Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   <b>READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT LOGIN</b>READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT LOGIN 

The time now is Sat 08 Aug 2020, 15:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 41 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 14:45    Post subject:  

OK I dropped save-file from Alphaos8 and now it works better.

Resolution was OK, Menu did work without error.

wireless didnt however

I tried the load modules in rc.conf(iwldvm and mac80211)

I dont get the message

Code:
User defined modules loaded iwldvm mac80211 [OK]


That I got in AlphaOS8

I tried to do
Code:

modprobe iwldvm
modprobe mac80211


still no wlan interface?

Since I cannot migrate save-file I will try to automate my setup.
IS this best done with bash script or something else?

*EDIT*

output from lsmod, the modules seems loaded but still problems

Module Size Used by
iwldvm 92031 0
mac80211 183671 1 iwldvm
...
wlwifi 54958 2 iwldvm
...
cfg80211 138785 3 iwlwifi,mac80211,iwldvm
...
rfkill 10460 3 cfg80211,bluetooth,asus_wmi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 16:31    Post subject:  

Scooby, do you still have a backup of you old save file. If yes you can try this:
mount that file (ex. command: mount oldsave.2fs.bak somefolder),
copy /root folder from your old save file over new /root,
Then you will firefox bookmarks, add-ons and other program settings in this version same as in previous, assuming that frisbee and wireless start working.
Scooby wrote:

I tried the load modules in rc.conf(iwldvm and mac80211)

I dont get the message

Is there something interesting in /tmp/bootsysinit.log?

_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1265
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 18:18    Post subject:  

Scooby wrote:
OK I dropped save-file from Alphaos8 and now it works better.

Resolution was OK, Menu did work without error.

wireless didnt however

I tried the load modules in rc.conf(iwldvm and mac80211)

I dont get the message

Code:
User defined modules loaded iwldvm mac80211 [OK]


That I got in AlphaOS8

I tried to do
Code:

modprobe iwldvm
modprobe mac80211


still no wlan interface?

Since I cannot migrate save-file I will try to automate my setup.
IS this best done with bash script or something else?

*EDIT*

output from lsmod, the modules seems loaded but still problems

Module Size Used by
iwldvm 92031 0
mac80211 183671 1 iwldvm
...
wlwifi 54958 2 iwldvm
...
cfg80211 138785 3 iwlwifi,mac80211,iwldvm
...
rfkill 10460 3 cfg80211,bluetooth,asus_wmi


Posted re this on the alphaOS board. iwlwifi firmware code is not present in 9.0. I copied the iwlwifi files from /lib/firmware in 8.0 to 9.0, did what you did above and wlan0 was created and frisbee connected.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy Older LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64 and upupEF for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 21:28    Post subject:  

Hi simargl,
Thanks for yet another masterpiece of alphaOS now at V9! Smile Writing from it now. However, for my wireless internet to work, I had to copy iwlwifi files from /lib/firmware in 8.0 to 9.0 as suggested by marv and then put iwldvm and mac80211 in the modules line in /etc/rc.conf before making a savefile. Obviously, iwlwifi firmware codes are mssing in V9.
Other than this, everything seems to be working fine.
Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 02:56    Post subject:  

I've started uploading new iso, with only difference in iwlwifi firmware is added back again.
I don't even remember when I removed it Confused , but clearly it wasn't there.

_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 02:37    Post subject:  

New sakura 3.1.0 included in this version needs -x argument to execute command, instead of -e argument as it was in previous version of sakura. That is reason why alsamixer did not start on Win+v or right click volumeicon>Sound Mixer, in alphaOs 9.0. Also extracting zip, rar and 7z archives from inside spacefm did not work, extracting supposed to be in terminal ,but it only launched sakura and then stopped. I fixed those problems adding -x instead of -e argument, and made patch for spacefm to extract zip, rar and 7z archives directly like tar.xz, tar.gz and other.
_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 15:49    Post subject:  

http://news.softpedia.com/news/alphaOS-Is-an-Interesting-Blend-of-Arch-and-Puppy-Linux-372817.shtml
_________________
The Arch Way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 16:06    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
I've started uploading new iso, with only difference in iwlwifi firmware is added back again.


Now wifi works.

I can report calibre working perfectly with AlphaOS. I used the binary install provided
at calibre homepage and not pacman.

Started to hack at a bash-"install" script now. For setting up my system
automagically after new AlphaOS update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 20:23    Post subject:  

Just to confirm that wireless connection now works with the new alphaOS 9. Still had to add iwldvm to modules line in /etc/rc.conf though.
Wired and wireless printing/scanning also work with my modified version of rcrsn51's cups 1.4.8 printing package found here. For those of you that printing/scanning is indispensable, you may want to try it Smile . Check page 38 of this thread for further instructions on how to install it.
Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 09:27    Post subject:  

Is it possible to create a "global" symlink in Linux

somewhat like "~" is always pointing to user home directory?

What I want is a symbolic link that is availible in every directory?

can this be done somehow. with ln or maybe some bash-scripting?
maybe fool with users somehow and let "cd ~someplace" go to
/some/place a path of my own choice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 09:54    Post subject:  

Smil99, I want to learn how to set up my wireless hp printer... and, hoping that you will help me.

I downloaded your "print_scan_alphaOS-8.0.tar.gz package"... extracted it... and, ran the script "sh install.sh"... all is well at this point but, now what do I do? I didn't see the ".pet printer software"... but, I do have all the folders. Are these folders the "software"? Do I place the folders somewhere else or just leave them intact? Also, the menu now shows ink-gui, cups manager (which doesn't work, eg, can't get website), etc, etc, etc...

Any further step-by-step instructions would be gratefully appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 19:27    Post subject:  

Hi yr1945,
Running
Code:
sh install.sh
installs everything in the package. No need to copy over the folders again.
1. You need to be sure that /etc/init.d/cups is a link to /usr/bin/cupsd. If not, create that link first. You may have to rename or delete any cups found in /etc/init.d before creating the link.
2. Run /etc/init.d/cups to start cups.
3. Check if cups works by typing 'localhost:631' in a browser or using 'Manage CUPS Printers' found under System Tools in the menu.
4. If you can access cups website at this point, then we are almost there. The next thing to do is to install your printer's .pet using
Code:
ppet yourprinter.pet

5. If your printer is connected to your computer, you should then see it listed in cups after restarting 'Manage CUPS Printers'. On the other hand, if it is a network printer, use 'Find New Printers' under cups administration to activate it.
6. You may want to check rcrsn51's excellent printing resources to find a .pet for your printer if you do not have one already.
7. If cups doesn't start automatically after reboot, add
Code:
/etc/init.d/cups &
to /root/.start (by editing with geany), preferably, before the line
Code:
sleep 7s

Good luck Smile
PS: All credit must go to rcrsn51 Smile . I only ensured that it works after version 6 of alphaOS by adding the remaining parts of cups as found in cupsExtra_alphaos-1.4.8 folder.
Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 23:15    Post subject:  

smil99... THANKS... I have made good progress... even though I was NOT able to complete your step4 below, my printer WAS recognized... when I send a file to be printed, the wireless printer screen lights up, but nothing prints out...

4. If you can access cups website at this point, then we are almost there. The next thing to do is to install your printer's .pet using
Code: ppet yourprinter.pet


I will continue working on this tomorrow... somehow, I will have to better understand how to utilize the following... i.e., ppet yourprinter.pet...

THANKS, AGAIN... hopefully, I can get me printer working tomorrow.

By the way, my printer is a HP Deskjet 3510... and when I set it up with Ubuntu, it is always listed as a NETWORK printer... here, I cannot find Deskjet 3510 relative to .pet... but, all deskjets seem to be similar so I just selected one... again the screen lights up, but nothing prints out... and, when I find my printer in CUPS, it just lists Deskjet 3510... not Network 3510 like in Ubuntu...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 601

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 16:21    Post subject:  

OK so when I add my solution for tear free video by
creating 20-intel.conf in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d

I get a lower resolution at startup.

Tried lxrandr but it wont let me change anything

running

Code:
 xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1600x900


The resolution is changed to something better however everything seems
awfully wide if I'm not misstaken.

How can you find out resolution when its working correctly so I can set it later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 18:57    Post subject:  

Hi yr1945,
Good to know that you've made some progress Smile . It seems you have been able to install cups correctly. Next task is how your printer can print with cups. If you can see the name of your printer on the cups printers interface then, it seems cups recognizes your printer. In that case, there is no need to install any .pet package as per step 4 of my previous post.

As a first test, connect the printer directly to your computer via USB and see if you can print anything. If that comes out successful then, it may mean some extra tweaking is needed for wireless printing/scanning to work.

In my case, I have a Canon MP-640 printer scanner combo and I needed to install both canon_mp640-3.20.pet and cups-bjnp-1.0.pet. The former is the printer's software whilst the latter enables network/wireless printing/scanning. Needless to say these are for Canon specific printers so they are definitely not for your HP printer. I may also point out that rcrsn51 is the guru here when it comes to printing issues so do well to check his resources provided in my earlier post or send him a pm. He may provide the needed assistance Wink

Cheers.

_________________
Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final!
(Used with kind permission from jejy69)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 41 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0683s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]