Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 15:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to install Ntop and dependencies?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4136
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:17    Post subject:  

First get it running, then open with your Java enabled browser >> http://localhost:3000/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wirwav

Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:24    Post subject:  

yes, its really unclear whether it has loaded properly or not.

I did a second search for Ntop and installed, what it said were now just 2 missing dependancies.

It seemed to download them, but my Package manager page seems to hang, just a white box.

So I tried to run Ntop from the consul...Looks like taht may have been a bad idea since it needs an admin password at startup (linux only).

By the way, I did your last consul line and got a page list of library stuff.. Too much to write down as a reply.. ( I am not replying to you using the same machine)

Now I am studying various web links to the same startup issue.

https://svn.ntop.org/svn/ntop/trunk/ntop/docs/1STRUN.txt

However I am not convinced that it has installed correctly and I was truly expecting some kind of icon to be dumped on my desktop..

Maybe its just my first bad experience and I have little idea what to expect really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3552
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:38    Post subject:  

My 2nd & 3rd install attempts both failed.

At 3rd attempt I tried 1st installing:
ntop-data_4.1.0+dfsg1-1
Then when I began installing:
ntop_4.1.0+dfsg1-1
There was no extra tab displaying the 2 extra dependencies [they had been installed?]

But the PPM window still froze at about the point where it would be downloading/installing the last or 2nd-last dependency.

Also...
My shutdown process wouldn't complete properly.
i.e. At the point [during shutdown] where I choose to NOT save any session changes...
Nothing happened...
And I was forced to power off improperly, and at next boot enter the command:
puppy pfix=fsck

I'll try using a different repo for download.
The 2 separate depends downloaded OK.
Of the second group...
The 1st six downloaded OK, but the seventh download failed to start.
PPM is now frozen.
Will now attempt to reboot without saving.

Last edited by Sylvander on Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4136
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:43    Post subject:  

Several things @ play here.. you're a novice, Precise me thinks is still teething and ntop's multi-user. Bad, bad combo.

Besides all the above making for a bad combo, ntop required additional directories. I'll look closer as time permits..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wirwav

Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:47    Post subject:  

Well I certainly would appreciate some help with this one.

I was hoping to use Ntop 24hours a day to monitor my network traffic on my gateway interface. ( I am a wisp)

Also I did manage to get The Dude running under a WINE setting on the same machine.

So as soon as I can get Ntop functioning on this tiny Linux machine, I will be a happy bunny.

Did it look like your install completed ok? is it normal to get an icon on the desktop?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4136
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 09:53    Post subject:  

Pup don't do multi-user is problemo numero uno. It needs additional work aboard Pup. No icon, but you can create one.

Your browser's which? What messages are offered after running: ntop in a terminal?

Is it looking for any directories that aren't there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wirwav

Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 11:10    Post subject:  

OK.. its sorted

I guess it was the lack of a desktop icon, together with the package manager appearing to freeze (but actually not), and the lack of knowledge of linux.

Basically, I followed the threads here: http://www.debianhelp.co.uk/ntop.htm

then after issuing a password and re-starting. it appeared to hang with some message about library, right at the end.

But if you then start the seamonkey web browser and enter the iface IP address followed by port 3000, all will be well.

Nice... Now I will re-install WINE and The Dude.


Thanks One and All for your swift help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4136
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jul 2013, 11:32    Post subject:  

Oh yeah- good! Sure- anytime..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wirwav

Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2013, 04:02    Post subject:  

good stuff this linux OS, but a little hard to understand for an old timer!

Finally I got Ntop to start up as a daemon each time the PC starts from cold.

After much confusion as to where to stick the script, I finally got sense in the startup directory, but I really could do with a 2 line explanation of the differences between that directory and /etc/init.d

My next task is to try and start the seamonkey web-browser after reboot like:

http//xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:3000 (default ntop port)

and after the script to start the deamon... I suppose I can add a delay period after the call to start ntop. And then the last line of the script starts the web-browser.

Can anyone offer 5 mins to point me in the right directions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wirwav

Joined: 14 Jul 2013
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2013, 03:35    Post subject:  

OK,

So ntop 3.3 worked out the bag ( so long as every trace of every other aborted ntop install was removed)

Is there a way to upgrade Ntop from within a working shell without having to download a 5.01 tar.

Or is there a specific guide for the install of V5,xx, , I havent yet come across a guide that details the dependencies that are needed in a Lucid 5.28 environment.

Has anyone made a self install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4136
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 15 Aug 2013, 16:09    Post subject:  

If it ain't @ your fingertips, you probably need a new one. Whether they bumped libc is anybodies..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0643s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]