Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 15:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 36 [537 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 13:07    Post subject:  

taking screencaps in VLC doesnt seem to be working anymore for me. It tries to write the file but it's unreadable by any image viewer/editor.
Anyone else have this problem?

It worked in 601 just fine.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 13:51    Post subject:  

If it displays Mariner 31702 Linux 3.8.7 at the top of the gkrellm column does that mean I am necessarily running the Marine gersion of LH64-602b or does that appear even in the non-Mariner version?

I seem to recall that it says Mariner somewhere else even in the non-Mariner version.

Just wondering as I am about to set up a really tiny USB stick as I never solved the Frugal install problem and this USB stick is almost invisible.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:06    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
If it displays Mariner 31702 Linux 3.8.7 at the top of the gkrellm column does that mean I am necessarily running the Marine gersion of LH64-602b or does that appear even in the non-Mariner version?

I seem to recall that it says Mariner somewhere else even in the non-Mariner version.

Just wondering as I am about to set up a really tiny USB stick as I never solved the Frugal install problem and this USB stick is almost invisible.



I believe all of the LHP hostnames are Mariner.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:10    Post subject: Re: GKrellKam  

James C wrote:
edoc wrote:

This tells me if my Web site is up or not:

5. http://nevils-station.com/images/nevilsrailroad1-sm1.jpg


Last url was messed up.


#5?

Maybe my host had a momentary outage?

Or is it still failing?

Could be my ancient HTML.

BTW: Everything on my sites look like ancient HTML ... because it is. Our 18yr old son has just started college for IT & has been promising for most of a year to practice his new css and html 5 skills on it - so far nothing - so I'll probably have to drag myself into the 21st century and rebuilt it all. Sigh.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:16    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:

I believe all of the LHP hostnames are Mariner.


I had some problems getting LH64-602b to load on this eccentric HP Pavilion g7 laptop so I don't recall which I ended up loading from the USB stick - I think I have a partial failed Frugal install on the HDD but actually have to boot from the stick).

Is there something in one of the sysinfo reports that tells if one has the plain vanilla or mariner version?

Is there a way to cause gkrellm to display that output?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:36    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Q5sys wrote:

I believe all of the LHP hostnames are Mariner.


I had some problems getting LH64-602b to load on this eccentric HP Pavilion g7 laptop so I don't recall which I ended up loading from the USB stick - I think I have a partial failed Frugal install on the HDD but actually have to boot from the stick).

Is there something in one of the sysinfo reports that tells if one has the plain vanilla or mariner version?

Is there a way to cause gkrellm to display that output?


The only difference in the Mariner and Regular ISO, is just extra SFS files on the ISO. The Core LHP602.sfs file is exactly the same.

As for GkrellM, you can turn off the hostname display if you want. Open the Config Menu by the F1 key.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:45    Post subject: Re: GKrellKam  

edoc wrote:
James C wrote:
edoc wrote:

This tells me if my Web site is up or not:

5. http://nevils-station.com/images/nevilsrailroad1-sm1.jpg


Last url was messed up.


#5?


There was an extra space in the url which caused the entire post to not show up. I merely removed the extra space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:56    Post subject: Re: GKrellKam  

James C wrote:
edoc wrote:
James C wrote:
edoc wrote:

This tells me if my Web site is up or not:

5. http://nevils-station.com/images/nevilsrailroad1-sm1.jpg


Last url was messed up.


#5?


There was an extra space in the url which caused the entire post to not show up. I merely removed the extra space.


"Did I do that?" Wink Rolling Eyes

Thanks for fixing it!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 14:57    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:

The only difference in the Mariner and Regular ISO, is just extra SFS files on the ISO. The Core LHP602.sfs file is exactly the same.

As for GkrellM, you can turn off the hostname display if you want. Open the Config Menu by the F1 key.


OK, cool.

I don't want to turn it off - but it would be cool to figure out how to edit it for source, etc. - like the windows which have proved really handy.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 15:18    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Q5sys wrote:

The only difference in the Mariner and Regular ISO, is just extra SFS files on the ISO. The Core LHP602.sfs file is exactly the same.

As for GkrellM, you can turn off the hostname display if you want. Open the Config Menu by the F1 key.


OK, cool.

I don't want to turn it off - but it would be cool to figure out how to edit it for source, etc. - like the windows which have proved really handy.

Thanks!


Just change your hostname and it'll say anything you want. Razz

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4121
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 15:52    Post subject:  

@eDoc, here another location where you can set/change systemwide hostname. You'll recognize it as soon as you see it: Menu>Setup>Setup LIghthouse>Personalized Settings

Your router and other LAN PCs (esp. Windows/Macs) ID your LIghthouse PC(s), usually, by its hostname. You are NOT required to keep the initially setup hostname. In fact, as a good practice, you may want to choose a name that makes it easy to ID the particular PC you are using. For example "Moms", "Dads", "LivingRoom", "TV", "Radio", "Streaming", just to give some examples of the kinds of names used. Your LIghthouse system takes the responsibility to register itself in the LAN so other can register and find it.

Hope this helps in understanding

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 17:16    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
@eDoc, here another location where you can set/change systemwide hostname. You'll recognize it as soon as you see it: Menu>Setup>Setup LIghthouse>Personalized Settings


You can also do it at the command line by typing:

Code:
hostname TYPE-NAME-HERE

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 22:11    Post subject:  

Thanks ... but in both cases such a change would only create a passive naming ... I was hoping for something more active.

The "Mariner31702" line is presumably read from a text file somewhere.

The "Linux 3.8.7" doesn't show up in the Menu-Setup-LighthouseSetup pop-up but presumably is read from a text file somewhere.

If "Mariner31702" is assigned to both the base and expanded-SFS version of LH64 it doesn't answer the ID question well.

Does "Linux 3.8.7" come from a "sysinfo" text file - as a true and current assessment - or from a static text file somewhere that may or may not be current?

I guess what I'm getting at is if one might specify an actively-updated source from which those two lines on top of the gkrellm vertically stacked windows draw their input?

It's a small thing - hardly worth much time or effort on anyone's part.

BTW: Why does gkrellm default to the bottom left when it's always in the way there? I moved it to the right - relocated the Lock & Trash icons to the upper left - then added more link windows to gkrellm (and enlarged them).

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 06:30    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Thanks ... but in both cases such a change would only create a passive naming ... I was hoping for something more active.

The "Mariner31702" line is presumably read from a text file somewhere.

The "Linux 3.8.7" doesn't show up in the Menu-Setup-LighthouseSetup pop-up but presumably is read from a text file somewhere.

If "Mariner31702" is assigned to both the base and expanded-SFS version of LH64 it doesn't answer the ID question well.

Does "Linux 3.8.7" come from a "sysinfo" text file - as a true and current assessment - or from a static text file somewhere that may or may not be current?

I guess what I'm getting at is if one might specify an actively-updated source from which those two lines on top of the gkrellm vertically stacked windows draw their input?

It's a small thing - hardly worth much time or effort on anyone's part.

BTW: Why does gkrellm default to the bottom left when it's always in the way there? I moved it to the right - relocated the Lock & Trash icons to the upper left - then added more link windows to gkrellm (and enlarged them).


I've never looked at the source of GkrellM, but I don't think its reading from a text file. I believe its just resolving that from the system the same way that sysinfo does, by using the built in linux tools. Ie. Like running 'cat /proc/version' from the command line for the kernel info. That's what the Linux 3.8.7 line is, it's the kernel version. Which is not something that gets updated except for major version changes. (LHP515 vs LHP601) The hostname is 'read/resolved' when GkrellM starts, and not again after. Its not something the program is checking for changes, manly because one usually does not go around changing their hostname regularly.

As for changing the hostname permanently, just google for changing the hostname permanently on slackware 14. If there's a special way I don't remember it off the top of my head.

You can turn both of those lines in grkellm off. You can also have it remember its position at shutdown. You need to take some time looking around in the configuration menu. Positioning and behavior is all in there.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 17:27    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
taking screencaps in VLC doesnt seem to be working anymore for me. It tries to write the file but it's unreadable by any image viewer/editor.
Anyone else have this problem?

It worked in 601 just fine.


It works in version 2.0.8, I compiled that today but I didn't make pets etc.
vlcsnap.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.96 KB
 Viewed   234 Time(s)

vlcsnap.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 36 [537 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1117s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]