Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 12:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 01:52    Post subject:  

I have just noticed something weird!

Each time i load or unload an SFS, all the programs i have removed from "remove builtin packages", appear again in the menu and they work like they were never removed!

Another (minor) issue is that, after installing openbox_extras, the "fun" menu doesn't exists in the panel menu.

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcav

Joined: 25 May 2012
Posts: 20
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 09:50    Post subject: F2FS on Slacko...  

Hi Micko...
the F2FS looks promising... I managed to get a USB sitck working
on it, and it is FAST... damn fast...

I am having issues whith X starting up apart from VESA.
I need to boot with PFIX=NOX and then manual setup VESA.

Did you modify the init scripts?

gc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 20 Aug 2013, 20:53    Post subject:  

I just tested the awakening of SLACKO 5.6 PAE on my little Netbook EeePC (ATOM powered). It sleeps, awakens, and renews IPs over the ethernet cable as well as via wireless AND, MOST importantly, it IS able to navigate, and touch other PCs.

This is not the case for my HP laptop for some reason. Although, I am NOT using ethernet wire and wireless at the same time as is the case in Netboot testing.

Ideas..anyone.
Screenshot.png
 Description   Netbook
 Filesize   80.23 KB
 Viewed   1134 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2098
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 11:15    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

I used the F2FS Installer - Flash Drives to install 5.6.0 pae to a 32gb
flash drive (frugal install)
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.6.0
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Device 6611
Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1920x1080
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): ati
Loaded modules: dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb glx int10 kbd mouse record shadow
vbe vesa
Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes
I installed some applications with ppm,and some pets including icewm.

It's working well.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   62.18 KB
 Viewed   1067 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 11:58    Post subject:  

hey micko

I had a problem with playing DVDs with gnome-player

tried a different machine running 5.5 & 55.70 no luck, that machine has retroprecise 5.7 so tried that (version 1.03) which plays ok

HTH

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5142
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 12:33    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
hey micko

I had a problem with playing DVDs with gnome-player

tried a different machine running 5.5 & 55.70 no luck, that machine has retroprecise 5.7 so tried that (version 1.03) which plays ok

HTH

Smile

Please give details of what the problem was.
In Gnome-player, could just be settings wrong for your hardware.
Graphics driver being used can also make problems.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 12:58    Post subject:  

hey pup

the problem is playing DVDs - they don't

I have tried a 3 different machines so not isolated to my main machine (lenovo T500)

I pulled out an old IBM T21, booted slacko 5.5, DVD does not play (select play DVDs with menu - window refreshes and back to 'idle')

booted slacko 5.5.70 same result

booted precise 5.7 retro (same T21) and DVD played straight off so not hardware related

precise uses version 1.03 of gnome-player where slacko is using 1.08b

I'm batch uploading on the T500 so unable to try different puppy's at present but suspect it's a 'gnome thing

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5142
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 18:29    Post subject:  

ally,

This could be your Gnome-player problem.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88098
Also try this:
Open gnome-mplayer, then choose Edit -> Preferences, click the drop-down Video Output menu, and try x11 or XV for setting.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 18:56    Post subject:  

thanks pup

I tried x11 and xv (tried the other options too) no luck

I will try older slacko and the new precise when my uploads finish and will report back

Smile

edit: just had a quick player before I retire for the day

Code:
mplayer dvd /mnt/sr0


report libavformat version 55.12.100 (external), mismatching header version 55.12.100, exciting - end of file

Code:
mplayer dvd /dev/dvd


plays the advertising intro only, it ends with DRI failure

this machine is still uploading so cannot test further until tomorrow

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2098
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 21 Aug 2013, 21:29    Post subject: Slacko 5.6 - feedback, bug reports  

Continued from earlier post:

I couldn't get DVD movies to play well, gnome mplayer, and the
xine in the repository would bring up the menu but the movies didn't
play properly, blurry,xine couldn't play an encrypted DVD either.
I installed an older version of ffmpeg (1.1) and a
xine-lib-1.2.2-i686.pet,xine-ui-0.99.7-i686.pet.
Vlc didn't work with the new ffmpeg, the newest vlc wouldn't compile
in 5.6.0 but I was able to compile it in 5.5 pae the the pet that I
made works in 5.6.0...guvcview wouldn't work with ffmpeg 2.0 but after
installing the older ffmpeg and some other pets that I made last
december,guvcview is working now.
Installing the older ffmpeg broke tas, pupsnap to the rescue, that's
all that it broke that I've found so far.
Also moved the flash drive to my laptop because the graphics card in
the other pc isn't supported in linux yet.

video-info-glx 1.5.1 Wed 21 Aug 2013 on Slacko Puppy 5.6.0 Linux 3.10.5 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: PARK 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
OpenGL version string: 4.3.12414 Compatibility Profile Context 13.15.100.1
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Core 0: @1199 1: @1199 2: @1199 3: @1199 MHz

It's working well now, so far anyway Smile

EDIT:I just tried a DVD in GnomeMplayer on my other Slacko 5.6.0
install that is using the proprietary Nvidia driver, it's working fine.
I wonder if the problem on the laptop is caused by the beta
proprietary ati driver that I'm using?
gmpscreen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.21 KB
 Viewed   734 Time(s)

gmpscreen.jpg

xine.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.7 KB
 Viewed   861 Time(s)

xine.jpg

vlcscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52 KB
 Viewed   911 Time(s)

vlcscrn.jpg

guvcview.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.85 KB
 Viewed   870 Time(s)

guvcview.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Thu 22 Aug 2013, 08:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5142
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 01:23    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.6 pae live cd save on hdd.

If I enter gnome-mplayer in a console I get this:
Code:
# gnome-mplayer
GMLIB-Message: after init: position=0.000 length=0.000 start_time=0.000 run_time=0.000 volume=0.00 player=dead media=unknown uri=

** (gnome-mplayer:12682): WARNING **: Invalid borders specified for theme pixmap:
        /usr/share/themes/ShallowThought/gtk-2.0/radio3.png,
borders don't fit within the image

Gnome-mplayer does start and it's window opens.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 565

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 04:30    Post subject:  

I failed to play dvds with gnome-mplayer, too. Instead:

Code:
mplayer /dev/sr0


works for me.

EDIT: in gnome-mplayer's preferences, tab Mplayer, choose Extra Options to Mplayer as /dev/sr0. It solves the problem fo me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 06:28    Post subject:  

Odd this dvd behaviour, I tested on several machines with little issue. There may be issues if you have the later kernel on older hardware as the mplayer is a different compile (same version). The i486 compile should show itself on a PPM search for MPlayer if mplayer isn't working for you. (This may occur on older athlons and P3's and early P4's, with the 3.10.5 kernel only).

I normally poke in a dvd, wait till the desktop icon appears and click it, that's it, works, even on my old r51 thinkpad.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 09:53    Post subject:  

Edit: Skip this request. It seems that it may be an isolated issue i observe.
Quote:
Those who have laptops with 5.6 running. Does your lappies sleep when cover closes and later you open cover to its awakening: When it awakens, does the lappie allow you to navigate the internet or your LAN?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 22 Aug 2013, 17:35    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Odd this dvd behaviour, I tested on several machines with little issue. There may be issues if you have the later kernel on older hardware as the mplayer is a different compile (same version). The i486 compile should show itself on a PPM search for MPlayer if mplayer isn't working for you. (This may occur on older athlons and P3's and early P4's, with the 3.10.5 kernel only).

I normally poke in a dvd, wait till the desktop icon appears and click it, that's it, works, even on my old r51 thinkpad.


Playing DVDs seems to be working fine on my Pentium D with Slacko 5.6 PAE version, in both sr0 (the DVD writer) and sr1 (the DVD-ROM drive). Oddly it seems when I want to quit Gnome MPlayer, either by choosing Quit from the File menu or by closing the window, it ignores the first attempt and starts playing again. The second attempt succeeds however.
DVDonPentiumD.png
 Description   Gnome MPlayer playing DVD on Pentium D.
 Filesize   230.35 KB
 Viewed   628 Time(s)

DVDonPentiumD.png


_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 12 [167 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1289s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0360s) ][ GZIP on ]