Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 00:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4 (6-29-2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 32 [466 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 12:29    Post subject:  

One very minor niggle - touchpad and tapping almost unusable at first startup - not too hard to fix with >menu>setup>adjust touch pad.

Other than that - this has to be the best LH64 ever.
Everything works, suspend, resume, cpu management, wifi, etc. Feels fast.

So much from such a modest sized puppy - thank you Tazoc.

_________________
Acer 243LC laptop. 384mb ram. 2.5Ghz Celeron proc. 30gb hdd. Asus 701SD. 512mb ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8555
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 12:30    Post subject: Re: Burniso2cd  

Jim1911 wrote:
Burniso2cd does not work, it just brings up the following screen when trying to burn a cd.

On Line 20, change "cdrom" to "optical".

Or replace burniso2cd with PeasyDisc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 12:40    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
In BIOS System Configuration the ]Legacy Support is Enabled.

The description reads: When Legacy Support is enabled, BIOS will load Compatibility Support Module (CSM) to support Legacy OS such as Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, and DOS. When Legacy Support is disabled, BIOS will boot in UEFI Mode without CSM to support newer OS such as Windows 8."


If I turn Legacy Mode OFF I gather that it will stop MS win7 from loading but will that help or hurt LH64-b2 in any way (perhaps solving the no-boot Frugal problem) or make no difference?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 14:41    Post subject: Re: Burniso2cd  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Burniso2cd does not work, it just brings up the following screen when trying to burn a cd.

On Line 20, change "cdrom" to "optical".

Or replace burniso2cd with PeasyDisc.
Which file should be changed?

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 15:41    Post subject: Lighthouse 64 602 Beta2 with GIMP-2.8.4  

I moved my Lighthouse 64 beta 2 install to an older HP desktop pc.
I booted with the option that doesn't load x and ran xorgwizard-puppy
then chose probe and the correct screen resolution.
I needed to run the multiple sound card wizard and then reboot to get
it to use the usb sound card that I'm using.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 4 Jul 2013 on Lighthouse64 602 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV530 [Radeon X1600]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV530 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.12.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Core 0: @1800 MHz

Audio Adapter USB-Audio - Sound Blaster X-Fi Go! Pro

It's working well here too.
screenshot4.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.41 KB
 Viewed   400 Time(s)

screenshot4.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AwesomesaurusRex


Joined: 03 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 18:48    Post subject:  

Can this run any 32bit applications? I read that slackware 64 can if it has some extra stuff in it. Does this have that stuff or no? There are a bunch of older 32bit apps id like to run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 19:41    Post subject: UEFI Hard drive (frugal) installation of LH64  

edoc wrote:
I'm dead in the water here ... Crying or Very sad

Does the Frugal boot folder have to be FAT32 or can it be Linux-swap or ext3 or something better than FAT32?

I've run out of guesses here ...
from http://www.lhpup.org/help/faqs/uefi-harddrive.html Step 2:
Quote:
Right click on the 'unallocated' partition. This should be the same size that you shrunk your C: drive in Windows.
Select 'New', the Create new Partition window will pop up.
On the File system pull-down menu select 'fat32'.
For 'New size (MiB):' enter 1024. That makes 1GB.
Enter a Label for the new partition, then click Add.
OK, now it looks like you've already shrunk your C: drive and sda4 is a Linux ext3, so you can shrink sda4 by 1 GiB in GParted and then create a new 1 GiB Fat32 partition as above. Yes, this new partition must be Fat32; please do not use sda1 for this new partition, sda1 should be reserved for Windows to avoid problems with hibernation.

Once you've finished Steps 2 and 3 your new Fat32 partition should look like this in ROX-Filer, except that initrd will be initrd.xz and instead of sda8 will be sda6 or whatever GParted uses for the new partition:

In Step 4, change:
Quote:
options "pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda7"
to
Quote:
options "pmedia=atahd pdev1=sda4"
Quote:
Also, when the Frugal setup requested a name for the MS win7 partition in refind.conf (it actually assumed win8) I entered sda1 because I didn't see the NEB (?) or SYSTEM label anywhere.
Click on the Drives icon on the desktop of LH64 to find the label of sda1, I don't know what HP uses.
edoc wrote:
In BIOS System Configuration the ]Legacy Support is Enabled.Could Legacy Mode - Enabled - be interfering in some way?
CSM is good I think, that's what I'm using here. But you can try either way and see what works best for you.
Quote:
I hope to never use MS win7 so it's not a problem should I have to stop & edit BIOS should a rare need arise - I really want LH64 to work! Smile

More info ... the Boot Manager Options are:

USB Hard Drive (UEFI)

OS Boot Manager

Boot from EFI File
That's it! In Step 5 of the UEFI Install, use 'Boot from EFI File' to add the new boot option, which will start the a LH64 (rEFInd) boot menu from the new Fat32 partition.
Quote:
Generally on the boot tab you will find some way to add a new boot option. After you find the button to to add a boot option, you will be asked to select a partition. This is kind of cryptic as well, and might take some guessing. Then you will be asked to browse to a bootable EFI application, this will be EFI/boot/bootx64.efi on your new fat32 partition. If you can't browse to that path or you can't see the files that you put in your fat32 partition under EFI/boot/, you probably picked the wrong partition. After you have added your new boot option, move that new boot option to the top of the boot order. Again, this will vary with different UEFI implementations. Then save and reboot.

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 19:54    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
tazoc wrote:
Please try the Lighthouse 64 boot option
pfix=noautosave
Enter it on the kernel line. From the LiveCD boot menu, press <tab> (BIOS firmware)

Did this [SUPERB!], but [even though I save the session changes] it only lasts for that session [not auto-applied at the next].
How should I make it permanent?
So far it is experimental and not persistent when booting from LiveCD. I made a note to add a dialog to Boot Manager and update the init script so that it will be persistent in the next release.
Barburo wrote:
Chrome browser opens up and CPU rapidly goes to 99% to 100% and stays there.

The browser opens (slowly) and I sometimes get the "unresponsive page" alert, but chrome continues to work but slower than molasses. Obviously not what I need.

Firefox uses a similar large CPU on startup but rapidly diminished to usual levels with excellent responsiveness.

I use Chromium-browser in Precise Puppy 5.5 and Mint14 on this same box, and it behaves normally without the memory usage problem.

Any suggestions about how I can Chrome working properly?
B.
Hi Barburo,
I have no idea, try starting from a terminal:
Code:
google-chrome-spot
or
Code:
google-chrome
(as root) to see if there are any clues.
_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 20:02    Post subject: Re: Burniso2cd  

Jim1911 wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
Burniso2cd does not work, it just brings up the following screen when trying to burn a cd.

On Line 20, change "cdrom" to "optical".

Or replace burniso2cd with PeasyDisc.
Which file should be changed?
/usr/sbin/burniso2cd
Better yet, use Pburn in the Multimedia menu and click 'Burn ISO-image'.
AwesomesaurusRex wrote:
Can this run any 32bit applications? I read that slackware 64 can if it has some extra stuff in it. Does this have that stuff or no? There are a bunch of older 32bit apps id like to run.
No, only Wine (windows apps) should be 32-bit, and only if the optional Wine SFS is loaded. Better to use a 32-bit OS if you need the older apps.
_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
AwesomesaurusRex


Joined: 03 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 20:49    Post subject: Re: Burniso2cd  

tazoc wrote:
No, only Wine (windows apps) should be 32-bit, and only if the optional Wine SFS is loaded. Better to use a 32-bit OS if you need the older apps.


Are there any options for me to run 32bit stuff in LHP? I don't want to run any of the 32 bit releases, because I've had driver issues with them. LHP works great on my laptop. Can I take parts of the slacko release and add them into LHP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3251
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 03:46    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
...it will be persistent in the next release.

a. GREAT! Very Happy
I'll try to be patient whilst waiting for that to be released.

b. What about smm?
Any chance of a PET for a 64-bit version of that [or even better, something as good as Mailwasher?]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 10:21    Post subject: Re: UEFI Hard drive (frugal) installation of LH64  

Thanks!

It took about 8 hours for gparted to change the partition but that's done.

I have the files & folders moved and had already edited refind.conf so I just moved that as well.

tazoc wrote:
That's it! In Step 5 of the UEFI Install, use 'Boot from EFI File' to add the new boot option, which will start the a LH64 (rEFInd) boot menu from the new Fat32 partition.


It's never that simple for me ... Rolling Eyes

I get File Explorer containing several lines of mostly indecipherable characters.

I selected the one containing the partition label lh64b2 and was taken to another File Explorer window where it displayed:

Code:
<drivers>
<EFI>
<fonts>
<keys>
<$RECYCLE.BIN>
Shellx64.efi


I tried Shellx64.efi and ended up in the EFI Shell.

I exited and booted LH64b2 from the USB stick with disable Radeon & pfix=ram.

What did I do incorrectly, please?

[/quote]

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4307
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 11:36    Post subject:  

Wait! Is this where I messed up? Rolling Eyes

refind.config should be in the FAT32 partition I have labeled lh64b2 - yes?

BUT ...

Should the partition pointers in refind.conf for LH64 be sda4 or lh64b2?

Right now I have them pointing to sda4.

NOTE: One of the lines to which I refer reads ...

Code:
---->options "pmedia-atahd pdev1=sda4


Should it rather read ...
Code:

---->options "pmedia-atahd pdev1=lh64b2


Looking at this discussion of refind.conf I am uncertain which is the 'normal boot partition'; sda1 only contains a folder labeled "EFI" and a file labeled "grldr" whereas sda3 contains all of the MS win7 files and folders.

Quote:
menuentry "Windows 8" {
volume ESP (Change ESP to whatever your normal boot partition is. Usually it's sda1 and is labeled ESP or SYSTEM.)
loader \EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi
}

If you have problems with refind not finding the ESP partiton when booting , it may show an error like bootmgfw.efi not found. You can try changing volume from ESP to 0: (That's a zero and a colon. The zero represents the first partition. If the normal boot partition is on sda2, then you would want "volume 1:".)

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602

Last edited by edoc on Fri 05 Jul 2013, 18:04; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3630
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 11:52    Post subject:  

Hi @AwesomesaurusRex

Understanding that LH64 does not run native linux 32bit apps with any reliablilty, and understanding your need, this might help:
  1. VirtualBox
  2. KVM-QEMU
If you are not familiar with either, what they do is allow you to "boot" an additional PC (virtually) in the running LH64. When you boot the additional running PC within your lh64 you can start and run linux 32bit apps in that virtual PC while the LH64 is running its 64bit/Wine(windows) apps.

There is several Puppy threads on VirtualBox. FATDOG64, in its recent version, added QEMU-KVM, OOTB. LH64 has always offered VirtualBOX as an add-on.

Hope this helps, as, its the manner that I have been running a 64bit Linux OS and a 32bit Linux OS on the same PC harmoniously-together simultaneously.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AwesomesaurusRex


Joined: 03 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 18:30    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Understanding that LH64 does not run native linux 32bit apps with any reliablilty, and understanding your need, this might help:
  1. VirtualBox
  2. KVM-QEMU
If you are not familiar with either, what they do is allow you to "boot" an additional PC (virtually) in the running LH64. When you boot the additional running PC within your lh64 you can start and run linux 32bit apps in that virtual PC while the LH64 is running its 64bit/Wine(windows) apps.


i have heard of virtualbox before. ive never heard of that 2nd one. from some googling it looks like virtualbox is completely separate from the rest of my system. its like its in its own little, box, for lack of a better word.
is there some way to make it work so I still have the ability to get to my files on the rest of my computer from inside the box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 32 [466 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1089s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]