Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 18:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 36 [529 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 12:05    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
edoc wrote:
Sylpheed (not sure if I like the way it works)

There is a Sylpheed package in the Fatdog repo here. I have not tested it in LH64.


Just spotted that, thanks!

I have had bad experiences with Sylpheed in the past, especially the way they handled multiple accounts, but perhaps that's been fixed.

It's worth a try.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 12:10    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
edoc wrote:
Sylpheed (not sure if I like the way it works)

There is a Sylpheed package in the Fatdog repo here. I have not tested it in LH64.


I'm getting a pop-up:

Quote:
This application wants to run:
/usr/sbin/petget
The administration password is required.


I don't recall setting an administration password.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 12:20    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Hi edoc,

A little off topic. I don't know anything about UEFI, but before I installed Windows 8, I did have frugal installations on the same drive with Vista that worked well. It appears that you need to resize your Windows partition and create a new linux partition for your frugal installations. CAUTION: Resize using Windows itself. Then install Grub4Dos to boot, it works great. That will get you away from booting with an USB installation.

Jim


We rolled back the MS version of windows from win8 to win7.

There's a problem with setting up the Lighthouse64 EFI boot file - it's non-persistent for some reason ... will chase that later.

Meanwhile, I can't see the Seamonkey I downloaded nor can I find the Firefox files.

I'm hoping I can reuse the Mozilla E-mail and Internet files from Seamonkey so I don't have to rebuild everything.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 12:24    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
edoc wrote:
Sylpheed (not sure if I like the way it works)

There is a Sylpheed package in the Fatdog repo here. I have not tested it in LH64.


I'm getting a pop-up:

Quote:
This application wants to run:
/usr/sbin/petget
The administration password is required.


I don't recall setting an administration password.


Just remembered ... it's been a really long time since I used a password with Puppy!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 12:25    Post subject:  

Should I be concerned about this pop-up message?

Quote:
The locale encoding is not UTF-8, but the environmental variable G_FILENAME_ENCODING is not set.
If the locale encoding is used for file name or directory name, it will not work correctly.
In that case, you must set the following environmental variable (see README for detail):

G_FILENAME_ENCODING=@locale

Continue?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 13:01    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:

OK, so not so funny guys, where are the files hidden? Smile

I can see Seamonkey 12 files I acquired via Puppy Package Manager when I use pfind but when I go to /usr to look at them they are nowhere to be found - and I do have All on to show them in case they are Hidden.

Very weird..


Am I looking at the password thing, again?

Do I need to sign-in as the administrative user because the default is something less - which is why I can't see the Firefox and Seamonkey and Sylpheed files?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

su root ... sigh.

Found the files too!

Seems Sylpheed isn't compatible with Seamonkey file & folder structure from Mozilla - have to see if it will at least import my Address Book - otherwise it's probably a no-go.

I found this 2008 Puppy Forum thread - I wonder if it still works that way:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29825
Quote:
I was also able to import my Seamonkey mail folders directly. I had to export the Seamonkey address book as a LDIF file, then I could import it into Sylpheed. It took about a half hour.


Otherwise, probably Seamonkey if Evolution is a no-go.

Evolution looks a lot like the Seamonkey email interface - but not sure if the backend uses the same Mozilla files and folders.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 14:05    Post subject: UEFI - LH64 working partition must be ext4?  

edoc wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Hi edoc,

A little off topic. I don't know anything about UEFI, but before I installed Windows 8, I did have frugal installations on the same drive with Vista that worked well. It appears that you need to resize your Windows partition and create a new linux partition for your frugal installations. CAUTION: Resize using Windows itself. Then install Grub4Dos to boot, it works great. That will get you away from booting with an USB installation.

Jim


We rolled back the MS version of windows from win8 to win7.

There's a problem with setting up the Lighthouse64 EFI boot file - it's non-persistent for some reason ... will chase that later.


I just noticed that my sda4, the working partition for LH64, is for some reason ext3 rather than ext4.

Two questions:

1. Is it mandatory that it be ext4 to play nicely with UEFI?

2. Will the contents of sda4 be wiped if I change from ext3 to ext4?

Code:
menuentry "Lighthouse64 Linux" {
                icon /EFI/boot/icons/os_lighthouse.icns
                loader vmlinuz
                initrd initrd.xz
                options "pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda7"    (Change sda7 in this line to whatever your new ext4 partition is. See boot options for more info.)
                 }

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 14:34    Post subject: Re: UEFI - LH64 working partition must be ext4?  

edoc wrote:
edoc wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Hi edoc,

A little off topic. I don't know anything about UEFI, but before I installed Windows 8, I did have frugal installations on the same drive with Vista that worked well. It appears that you need to resize your Windows partition and create a new linux partition for your frugal installations. CAUTION: Resize using Windows itself. Then install Grub4Dos to boot, it works great. That will get you away from booting with an USB installation.

Jim


We rolled back the MS version of windows from win8 to win7.

There's a problem with setting up the Lighthouse64 EFI boot file - it's non-persistent for some reason ... will chase that later.


I just noticed that my sda4, the working partition for LH64, is for some reason ext3 rather than ext4.

Two questions:

1. Is it mandatory that it be ext4 to play nicely with UEFI? No idea? I am completely satisfied with Grub4Dos which does a super job booting Windows and many Linux installations.

2. Will the contents of sda4 be wiped if I change from ext3 to ext4? Yes, gparted will wipe contents. I've found that ext3 and ext4 are both stable and have both type partitions.

Code:
menuentry "Lighthouse64 Linux" {
                icon /EFI/boot/icons/os_lighthouse.icns
                loader vmlinuz
                initrd initrd.xz
                options "pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda7"    (Change sda7 in this line to whatever your new ext4 partition is. See boot options for more info.)
                 }

Regards,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 14:53    Post subject: Re: UEFI - LH64 working partition must be ext4?  

edoc wrote:

1. Is it mandatory that it be ext4 to play nicely with UEFI?

Jim1911 wrote:
No idea? I am completely satisfied with Grub4Dos which does a super job booting Windows and many Linux installations.


Quote:
2. Will the contents of sda4 be wiped if I change from ext3 to ext4?

Jim1911 wrote:
Yes, gparted will wipe contents. I've found that ext3 and ext4 are both stable and have both type partitions. Regards,
Jim


OK re. gparted from ext3 to ext4 being destructive. I figured that.

And OK re. both being OK.

Because I am dealing with the quirky UEFI stuff I am chasing every tiny variable to discover what is blocking a Frugal install.

Anyone using UEFI, or familiar with it, know if sda3 vs sda4 will have any impact?

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 15:04    Post subject: UEFI - LH64 Boot Partition
Subject description: lighthousex64 efi file?
 

In the UEFI - LH64 Boot Partition (which I labeled lh64b2 but may also be shown as sda6) should there be a file named "lighthousex64 efi" located at /mnt/sda6/EFI/boot/ (or /media/lh64b2/EFI/boot/")?

There is one labeled "grubx64.efi" and it contains three folders: "refind.conf" "xorg.conf" and "bootinit.log"

"bootinit.log" contains this (Note: I booted from USB):

Quote:
Booting Lighthouse64 602 k3.8.7
blacklist=radeon initrd=initrd.xz BOOT_IMAGE=vmlinuz

Temporarily enabling cpufreq-performance scaling governor for faster boot.

Loading drivers needed to access disk drives...
Waiting for usb partitions...
Locating main file and session files...
Finding L64-602.sfs and L64save files...
Found 1 save file(s) loading main file and session file...

Loading savefile /L64save.4fs (sda4)...
Size=487.9MiB, 76% free

Found swap, loading main file /L64-602.sfs (sda4)
Min RAM to copy: 379M free: 3292M... copying main file to RAM

Setting up the layered filesystem... PUPMODE=12
Verifying aufs tables...
Checking for preconfig files in /mnt/dev_save/precfg...
Preparing for a 'switch_root' to the layered filesystem...
Kernel module radeon was moved to /usr/lib64/x/modules to prevent loading.


Could I just copy "grubx64.efi" to "lighthousex64.efi" then edit that somehow so it both shows up in the UEFI boot menu and successfully initiates Frugal?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 15:59    Post subject: Seamonkey works in LH64-602b2
Subject description: SOLVED!
 

Just installed Seamonkey 2.12 and it works fine.

I was able to symlink (Copy, Link Relative) my xxxxx.default folder and bring across all of the files and folders from the previous installation.

Note: Seamonkey shows up in Network whereas the other apps all show up in Internet - not sure who would fix the Seamonkey PET for consistency.

I will continue to use Seamonkey as my primary email app but may link to Firefox for Web due to the lack of support for Seamonkey for dontfollowme and firebug.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602

Last edited by edoc on Sat 13 Jul 2013, 21:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 16:22    Post subject: Firefox mailto Seamonkey Mail - Problem  

When I try to set Firefox Preferences to use Seamonkey as the mailto helper application it tries to open Seamonkey but stalls at Select User Profile where it offers no Profile .default options.

I am guessing this may be a permissions problem - the helper app in Firefox can't see those .default folders?

I don't want it to open the whole Seamonkey suite anyhow, rather only the Seamonkey mail app.

I tried to use the seamonkey-mail.desktop link in applications but Firefox would not accept that.

Any thoughts as to how I might work around this, please?

It may be the best of both worlds to use Firefox as the browser and Seamonkey as the email app.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 16:30    Post subject: Re: Seamonkey works in LH64-602b2
Subject description: SOLVED!
 

edoc wrote:
Just installed Seamonkey 2.12 and it works fine.

I was able to symlink (Copy, Link Relative) my xxxxx.default folder and bring across all of the files and folders from the previous installation.

Note: Seamonkey shows up in Network whereas the other apps all show up in Internet - not sure who would fix the Seamonkey PET for consistency.

I will continue to use Seamonkey as my primary email app but may link to Firefox for Web due to the lack of support for Seamonkey for dontfollowme and firebug.


I spoke too soon Embarassed

The subfolders did not transfer and neither did any of the archived messages.

Also, none of the mail filters made it across.

I'll look at that and report back ...

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602

Last edited by edoc on Sat 13 Jul 2013, 21:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 21:29    Post subject:  Confused by Spot
Subject description: Erratic use of folders by apps
 

I am so not used to dealing with anything other than root for everything ...

Spot is driving me nuts ... OK ... more nuts. Rolling Eyes

The first time I used Seamonkey it booted-up using the default configuration found in /root/spot/.mozilla (as noted I had symlinked an imported default folder and edited profiles.ini)

Now, when I just opened Seamonkey, it came up as it was a whole new load and was looking at the empty default folder in /root/.mozilla

I can once-again symlink (Copy, then Link-Relative) the same imported default folder I used the first time, this time to /root/.mozilla - but I need to understand what is happening and why, please?

Also, is there really a need to avoid root when this is a single-user laptop?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602

Last edited by edoc on Sat 13 Jul 2013, 21:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 36 [529 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 34, 35, 36 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1168s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]