Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 17:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 29 [432 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 11:04    Post subject: Re: frugal installation problems  

don922 wrote:
Why doesn't it boot?

What GRUB error code are you getting?

Is this a 64-bit computer? Have you run previous Fatdogs on it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 381
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 12:30    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
What GRUB error code are you getting?

During the boot of Fatdog the computer crashes and locks up. I don't see any GRUB error code. How do I find it?

rcrsn51 wrote:
Is this a 64-bit computer? Have you run previous Fatdogs on it?

grep flags /proc/cpuinfo wrote:
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp *lm* 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc up nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt

The lm in the second line of this code indicates that this is a 64bit computer. I have not run any previous Fatdogs on it.
Hardinfo shows the processor to be a AMD Sempron(tm) 145 Processor which is advertised to be a 64bit processor.

_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9364
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 12:37    Post subject:  

This probably isn't a GRUB issue.

How much RAM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 381
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 21:00    Post subject:  

Hardinfo shows memory as follows: Memory 1814MB (372MB used)
_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5970
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 06 Aug 2013, 22:45    Post subject: Re: frugal installation problems  

don922 wrote:
I downloaded the Fatdog64-621.iso and the MD5sum is correct.
Using ISOMaster iso file editor I have extracted the following files from the Fatdog64-621.iso and put them in a new directory /mnt/home/puppy-fatdog-621:
    fatdog.png
    fix-usb.sh
    initrd
    vmlinuz

In a frugal installation the menulist is as follows:
    title Puppy 528.005
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /puppy528.005/vmlinuz pmedia=satahd psubdir=puppy528.005 pfix=fsck nosmp
    initrd /puppy528.005/initrd.gz

    title Puppy 529
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /puppy529/vmlinuz pmedia=satahd psubdir=puppy529 pfix=fsck nosmp
    initrd /puppy529/initrd.gz

    title Fatdog 621
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    kernel /puppy-fatdog-621/vmlinuz pmedia=satahd psubdir=puppy-fatdog-621 pfix=fsck nosmp
    initrd /puppy-fatdog-621/initrd

Initrd is shown as initrd.gz in Puppy 528.005 & Puppy 529. Fatdog 621 calls it just initrd.

The directories for Puppy 528.005 & Puppy 529 were prepared the same as Fatdog 621 and work fine.

What is wrong with what I've done with Fatdog 621? Why doesn't it boot?


For what it's worth,here's my menu.lst entry for Legacy Grub and Fatdog 621...in sda10,no directory , everything just in /mnt/home/ .

Code:
title Fatdog 64 621 in sda10
root (hd0,9)
kernel /vmlinuz nouveau.noaccel=1
initrd /initrd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 381
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 03:21    Post subject:  

I have made some progress -- broke down and burned a cd. Can boot with cd by choosing the nvidia option to eliminate the nouveau driver in the cd boot menu.

Cannot boot from the frugal install. No Nvidia option to eliminate the nouveau driver.

Need an entry for menu.lst to eliminate the nouveau driver.
Code:
kernel /puppy-fatdog-621/vmlinuz nouveau.noaccel=1
This menu.lst entry still allows the boot to kill any display on the monitor.

Need to find the Nvidia Driver Version 260.19.12 for 64bit similar to the one I use in puppy 528.005 and 529.

The video on the motherboard is a GeForce 6150SE.

_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 01:29    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
This is what we have in the Fatdog-Next as of today. Still using the 600 as the base. I have this running for quite a while now. Let me know if anyone is interested.

Fatdog64-Next Release Notes
Changes from 621:
Updates:
-------------------
- Linux 3.9.4 with lxc support but without XFS support
-------------------


Maybe not the interest you wanted, but I am interested in XFS support.
Would that be possible?


621 and previous versions have XFS support right now, but the one I'm running is not. It is a choice because right now XFS conflicts with User Namespaces (that's the only filesystem left with a conflict, all others were resolved in 3.9). I will probably choose XFS over User Namespace for a public release. Waiting for 3.11 to go gold.

don922, just open the isolinux.cfg on the CD and you'll see the command to eliminate nouveau (it's "blacklist=nouveau"). Copy that into your boot loader config and that should work. I also found that "nouveau.noaccel=1" (suggested by James C) works for many cases. For GeForce 6150 SE I think you'll need to install the nvidia_legacy driver, but to be sure please check nvidia website.

Snail, when you click the "green checkbox", don't immediately move your mouse. Wait for a while. See if it helps to unmount your SD Card.

The USB safe-remove is mainly meant for mechanical portable disks, but they are safe to use for Flash drives too. Don't use them on "internal" card reader (ie Card reader built in to your laptop); otherwise after it has been removed you won't see them again until next boot. Using them on external card readers are fine because you can just unplug and plug them again to get the icons back.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 381
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 08:02    Post subject: Where are downloads? PPM? xorgwizard?  

jamesbond wrote:
don922, just open the isolinux.cfg on the CD and you'll see the command to eliminate nouveau (it's "blacklist=nouveau"). Copy that into your boot loader config and that should work.

For GeForce 6150 SE I think you'll need to install the nvidia_legacy driver, but to be sure please check nvidia website.

The entry in menu.lst "blacklist=nouveau" has cleared up much of the booting from a frugal install problem.

EDIT the following is no longer correct! I have downloaded the nvidia-legacy.pet, the firefox-20.pet, and the numlockx.pet. Now I can't find these "pets" and I can't find the Puppy Package Manager to install them. I found the PPM hidden in the Control Panel and the downloads were in the PPM - go figure.

I don't understand this root/spot thing, I would be better off operating everything and everywhere as root. In my situation I don't really need the safety of being on the net as spot.

_________________
Don -- Thailand


Last edited by don922 on Fri 09 Aug 2013, 21:25; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu 08 Aug 2013, 22:27    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
DrDeaf wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
This is what we have in the Fatdog-Next as of today. Still using the 600 as the base. I have this running for quite a while now. Let me know if anyone is interested.

Fatdog64-Next Release Notes
Changes from 621:
Updates:
-------------------
- Linux 3.9.4 with lxc support but without XFS support
-------------------


Maybe not the interest you wanted, but I am interested in XFS support.
Would that be possible?


621 and previous versions have XFS support right now, but the one I'm running is not. It is a choice because right now XFS conflicts with User Namespaces (that's the only filesystem left with a conflict, all others were resolved in 3.9). I will probably choose XFS over User Namespace for a public release. Waiting for 3.11 to go gold.


I am willing to wait as well. Smile This is an enduring project for me. I am puzzled by the reference to earlier XFS support. Although I did not change to 621 since it was a bug fix release and I had no bugs I was concerned about, I have posted earlier about XFS and you were helpful to post attr-2.4.46-8.pet (Thanks again!)
After installing, everything appeared OK but gparted still did not offer the XFS format option and I could not successfully read XFS format done by another distro. I decided to wait. I have seen a mention of "XFS tools" but none were forthcoming and I do not know how that would be significant or not.

A new concern is your mention of a user namespace conflict. One of the reasons for my interest in XFS is the user namespace attribute enhancement offered by that file system.

I'll close with a mention of a minor quibble. I came to FD at 610 (Nov 2012) and every release has not recognized my eth0 chipset. No problem since my machine is a notebook and I am wireless normally. Still, Lighthouse64 & Knoppix64 find everything so maybe now is a good time to mention this.

I looked at a post I made when 611 arrived to copy over the info for the chipset (Hey! I found you and Smokey01 over there... you guys get around!). Here is the info I think you would want: Ethernet controller : Intel Corporation Device 1502 (rev 04)

This isn't a show stopper, just passing it along now.
Thanks again, jamesbond.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 09 Aug 2013, 23:36    Post subject:  

DrDeaf,

The XFS support is in kernel - which means if you have existing XFS disk, Fatdog will see it and can use it just like any other partition. But the support for creating new XFS partition through gparted isn't there (yet), because the tools aren't included.

Don't worry about the user namespaces conflict - what I'm talking about is different from XFS user namespace.

Your ethernet is supposed to be supported by e1000e module. Try loading it manually (modprobe e1000e) and see if there is any error message in dmesg?

don922,
Edit /usr/share/applications/Seamonkey-web-browser.desktop and change "seamonkey-spot" to "seamonkey" and you're good to go. For others (e.g. Firefox etc) explore other files and in /usr/share/applications and change those that contain "whatever-spot" to "whatever".

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 754
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 10:03    Post subject:
Subject description: Need to edit MPEG audio file header
 

There was a good mpg file header editor, Easytag, that was available under Lucid. The pets (easytag and library files) do not work with Fatdog.

Every so often, I need to edit the file header to include the track number in the title. I have found mpeg audio players sort the songs based on the title information. This prevents one from hearing the songs as on the album.

Is there a pet available for Fatdog that can edit the mpg audio file header information? Thanks for any help in advance!

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 10 Aug 2013, 14:08    Post subject:
Subject description: Need to edit MPEG audio file header
 

JustGreg wrote:
There was a good mpg file header editor, Easytag, that was available under Lucid. The pets (easytag and library files) do not work with Fatdog.

Every so often, I need to edit the file header to include the track number in the title. I have found mpeg audio players sort the songs based on the title information. This prevents one from hearing the songs as on the album.

Is there a pet available for Fatdog that can edit the mpg audio file header information? Thanks for any help in advance!

Just added to the repo: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/pets/600/easytag-2.1.8-622.pet, only because you asked, Greg Cool

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 11:18    Post subject: MMC icon green box not unmounting and other stuff  

H Jamesbond,

I tried your suggestion, to leave the mouse hovering over the green box after clicking. It has no effect. As noted in my previous post you get a Rox window every time you click but no unmount, even after pointer "hovering" over the box for 20 seconds. Moving the icon a quite small distance restores normal behaviour, this was at Smokey01's suggestion.

Moving the icon back to the bottom left corner causes the problem to come back. You don't have to be totally precise in positioning the icon there to reinstate the odd behaviour but you do have to be quite close.

I have a windows partition frugal install, set up by Fatdog's installer. When using webmail, I initially thought that you can't attach files from the windows partition, except for the Spot folder. The file Open Window behaves as if /mnt/sda2 is not mounted. Then I realised that, on the other hand, mnt/home, which is the same thing surely, works just fine. It's a bit confusing for a poor snail.

wpa-gui has a slightly odd behaviour. I'm in a hotel at the moment. When booting, it seems to be trying to connect to the correct wifi adapter but it stays stuck on "scanning". Disconnecting and reconnecting doesn't help. It took an awful lot of trying things before, quite by accident, I discovered that Manage Networks/Edit then Save(without changing anything since the network has already been set up) is enough to clear the logjam. Once this is done, connection takes a second or so and DHCP a few seconds more. The network is WPA2-PSK/TKIP+CCMP and the signal is good to excellent,

Another minor quirk is that closing the window by using it's tile bar or the menu is NOT what you want to do. You must just hide the window using the taskbar icon. This is a bit of a trap for us idiots.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 12:21    Post subject: Problem with Xarchive
Subject description: Large directory trashes savefile
 

A while ago, I asked a dumb question about why /usr/lib and /usr/lib64 seemed to be identical. Of course, if I had opened /usr in Rox the fact that lib64 was just a symlink would have been bleedingly obvious. However, the reason that I was confused is that gdmap shows the two using up space in /usr, one is displayed above the other. Surely gdmap shouldn't do that?

Anyway, as I was confused, I decided to check further. As gtkhash doesn't do directories, I tried to zip them and hash the zipfiles. This caused the file system to fill up and eventually trashed the savefile. Why would xarchive do that? Shouldn't temp be located separately from the savefile, since it's never saved?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 11 Aug 2013, 13:16    Post subject:  

Snail wrote:
I tried your suggestion, to leave the mouse hovering over the green box after clicking. It has no effect. As noted in my previous post you get a Rox window every time you click but no unmount, even after pointer "hovering" over the box for 20 seconds. Moving the icon a quite small distance restores normal behaviour, this was at Smokey01's suggestion.

Moving the icon back to the bottom left corner causes the problem to come back. You don't have to be totally precise in positioning the icon there to reinstate the odd behaviour but you do have to be quite close.
Please post screenshots with icons positions "where it works" and "where it doesn't work".

Quote:
I have a windows partition frugal install, set up by Fatdog's installer. When using webmail, I initially thought that you can't attach files from the windows partition, except for the Spot folder. The file Open Window behaves as if /mnt/sda2 is not mounted. Then I realised that, on the other hand, mnt/home, which is the same thing surely, works just fine. It's a bit confusing for a poor snail.
That's expected behaviour if you move the Download folder outside the savefile.

Quote:
wpa-gui has a slightly odd behaviour. I'm in a hotel at the moment. When booting, it seems to be trying to connect to the correct wifi adapter but it stays stuck on "scanning". Disconnecting and reconnecting doesn't help. It took an awful lot of trying things before, quite by accident, I discovered that Manage Networks/Edit then Save(without changing anything since the network has already been set up) is enough to clear the logjam. Once this is done, connection takes a second or so and DHCP a few seconds more. The network is WPA2-PSK/TKIP+CCMP and the signal is good to excellent,
Yeah, there are just so many variations in wifi signalling Smile I sometimes have to kill the dhcpcd task manually and restart them to get the IP address :p

Quote:
Another minor quirk is that closing the window by using it's tile bar or the menu is NOT what you want to do. You must just hide the window using the taskbar icon. This is a bit of a trap for us idiots.
I'm not sure I get what you mean.

Snail wrote:
A while ago, I asked a dumb question about why /usr/lib and /usr/lib64 seemed to be identical. Of course, if I had opened /usr in Rox the fact that lib64 was just a symlink would have been bleedingly obvious. However, the reason that I was confused is that gdmap shows the two using up space in /usr, one is displayed above the other. Surely gdmap shouldn't do that?

I think I already answered that a couple of times. /usr/lib is a mirror image of /usr/lib64. In a more technical terms /usr/lib is a bind-mount of /usr/lib64. The reason we use bind-mount instead of mere symlink is because symlink can be accidentally erased.

Quote:
Anyway, as I was confused, I decided to check further. As gtkhash doesn't do directories, I tried to zip them and hash the zipfiles. This caused the file system to fill up and eventually trashed the savefile. Why would xarchive do that? Shouldn't temp be located separately from the savefile, since it's never saved?
You are right, it shouldn't do that. How exactly did you do to zip the stuff again? "zip" command line or "xarchive"?
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 29 [432 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1276s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]