Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 04:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 60 of 94 [1407 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 92, 93, 94 Next
Author Message
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jul 2013, 20:46    Post subject:  

sheldonisaac wrote:

Are there any improvements in Carolina that would benefit me?


As Geoffrey said, read the change log. We have worked very hard to make Carolina as user friendly and feature rich as possible.

You can run lina without the adrive and have a fully functional desktop with all of the features we have introduced such as pac-tools, simple file sharing etc...... This would not be much different than lina-lite and you can also make a custom adrive or add apps in your savefile

don570 wrote:

When making a pet package using 'Convert to pet package'
right click

-----> if 'Building block' is desired because there is no desktop file
then a desktop file is included which is very undesirable.


That would be an issue with the dir2pet script

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1358
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2013, 02:44    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
A bug report

When making a pet package using 'Convert to pet package'
right click

-----> if 'Building block' is desired because there is no desktop file
then a desktop file is included which is very undesirable.

______________________________________________________
When I typed 'gtkdialog-splash' in terminal I got a no permission
warning.


_____________________________________________


I don't get that with gtkdialog-splash, to be sure I extracted a copy from the ISO and swapped it with the existing one and it works without having to give it permission
Code:
# gtkdialog-splash

gtkdialog-splash
 
 an easy replacement for yaf-splash in Puppy (NOT Puppy <=4.x)
 mave 30.05.2010
 no warranty
 Thanks for Puppy!
 
 usage: gtkdialog-splash [OPTIONS] [-timeout SEC] -text TEXT | -kill PID
 
 -text EXPRESSION
 -timeout COUNT (in seconds)
 -icon GTK-XXX (for example: gtk-info all gtk-stock-symbols, default: none)
 OR path/to/pixmap.png|gif|jpeg
 -icon_width WIDTH in pixels
 -bg COLOR (background color red, blue, yellow..., default: grey)
 -bg_gradient true|false (default: true)
 -fg COLOR (font color, default: black)
 -placement center|mouse|top|bottom|top-left|bottom-left (default: center)
 -close never|mouseover|box (default is mouseover)
 -deco TITLE (shows windows decorations, with title)
 -font NAME
 -fontsize SIZE
 -align ALIGNMENT left, right or center -margin SIZE (default: 10)
 -border true|false (default: true)

 -kill PID (process ID called before:    PID=0 auto-search fo the last one,
                PID=xxxxx kill the last one read by PID=$!)


Can someone else confirm if it is working ok please.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnrpm

Joined: 12 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2013, 16:08    Post subject:  

A big thank you to the developers, I really appreciate your hard work, Carolina is very slick and easy for an idiot like me to use, it has mostly all the packages I like at install, so apart from configuring the desktop to my liking its ready to go.

to say thank you I will make another donation to barry towards his ubuntu edge
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2013, 03:53    Post subject:  

Carolina 1.0 non-pae delta and ISO have been released.

See the first post for change log and download link.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4782
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2013, 13:45    Post subject:  

Magic, pure magic - thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2086
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 12:06    Post subject: Carolina - 1.0  

I did a manual frugal install of lina-1.0 to the hard drive of a
Gateway desktop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 25 Jul 2013 on Carolina 1.0 Linux 3.2.13-ski i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
(rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.346 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.003 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.004 FPS
#
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: @2592 1: @2592 2: @2592 3: @2592 MHz
Memory 8311MB (165MB used)

I did an install of 1.0 earlier but I couldn't get it to work 100% with
a second monitor connected, the option in control panel to change
wallpaper wouldn't launch (the background was light grey on both
screens), positioning screens etc. worked fine.

This install is working well so far.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.77 KB
 Viewed   916 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 20:29    Post subject:  

To Geoffrey...

Here is the output of terminal.
I have a frugal installaion of latest carolina7
Code:



## gtkdialog-splash
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash -text "f"
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash --help
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash --text "f"
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 21:38    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
To Geoffrey...

Here is the output of terminal.
I have a frugal installaion of latest carolina7
Code:



## gtkdialog-splash
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash -text "f"
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash --help
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
# gtkdialog-splash --text "f"
bash: /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash: Permission denied
#


Hey don570,

Just like Geoffrey, mine works fine. Are you using a savefile from an older lina? That might exlpain it. Have you tried from RAM?

I booted onto RAM to test it and all was ok.
image.png
 Description   
 Filesize   6.75 KB
 Viewed   787 Time(s)

image.png


_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1358
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 02:22    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
To Geoffrey...

Here is the output of terminal.
I have a frugal installaion of latest carolina7


The latest carolina007 was updated with zigbert's 23. Jun 2013 update http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=626564#626564 and rg66 made sure it was executable

Quote:
Carolina - 0.0.7rc6

007-rc6 change log from 007-rc5
----------------------------------------------
-added save-tools 2.1.1
-added ez-mnt 1.1
-added default presentation
-added numlock
-added nomacs 1.4.0
-removed photo
-updated pac-tools to 1.1.1
-updated samba-tng-sfs to 1.8
-updated firefox to 17.0.7 ESR
-updated thunderbird to 17.0.7 ESR
-updated smtube to 1.7
-updated LibreOffice to 4.0.4.2
-updated ffconvert to 1.3.2
-updated gtkdialog-splash
-changed firewall-firstrun
-fixed ffmpeg
-fixed xfce helpers

I tested it again and it definitely works ok, what 007rc version do you have, I know for sure since 006 that it was not working due to permissions, which is easily fixed by using the right click menu Make Executable /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash Smile

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1806
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 02:26    Post subject:  

It's executable here too.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jul 2013, 11:18    Post subject:  

Hi everybody!
I finished to install Carolina 1.0 and.. it's great ! Smile
I have just two things to say:
- I would like to change the button size in the windows but I didn't find any functioning way to do this. Someone on web say it's a sort of XFCE bug... Confused
- Frisbee seems not ok. I have two identical pc (Foxconn nT330i), on one I have Carolina 005 and in the other I installed 1.0 release.
After some web page changes (e.g. between two video on YouTube and then back to Google homepage) the connection stops as dead. With other network tools it runs well, then now I use them.
Just to complete the description, on the first pc the connection is on wifi and in the second is on eth0.
- As I can see, Firefox seems more slow to start, now it takes 10-12 seconds.

I don't feel the above as great problems, it's only to the aim of say my results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3261
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jul 2013, 14:47    Post subject:  

about gtkdialog-splash

I will test again. It's possible that previous installs on a windows
(ntfs)partition are the problem. I'll check again.

_________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 462

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 08:00    Post subject:  

I've been messing with this a little, seems to do o.k. with Saluki .pets. Non-PAE seems to work better.

But I have a question. Where in the file system are the panel graphics? I want to swap the graphics for the Saluki panel, or maybe the older Carolina icon with the dog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 504
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 09:28    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
But I have a question. Where in the file system are the panel graphics? I want to swap the graphics for the Saluki panel, or maybe the older Carolina icon with the dog.


Just had a look at Saluki and there is no panel graphics, it's just grey. If you right click the panel, choose Panel > Panel Preferences > Appearance tab > set Alpha to 100, it will look the same.

The Carolina icon is in /usr/share/pixmaps

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2838
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2013, 11:24    Post subject:  

@rg66 -- I read the recommended minimum requirements (1ghz CPU, 512mb RAM) on the "About Carolina" page at the other end of your sig link. (BTW, mouse-responsive rotating word clouds should not be used for navigation -- that's some clumsy stuff!)

I have a system with a Celeron M ULV 600MHz CPU and 1gb RAM. I know it'll run (or at least walk), but *in your opinion* would it be worth trying Carolina on a system with those specs, or am I likely to be disappointed with the performance? (I've run an early beta from you folks so it's not quite my first time.)

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 60 of 94 [1407 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, ..., 92, 93, 94 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1343s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0379s) ][ GZIP on ]