Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 06:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 36 [537 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 14:45    Post subject:  

I have a query relating to usage of Lighthouse Puppy. I am actually using the 32-bit version but I suspect the same thing would apply to the 64 bit version and this seems to be the thread that is read!

When I boot Lighthouse on my machine with an ethernet cable attached to an always on modem router it automatically connects to the Internet. I can, of course, disconnect by right clicking the network icon in the tray and selecting disconnect.

Is there a way of starting up in the disconnect state, preferably without connecting first and then automatically disconnecting? Ideally, I would like the network icon to be there so that I can right click and connect when I DO want to go on the internet.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 15:17    Post subject:  

1. Booted my multi-session DVD+RW of "Lighthouse64-6.02_Mariner".
Used menu item 4 for multi-session support.

2. Was surprised to find when it got to the desktop, that I was being asked to make config choices for language, region, screen area etc.
That reminded me that I hadn't seen it being reported during the boot, that save folders had been found, and were being used.
i.e. No save folders being used.
So...

3. Made the necessary configurations, and went to shutdown/reboot.
During shutdown, told it to save to CD, and that seemed to be happening, BUT...

4. At next boot [after choosing menu item 4 again], no save folders were found, and yet again I was presented with the old desktop, with configurations asked for.
So...

5. Made all the config choices, shutdown/reboot, save to CD...
And during boot, this time chose the menu item for 1st run.
Went through all of the necessary yet again, saved to CD at shutdown/reboot.
During boot, chose item 4 on the menu...
Still not seeking/finding save folders, still asking for config choices! Sad

6. Seems it's NOT SAVING when told to!

By-the-way...
Perhaps the reason it wouldn't boot previously was caused by faulty hardware.
About that time [just after], this 2012 desktop began to fail to complete the POST!
Then after leaving it to rest for a time, it began functioning normally once more, and hasn't given any trouble since.
Ghosts in the hardware? Confused
It began with the failure to boot Lighthouse64 [1st symptom?], and the following improper power-off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4134
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 19 Aug 2013, 22:56    Post subject: Save session in LH602  

HI @Sylvander.

Could you mount and take a look at your DVD? Is there any files that have a current date on the DVD (look for dates since you created your DVD)?

If not, sounds like, just maybe, the system is not writing to your DVD. If you do NOT see any currently dated files, next time you reboot;
1. Indicate to "Save" the session
2. and look at your DVD drive. The drive should flash continuously before eject/reboot.

If you do, indeed, have newly dated files, on the next reboot, do nothing and allow the system to boot without any operation by you. Watch your on-screen messages prior to the on-screen pause for SFS options. You should/may see the system finding and loading your save-session files.

There are several other members who run DVD based Lighthouse64. Is/has anyone else having similar problems as is reported by Sylvander? Clues anyone.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 02:28    Post subject:  

@gcmartin
1. There are NO SAVE FOLDERS on the DVD.
No dates on folders or any with names suggesting they are save folders.

2. I failed to, and aught to have mentioned that at shutdown/reboot...
I think after I told it to SAVE...
It was reported that something [/tmp/dvdmntpt] was read only.
The drive opened and closed in an attempt to write to the thing I guess, and then reported it was read-only.
Oh, silly me! Embarassed
The disk I've been booting is a CD-RW, which has probably been automatically closed when the disk was burned.
That explains the problem methinks!

3. I notice I have an ordinary verion of Lighthouse [not Mariner] burned to a DVD+RW.
I'll boot that and see what I get, and report back ASAP.
a. 1st boot was OK; made config changes and rebooted, with OK save.
b. 2nd boot was OK; made some further changes and rebooted, with yet another OK save.
c. 3rd boot was NOT OK; it was reading the 2nd save folder without end.
Eventually I gave up waiting, rebooted into Slacko-5.5.91-ataflash, and took a look at the contents of the DVD+RW.
The 2 save folders looked OK.
d. Might there be conflict because I did the following?
Downloaded and installed PET-file updates for programs that are loaded from SFS files.
I don't understand how that works.

4. I'll make a new burn of "Lighthouse64-6.02-B2_Mariner.iso" to the same DVD+RW, and NOT do those installs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4134
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 18:03    Post subject:  

@Sylvander
CD-RW; that's it!

JamesBond has stated. somewhat emphatically, that the "new" save-session utility will ONLY write to multi-session DVDs and NOT CDs.

I think I may have tested and found this to have been correct when FATDOG V6 was introduced. And, as such, LH64 uses similar technology as FATDOG in its design.

You may want to make a multi-session DVD of the LH64 ISO you intend to be your mainstay. After which, you should have smooth sailing.

Thinking is, this should solve the problem you have, as, it is a disc media issue by design.

@Others in this thread
I, too, have had a recent problem when I tried to save a 3rd save-session to my running Mariner DVD. Symptoms are a little different but it happens that my system refused to write a 3rd save to the disc media without any error message. Hummm???

Ideas, anyone.
Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Tue 20 Aug 2013, 18:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4134
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 18:21    Post subject:  

New issue has arisen on my trusty X2 box. A HDD issue has come up and is shown below.

Below, as you look over the pics enclosed, on my system drive,
  1. the 1st physical partition is now labeled sda (this is OK and understood)
  2. And, after mount and opening GParted, I see a flag on the 1st partition.
  3. Looking at the information of the flag, I am supposed to have a correction option.
  4. Going back to GParted's Menu options, I see tht the correction option does NOT exist for the partition.
  5. Lastly, when I open LH64's Drive mounter, notice that the mounted partition, sda3, does NOT show up.
Question
What data can be provided to assist understanding and identifying why this has occurred?
My concerns are why the error may exist, why GParted doesn't have the "Check" option available for the partition and why the Drive Utility cannot "see" the partition.

DATA does seem to be intact, at this point.
Thanks for any assistance anyone can offer.
Disk problem surfaced on a Pristine boot system2.png
 Description   This pic is read Upper-right to Lower-left, line by line.
 Filesize   150.4 KB
 Viewed   373 Time(s)

Disk problem surfaced on a Pristine boot system2.png

Option to repair is missing.png
 Description   The "Check" option to correct the problem no the FAT partition is grayed-out.
 Filesize   75.45 KB
 Viewed   366 Time(s)

Option to repair is missing.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 21:48    Post subject: GKrellKam  


_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 21:52    Post subject: GKrellKam  

Not sure what's wrong with the Forum - it won't let me post the text I want to post ... just trying this in Edit mode ...
_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5685
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 22:01    Post subject: Re: GKrellKam  

edoc wrote:
I did finally figure out what I can and cannot populate the windows with in GKrellKam.

I wish it could handle streaming sources, perhaps one day (or a script could snapshot a streaming source then populate via the snapshot file), but in the meanwhile I did this:

Weather - I can click to see full size & check on the time it was generated:

1. http://www.ssd.noaa.gov/goes/east/tatl/rb-animated.gif

A reminder that I need to get some updated info there when it has been posted - this one will change frequently:

2. http://www.stonemountainhamfest.com/images/hamfest2013.jpg

Weather - I can click to see full size & check on the time it was generated:

3. http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gtwo/refresh/two_atl+gif/1314801245.gif

Weather - I can click to see full size & check on the time it was generated:

4. http://radar.weather.gov/ridge/Conus/RadarImg/southeast.gif

This tells me if my Web site is up or not:

5. http://nevils-station.com/images/nevilsrailroad1-sm1.jpg


Way cool tool!

Now if only I could find a module for the native graphics versus generic VESA - I get some odd pop-up misalignment now and then.


Last url was messed up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 04:08    Post subject:  

1. Made 2 identical copies, burned to DVD+RW using Burniso2cd, of:
"Lighthouse64-6.02-B2_Mariner".

2. Boot the 1st DVD; clean boot - 1st multi-session.

3. Loading .../l64-602.sfs, 472MB reqd - 3612MB available.

4. Loading all SFS files = 12.

5. Config's chosen + "options->pinboard->medium".

6. Shutdown/save/reboot.

7. At boot->chose item-4 = multisession support.

8. Folder loading = 2013-08-20-14-57.

9. SFS files loaded = 12.

10. "Skip prompt" set for SFS list.

11. At desktop...
Swap in backup=2nd copy of base DVD. Then shutdown/save/reboot->"Upgrade DVD-R" chosen. [Why am I offered this?]

12. At bootup...
Chose item-4 = multi-session, of backup DVD.
2 folders loaded = 15-05 & 14-52.
Pupmode = 77, SFS's loaded = 12.

13. Backup desktop looks OK.

14. Swap in Primary-DVD=DVD-1.

15. Shutdown/save/reboot.

16. At bootup...
Chose item-4=multisession.
2 save files = 15-14 & 14-57.

17. Moved a couple of desktop icons.
Shutdown/save/reboot of DVD-1.

18. Offered choices....
Chose "Upgrade DVD-R", but the software won't accept this, keeps looping back to offer the choices, so I chose "Blank DVD-R" instead.
This was accepted.
"Copying some files off /dev/sr0."

19. At boot, chose item-4.
2 save files being copied = 15-14 & 14-57.
Pupmode=77, SFS files loaded = 12.

20. Icons = "Setup" & "Trash" are out of place.
No icon available to lock desktop/pinboard.

Is the above a good result or not?
At least it seems to be functioning.
I'll continue using one disk as the primary, with the other one step behind as a backup.
Then when one disk fails in some way [won't boot?], I'll use the other disk, and remake the faulty disk as a copy of the working version, but keep it 1 step behind when I make changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4134
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 17:29    Post subject: Trying to save add'l sessions to a multi-session DVD, fail  

@Sylvander
Your 2nd DVD experience you show is similar to what happened to my primary LH602 system's DVD. I do NOT know why this message or the problem exist at 3rd shutdown. When I scan the DVD, there is more than ample space for many additional save-sessions. That message we get at shutdown when attempting to save our session may be a clue for development.

I cannot get the rebooting LH602 system to save any additional sessions on that primary DVD no matter what I do.

Assistance needed
Anyone have ideas what is happening?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 23 Aug 2013, 22:36    Post subject: multi-session DVD, Devx conflict in 602  

Sylvander & Gcmartin,

I spent several hours with a multisession DVD (aka pupmode 77) today, and found a problem with saves back to the DVD, but only after installing the Devx SFS. Any chance you've done likewise?

If so, it is because the Devx has /usr/bin/xorriso, which the save-to-DVD scripts aren't compatible with in 602.

Workaround is to type this in a terminal:
Code:
rm /usr/bin/xorriso
That done, I was able to make 11 dated save folders on the same DVD during 8-10 test reboots.

I also found a bug with Startmount, which used 'exec' before it's call in /etc/rc.d/rc.local. That means that anything after that line is bypassed! Since I'd installed VirtualBox after enabling Startmount on a partition, the VB drivers failed to load. That will also be fixed in the next release.

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3401
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 24 Aug 2013, 01:34    Post subject: Re: multi-session DVD, Devx conflict in 602  

@tazoc
Bear in mind that I'm no Puppy expert.

1.
tazoc wrote:
...found a problem with saves back to the DVD, but only after installing the Devx SFS. Any chance you've done likewise?

a. Right now, my DVD's seem to be working OK, probably because I haven't yet installed any of the updates available.
Should I do so, and see if the problem is created?
b. None of the 12 SFS files [on the DVD, and being loaded at startup] have in their name anything like "Devx".
c. There are no packages listed as installed at this point.

2.
tazoc wrote:
...If so, it is because the Devx has /usr/bin/xorriso, which the save-to-DVD scripts aren't compatible with in 602.

a. There is no "xorriso" file within the /usr/bin folder.
b. If I type "xorris" in a terminal and hit the "Tab" key, the name "xorriso" isn't completed.
Hence, no program of that name is installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HBlaine

Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 24 Aug 2013, 12:36    Post subject:  

Hi guys,

I've experimented with LH64 602 Beta 2 on a Dell XPX 1530, a Thinkpad 400, and just did a frugal install on a Thinkpad T410s. Everything is working great. The frugal install is running perfectly, except for one issue, which I had on all three systems.

The touchpad will allow you to move the cursor, and will even do scrolling, but it will not accept taps. When I go into the control panel, it shows that it is set up to accept a single finger tap as a left mouse button click. However, it will not do so. Also, on the T410s, movement of the cursor is sluggish when using the touchpad. (There are no problems using the trackpoint device.) Everything else in the system worked perfectly out of the box, both in a live boot from CD, and once installed on the hard drive.

I'm not on the T410s right now, or I would attach some screen shots showing the configuration, etc. LH runs beautifully on that system.

Thanks for the excellent work guys! It's a very cool distro!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4134
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 25 Aug 2013, 06:01    Post subject: Re: multi-session DVD, Devx conflict in 602  

tazoc wrote:
Sylvander & Gcmartin,

...problem with saves back to the DVD, but only after installing the Devx SFS. Any chan ce you've done likewise? ...
Yes, I do have DEVX.SFS loading from the DVD. The DVD's ISO was created via ISOmaster where the SFS and a PET folder I created was added to the DVD that is used by the system. Had not noticed the problem as I do NOT usually reboot the systems after an initial setup and reboot. (Its so rare that these LIveDVD systems come down for me.)

Check the system for file to remove and could NOT find it.

I will, though, make a new disc with the original download and setup it up to see if I can get more than 2 save-session files before hitting the problem again.

Expect to do the testing on Monday

Thx.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 36 [537 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1195s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]