Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 04:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
killapup


Joined: 25 Apr 2012
Posts: 53
Location: Warwick, Qld, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jul 2013, 21:43    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
killapup,

You can try booting with pfix=nox and see if it boots to a prompt. I haven't tested with less than 1Gb of RAM, but I would guess 512MB might work. The system will use about 210MB of RAM for storing the kernel and SFS file. Of course you still need RAM to actually run things, it would be tight. We do consider 1G the minimum to run X.

tlchost,

You would probably need to run Pidgin as the root user to do that. It normally is ran by user spot in Fatdog64. Unless your usb drive is formatted with a Linux filesystem and you make sure that spot still owns the .purple file after you copy it, it will not work with spot running it. You can edit /usr/share/applications/pidgin.desktop and change:

Exec=pidgin-spot

to

Exec=pidgin


Thanks, kirk, I'll give that a go some time, cheers.

_________________
Slacko 5.6 Frugal install... Very Happy
HP Compaq Presario V2000, 512MB RAM... Smile
What more could one want??? Well... Crying or Very sad
Also, Saluki, MacPup, quirky, VectorLinux, Knoppix and Porteus. Laughing
I've added Precise Puppy to the kennel, too... and now Carolite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1641
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 08:18    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:

tlchost,

You would probably need to run Pidgin as the root user to do that.......
You can edit /usr/share/applications/pidgin.desktop and change:

Exec=pidgin-spot
to
Exec=pidgin


Thanks...that did the trick.

Is there a list of applications that have been set up to run only as spot?

Also, is there a way to NOT write to the save file at shutdown? Not only would that minimize writes to the USB drive, but also save one from saving a mistake made(I make mistakes all the time).

In order to efficiently have multiple puppies on the same usb drive, how can I keep the 64 bit sfs files in an area other than /mnt/home and be able to mount them?

Thanks,

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 19:39    Post subject:  

tlchost wrote:
Is there a list of applications that have been set up to run only as spot?

Also, is there a way to NOT write to the save file at shutdown? Not only would that minimize writes to the USB drive, but also save one from saving a mistake made(I make mistakes all the time).

In order to efficiently have multiple puppies on the same usb drive, how can I keep the 64 bit sfs files in an area other than /mnt/home and be able to mount them?

Thanks,

Thom


I can only answer question 1. The web browser is set to run as Spot. I got Firefox and Thunderbird and set them up in Spot. You can drag and drop an icon into the "Edit" icon and see if it has the "-spot" in the "Exec" line if you want to see if any more are run as spot but I don't think so.

Edit: You can try Control Panel, System, double click on Manage Servers and Services, then uncheck the ram-save Running tab. My system is frugal installed and the "Start at Boot" tab is checked but the "Running" tab is not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
killapup


Joined: 25 Apr 2012
Posts: 53
Location: Warwick, Qld, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 07:24    Post subject: No go with nox!!!  

Hey kirk,

I tried FD with pfix=nox as you suggested but it still won't boot the kernel. But never mind, I'll give it a go if and when I get more ram.

Thanks again for your help,

Ray

_________________
Slacko 5.6 Frugal install... Very Happy
HP Compaq Presario V2000, 512MB RAM... Smile
What more could one want??? Well... Crying or Very sad
Also, Saluki, MacPup, quirky, VectorLinux, Knoppix and Porteus. Laughing
I've added Precise Puppy to the kennel, too... and now Carolite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1872
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 11:39    Post subject:  

tlchost wrote:

Is there a list of applications that have been set up to run only as spot?

Code:
grep spot /usr/share/applications/*


Quote:
Also, is there a way to NOT write to the save file at shutdown? Not only would that minimize writes to the USB drive, but also save one from saving a mistake made(I make mistakes all the time).
Enable the RAM layer, then:
1. Disable the ram-save service (as others have pointed out), or
2. Go to Event Manager and change save interval to zero.

Quote:
In order to efficiently have multiple puppies on the same usb drive, how can I keep the 64 bit sfs files in an area other than /mnt/home and be able to mount them?
It can be anywhere. Load them with System SFS Loader (choose folder, the click refresh button) and tick the 'load at boot' checkbox when you do.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5429
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 06:02    Post subject:  

Finally got around to trying 621. appears to be working well on this box.
Only one little tweak was necessary..... had to add nouveau.noaccel=1 to the kernel line to combat multi-colored display freezes and hard poweroffs.
Occurs with all kernels since about k-3.5.x, both 32 and 64 bit.

Code:
VGA compatible controller      : nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])


-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory : 3792MB (311MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Fatdog64 [bdfd4da875]
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu Jul 4 05:10:00 2013
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.0, 128 bits)
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Looking good so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hans

Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 16:52    Post subject: how to make save file smaller  

Hello to all,

I would like to make one of my dmcrypt save files smaller instead of bigger.
Is this possible?

cheers to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 290
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jul 2013, 11:56    Post subject: Package manager  

Probably a dumb question but....

Frugal install to SSD on Fujitsu s6520 all intel core 2 duo laptop went uneventfully. Wireless connection worked, posting from Seamonkey now. When I run fatdog package manager and ask to refresh package lists, nothing happens. Dialog box opens, stays at 0% for a while, then probably times out. Independent of repo I choose. Lists in /root/.packages seem correct. Anything I can do to troubleshoot this? Basically this is a pristine boot. Nothing installed or changed except to create the save file, connect to the network, and reboot.

Thanks,

Edited: Tried it multiple times, posted this, retried, checked that I had set locale etc., retried still timing out. Set up a firewall whilst poking, retried and it works on all repos. Who knows, but solved and I'm happy. Very Happy

Re-edited: Moved savefile location (Thanks for nice faqs and howtoo). Problem reoccurred. Turns out to be a timing thing. My ISP DHCP serves up a REALLY bad primary DNS, which I always patch using /etc/resolv.conf.head. Prior to patching, the package manager update consistantly fails. Post patch, it refreshes very quickly and I haven't been able to make it fail. Maybe it isn't quite patient enough for a bum DNS server. Anyway, Smile again.

Thanks,

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-precise-2.3, Lxpup 14.03, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite. All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 05:46    Post subject: desktop display  

Hi everybody,
Is it possible to display two desktops on one large monitor? Imitating a two monitor display. So that maximizing a window only takes up half of the screen.

Or is there a easy way to arrange windows side by side for instance two spreadsheets evenly displayed?

right clicking on the desktop selection in the taskbar shows "Desktop pager settings" but this is greyed out. Whats this for? how to ungrey it?

thanks

DC

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3244
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 07:45    Post subject:  

Why not just tile 2 program windows? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 290
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 07 Jul 2013, 09:26    Post subject:  

Is there (or does anyone have) a 64b lxappearance or spacefm for fatdog? Looked in the repos and so far no luck cobbling either together.

Thanks,

Edited: Made my peace with ROX with bookmarks and migrating my rightclickers from SpaceFM and can just use ROX options to change overall icon theme.
Unpack initrd, either by click or fatdog-split-initrd works fine.
Ran separate base for a few days. Line for that in my Grub4Dos menu entry was:
Code:
kernel /fatdog_621/vmlinuz   savefile=ram:device:sda1:/fatdog_621/fd64save.ext2  basesfs=device:sda1:/fatdog_621/fd64-620.sfs base2ram=yes

Unsquashed the base sfs pulled seamonkey, pwireless, some themes, added desktop/defaultbrowser for external opera, lxterminal, a couple of categories to the applications menu so it and the openbox menu match a little more closely, my lxpanel config and launchers, cursor theme, tweaked .desktops to get apps in my new categories....and resquashed the sfs and repacked the initrd. Now running from the repacked initrd. It's ALL in the faqs Smile Haven't spotified my external opera yet. That's next.

In summary, It all just works, and damn well. CPU use at idle on this 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo laptop is 0.5%, as good as it gets.

Thanks again Exclamation

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-precise-2.3, Lxpup 14.03, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite. All lean and steady pups.

Last edited by Marv on Wed 10 Jul 2013, 15:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 122
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 11:12    Post subject:  

Hi DC;
I use this program to tile windows.
tile-0.7.4-x86_64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  tile-0.7.4-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  10.44 KB 
Downloaded  73 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3613
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2013, 14:15    Post subject: How to combine all save-sessions into an SFS or PET?  

Seeking a recommendation
  • Is there a utility to take all of the DVD's saved-session and create an SFS that could be used for boot-time loading? OR,
  • Is there a recommended approach to taking the save-sessions and creating an SFS suitable for boot-time loading?
Thanks in advance for guidance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 353
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 01:12    Post subject:  

Thanks WillM works fine,
also thanks to whom made the pet if its not yourself

now if it could tile desktops Very Happy


DC

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
suttiwit

Joined: 11 Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Location: Thailand

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jul 2013, 04:10    Post subject:  

I wonder if i could have Xchat pet for fatdog64 621, please?

Thanks in advance

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recently i just found out that xchat is already included.
Never mind, then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0999s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]