Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 08:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 76 of 113 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, ..., 111, 112, 113 Next
Author Message
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 900
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 09:42    Post_subject:  

i couldn't get flash player to install. You may need to grab it manually.
_________________
......
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ibidem

Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 523
Location: State of Jefferson

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 01:24    Post_subject:  

simargl wrote:
musher0 wrote:
It was a real consolation Smile to see how lazy the Debian Live developers had been in categorizing the menu items -- as compared to the "logic" and effort that we invest in the creation of our own Puppy menus. An example of that sloppy menu can be found at http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=709758&sort=lastpost#709758

I never understood why they need to add those "applications" at all - or actually why someone even bothered to make them. Xeyes for example is a program with 2 circles that move around following mouse pointer - so what's use of that, just wasting space and cluttering the menu. And, please don't say Puppy's menu is more logical Rolling Eyes, and what size are menu icons in Puppy, 8 pixels I think, so that can also be called lazy Wink

Debian autogenerates the menus (by way of a program called "menu") from files that each package installs, so the package maintainer gets to say whether to have an entry.
Of course, a maintainer is likely the last person to recognize that their pet program is a waste of menu-space.

xeyes, etc. are part of the original X11 applications (x11-apps), mainly available because of tradition ("use xyz, it's always available" & "keep xyz available, it's widely used").
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 09:37    Post_subject:  

xeyes is a bit of fun...

My grandson loves the sugar implementation on the XO (olpc) laptops.

BTW you can get Sugar on a Stick (soas) on any PC, only ~500MB download, great for kids.

-

Of course you can have some fun in JWM with xeyes too, even on a raspberry pi..
Code:
      <Swallow name="xeyes" width="32">
         xeyes -bg "#ffffff" -fg red
      </Swallow>

Cool
xeyes.png
 Description   paste code into your ~/.jwmrc-tray, of course xeyes must be installed!
 Filesize   9.05 KB
 Viewed   930 Time(s)

xeyes.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 04:28    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Another new 'buntu spin...... Australis. Ubuntu 12.04 LTS w/ Mate and all sort of goodies.
http://rackingman.wix.com/australis

Code:
linux@linux:~$ uname -r
3.5.0-27-generic
linux@linux:~$


That looks cool!

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Classic 214X GTK3, Puppy 4.32 v3, Precise Puppy 573-L, Puppy Tahr 6.0 Exton, Puppy 4.20 Deeper Thought v2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 539
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 17:21    Post_subject:  

I recently decided to switch from Slackware (and Slackware-based distros) to just basic Debian. I didn't want to do Debian itself,...(too hard for someone still on dialup, having to download a net-install). And I for SURE didn't want to have to buy all 10 (I think it is now) DVDs.

So I have re-discovered CrunchBang. I've gotten quite hooked on the Openbox desktop,....and the fact that it is basically just Debian. In all fair-ness,...I haven't tired the latest Antix yet (which I may like as well).

I missed the late DreamLinux,...but these two smaller Debian-based distros seem really very nice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 04:09    Post_subject:  

Grabbed one of my old P3's off the shelf...... don't even remember when I installed this.
http://bodhilinux.com/
Bodhi.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.22 KB
 Viewed   749 Time(s)

Bodhi.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drongo


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 354
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 15:11    Post_subject: Reply to michaellowe  

Hi,

All the other Puppies are compiled for x86 or 64 bit variants. Only something specifically for ARM will run on a Raspberry Pi.

Barry had recently started work again on an ARM Puppy for the Pi but he seems to be working on more fundamental infrastructure stuff at the moment.

So I guess we'll have to wait.

Sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5934
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 23:32    Post_subject:  

Fedora 19 XFCE released today.
http://fedoraproject.org/
and
https://lists.fedoraproject.org/pipermail/announce/2013-July/003167.html

Been using Puppy too long...... the first thing I installed was SeaMonkey. Smile
Comes with Midori and I don't really like Midori so.......
Trying to decide between XFCE and MATE.Looks like some testing is in order.
Code:
3.9.5-301.fc19.i686
Fedora 19 XFCE.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.89 KB
 Viewed   630 Time(s)

Fedora 19 XFCE.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 01:20    Post_subject: Other Distros  

I installed Fedora 19 KDE 64 bit to an external usb 3.0 hard drive on
an hp desktop pc.
I've been using Clementine on my PclinuxOS FullMonty64 and like it,
works good on Fedora 19 too.
Fedora 19 is working nice, there are so many distros to choose from Smile

EDIT:I installed Fedora 19 on an Acer desktop:
Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz
Memory 5975MB (1421MB used)
Operating System Fedora release 19 (Schrödinger’s Cat)
User Name bill (Bill)
Date/Time Thu 04 Jul 2013 10:01:32 AM EDT
Display
Resolution 3840x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop
X11 Vendor Fedora Project
Multimedia
Audio Adapter HDA-Intel - HDA Intel MID

After using this for a day and learning a little more about it I'd say
that Fedora 19 is a keeper Smile
snapshot3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.26 KB
 Viewed   489 Time(s)

snapshot3.jpg

snapshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.39 KB
 Viewed   607 Time(s)

snapshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 12:31    Post_subject:  

Some good distros here, but I note that Billtoo's got 6 GB of Ram on the PC he's running Fedora 19 on. Do we need a separate thread for distros which will run on old computers, which I'm guessing Fedora won't?

For my part, now that I'm back on my old Compaq for a while I'm both using and appreciating Puppy a lot more.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Classic 214X GTK3, Puppy 4.32 v3, Precise Puppy 573-L, Puppy Tahr 6.0 Exton, Puppy 4.20 Deeper Thought v2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 14:49    Post_subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Some good distros here, but I note that Billtoo's got 6 GB of Ram on the PC he's running Fedora 19 on. Do we need a separate thread for distros which will run on old computers, which I'm guessing Fedora won't?

For my part, now that I'm back on my old Compaq for a while I'm both using and appreciating Puppy a lot more.


Hi Colonel Panic, I installed Fedora 19 on an older HP desktop just to
give it a try.
Product number
PP164AA
Introduction date
12/28/2004
Country/region sold in

United States
Canada

Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Memory 1535MB (506MB used)
Operating System Fedora release 19 (Schrödinger’s Cat)
User Name bill (Bill)
Date/Time Thu 04 Jul 2013 02:32:35 PM EDT
Display
Resolution 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
X11 Vendor Fedora Project
Multimedia
Audio Adapter USB-Audio - Sound Blaster X-Fi Go! Pro

Fedora 19 is running pretty well on this pc, I've added ram and a
better graphics card + a usb sound card .
I'll have to give the new Lighthouse 64 beta 2 a try as well.

This pc isn't really old I guess but it's getting up there Smile
snapshot1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.88 KB
 Viewed   461 Time(s)

snapshot1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 539
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Fri 12 Jul 2013, 16:01    Post_subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
I recently decided to switch from Slackware (and Slackware-based distros) to just basic Debian. I didn't want to do Debian itself,...(too hard for someone still on dialup, having to download a net-install). And I for SURE didn't want to have to buy all 10 (I think it is now) DVDs.

So I have re-discovered CrunchBang. I've gotten quite hooked on the Openbox desktop,....and the fact that it is basically just Debian. In all fair-ness,...I haven't tired the latest Antix yet (which I may like as well).

I missed the late DreamLinux,...but these two smaller Debian-based distros seem really very nice!


OK,..
eating my own words!
...got tired of trying to fool with Openbox. Just went back to Slackware 14 (Xfce). It just seems easier,...maybe because I'm used to the combination of setting up Slackware,...and the Xfce desktop environment. Feels more like home. (As far as Puppies,...got one on all my machines.) Gotta use what works for you and on your particular computers, I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 16:39    Post_subject:  

I got curious on if this new Linux Mint would load in frugal install on NTFS desktop and it did

Writing using it now. Here is what DW says
Quote:

Linux Mint 15 "Xfce" edition: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 15 'Olivia' Xfce. The highlight of this edition is the lightweight Xfce 4.10 desktop. Xfce is a lightweight desktop environment which aims to be fast and low on system resources, while still being visually appealing and user friendly.


I downloaded this iso linuxmint-15-xfce-dvd-64bit.iso (925MB I then made an emty Dir on my HD and named it lm15 but typically accidently gave it lm13 but that worked without problem too

Code:


  title lm13
  root (hd0,0) /linuxmint-15-xfce-dvd-64bit.iso
  kernel /lm13/casper/vmlinuz file=/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-15-xfce-dvd-64bit.iso
  initrd /lm13/casper/initrd.lz


so give it a name you feel for. I copied from the iso these directories seed and casper and made changes to the menu.lst and rebooted and it just works./ Loads rather fast and works fast

The HD is named isodevice and one can write to a file using gedit and save it and one can delete files without needing any sudo or to be root. it works as one want it live.

Very practical the only bad thing is if they do updates behind the scene that could be problematic maybe. Look into such if you need to have a reliable version how to avoid it do such things. Flashplayer works on youtube so that is a good thing.

FF is still version 20 so that is old now maybe

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1529

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 03:55    Post_subject:  

I've just installed the latest version of AntiX (13.1). It's working well except that I've so far not been able to enable the repos so my choice of extra software to install is limited at the moment.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Classic 214X GTK3, Puppy 4.32 v3, Precise Puppy 573-L, Puppy Tahr 6.0 Exton, Puppy 4.20 Deeper Thought v2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1457
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2013, 10:22    Post_subject:  

@CP

Code:
sux


password. enter

Code:
apt-get udate


enter

Is required after every AntiX fresh install to get the repos going.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 76 of 113 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, ..., 111, 112, 113 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1226s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0279s) ][ GZIP on ]