keeps "Updating the layered filesystem... The next boot will be faster" at every reboot and at shutdown there are inode errors of my ext2 lightencrypted slackosave. Removing fsckme.flg does not solve the problem and it is recreated every time.

EDIT: copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot. But as I use the copied slackosave it gets inode errors at shutdown.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5386
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 15:05    Post_subject:  

watchdog

One thing that can cause problems with putting Puppy on an NTFS formatted partition.
Was the partition De-fraged before doing the install?
Also, a save file made on one computer, may have problems on another computer, because the save file contains settings specific to the computer it was made on.
Quote:
copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot

All SFS files need to be placed in mnt/home to load properly. That should be directory of the frugal install.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 01 Sep 2013, 22:31    Post_subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I copied my backup savefile to another Slacko non-pae install that's
on a 32GB SDHC card then plugged it into my hp desktop.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 1 Sep 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6 Linux 3.4.52 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller (rev 09)
oem: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product:Intel(R)Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Controller Hardware Version0.0
X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 MHz

I'm also running Lighthouse 602b2 from another SDHC card on this pc
and I can use zarfy to setup to use 2 monitors, I think this comes
from the slackware 64bit repository but it's not available in ppm.
I'll have to see if I can track down the source code for zarfy and try
to compile it.
Anyway, Slacko is working fine otherwise on this pc, right now I have
the same screen on both monitors.

@01micko,are you able to find/compile zarfy for Slacko56-non-pae?

EDIT:I found the zarfy source code but failed miserably compiling it, could you compile it if you have time?

EDIT:I found the SlackBuild for zarfy and used that, I'll attach it to this message in case you want to use it and make a pet of zarfy.

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

EDIT: screenshot2 shows my desktop using zarfy, tas is broken now but pupsnap works fine.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.62 KB
 Viewed   1057 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.22 KB
 Viewed   1148 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

zarfy.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  zarfy.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.29 KB 
Downloaded  220 Time(s) 
zarfy-0.1.0.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  zarfy-0.1.0.tar.bz2 
Filesize  119.72 KB 
Downloaded  213 Time(s) 
Slacko56screenX2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.17 KB
 Viewed   1131 Time(s)

Slacko56screenX2.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1518
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 02:45    Post_subject:  

Hi Billtoo

There is a pet from 2009 of zarfy-0.1.0 (same version?) from Jemimah here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47603

I am interested to know if it works as I was having problems connecting an external monitor to a laptop running Slacko5.6 at work yesterday.

The problem was that the external monitor showed the bootup sequence OK to the point where different drivers seem to switch in when the monitor goes black and then a "no signal" message appears.

The annoying part is that the laptop also has XP on its disk and this works fine with the external monitor.

I've tried grandr and lxrandr and neither kick the monitor into life.

The laptop has radeon graphics - I'm not at work today but will add further details tomorrow if needed.

I only want the monitor to mirror the laptop display (to display an "advertising slideshow" in LibreOffice Impress).

Any pointers as to what I might need to do to get the external monitor working with Slacko please?

Thanks
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 639

PostPosted: Mon 02 Sep 2013, 05:13    Post_subject:  

watchdog wrote:
Copying a frugal install from an ext4 partition to a netbook's ntfs partition it keeps "Updating the layered filesystem... The next boot will be faster" at every reboot and at shutdown there are inode errors of my ext2 lightencrypted slackosave. Removing fsckme.flg does not solve the problem and it is recreated every time.

EDIT: copying the used SFS from root dir in the same dir of the frugal install on the netbook solves the strange behaviour of "Updating the layered filesystem..." at every reboot. But as I use the copied slackosave it gets inode errors at shutdown.


Thanks bigpup. I have solved the problem of inode errors by copying the /lib/libntfs-3g.so.79.0.0 from wary and using it in slacko. Thanks to rcrsn51 who first wrote about this trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1082s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]