Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 14:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 18 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
linuxbear

Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 621
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jun 2013, 14:51    Post_subject:  

umair wrote:

Hi Linuxbear:
As suggested by the smokey01, You can use GRUB4DOS for that.
Here is the link where I post a detail that how to use your Flash Drive for Single or Multiple puppies in USB Drive. It will also work for your HDD (If you want to do.. ) http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=205609088&t=82373/
hope this will helps.
Thnx.
UMAIR


OK. I will backup, then boot and move all to a folder. It sounds like I can use G4D and then when the machine reboots. I can point the sfs request to the new directory.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
spandey

Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat 29 Jun 2013, 02:17    Post_subject:  

The Goole Earth doesn't work in my PC (core2duo with Intel G33 integrated graphics). It's say's I don't have graphics card capable of 3D. Does anybody had success with Google Earth 7 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 30 Jun 2013, 14:42    Post_subject:  

Hi BarryK,

40 days ago I wrote you a message
Quote:
5.6 - seems fine - thank you.


Now, after extensive use, I aver:
5.6 - is superb - thank you once again.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eeekos

Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 02:06    Post_subject: Giraffe Dialogs  

Precise 5.61 is speedy and smooth on my eeepc 901. Most items work right away. Sound is great, the touchpad works perfectly, and so on.

The video ... not so much. I'm having trouble with some of the dialogs in Puppy and its programs. They don't seem to fit the 1024 x 600 screen very well.

For example, after examining dependencies in PPM, the Install button is off the bottom of the screen. I can just barely see the top of it if I drag the window as far to the top as I can.

Another example - the preferences dialog in Geany, where the Save button is completely invisible. Again, I can drag the window to the very top of the screen and see just the top of the button. Couldn't read the buttons though, so I had to open the dialog on another computer to see which button to click. And now the dialog is stuck at the top of the screen; I can't grab its title bar to drag it down.

I've run into this problem in several other places, too.

Any idea what can be done? Unfortunately pupeee doesn't seem to be very current.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1821
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 03:18    Post_subject:  

eeekos, try pressing the Alt key while pressing the left mouse key to move the window.

Try changing the screen resolution with Xorgwizard in the setup menu.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eeekos

Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 04:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks! The alt-key tip helps, now I can drag the window from any point in it.

Xorgwizard only gives me choices of 16 or 24 bits at 1024 x 600 resolution.

I got a little more breathing room with Rox by turning on the automatic hiding of the bottom panel and setting it to be less tall. Some dialog boxes are still way down tho. More dodo than giraffe, they have their heads in the sand!

I'm not going to give up on Puppy yet, its frugal installation is perfect for a flash-drive netbook like this. I may be able to hack the shell scripts to change the size and/or shape of their dialogs, but modifying and recompiling progams will be a lot more time and trouble.

Aren't there some Linux window managers that let you put the panel on the side of the screen? How much trouble is it to change the WM?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 542
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 04:51    Post_subject: Giraffe Dialogs  

Hi eeekos,

Two tips.

1. In desktop/set global font size, reduce from 96 dpi to 84 or less.

2. In desktop/chtheme chooser, reduce the font size by one or two points.

You may need just one of the above or a combination.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
topia

Joined: 21 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 16:07    Post_subject:  

Please, could you add 8021q module in next versions of Puppy Linux?
I'm sorry english isn't my native language
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1821
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 17:25    Post_subject:  

eeekos wrote:

Aren't there some Linux window managers that let you put the panel on the side of the screen? How much trouble is it to change the WM?


You could do away with all of the desktop icons and use Wbar and have it auto-hiding. It's quite nice.

See attached.
wbar.jpg
 Description   Wbar launcher
 Filesize   49.23 KB
 Viewed   864 Time(s)

wbar.jpg


_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1514

PostPosted: Wed 03 Jul 2013, 02:48    Post_subject:  

I've just done a full install of this one after X Windows broke in Legacy OS2 and xorgwizard failed to bring it back (but that's a story for a different thread). So far it's working fine.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running New Year's Pup 02, Puppy EmSee v2.2, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxbear

Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 621
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 19:03    Post_subject:  

umair wrote:
linuxbear wrote:
This is definately nice on an old machine @ work. I also did an install to a USB thumbdrive with unetbootin. The problem is that Unetbootin put everything in the root directory of the thumbdrive and I would rather locate all of the Precise files in a directory. Does anyone have any idea how to do this and which system files need editing. Also, what would be the minimum amount of files in the root directory required for a boot after the Unetbootin install?

Hi Linuxbear:
As suggested by the smokey01, You can use GRUB4DOS for that.
Here is the link where I post a detail that how to use your Flash Drive for Single or Multiple puppies in USB Drive. It will also work for your HDD (If you want to do.. ) http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=205609088&t=82373/
hope this will helps.
Thnx.
UMAIR

This worked very nicely and left only 4 files in the root directory of the thumbdrive. Now I need a way to hide the taskbar. If that cannot be done without too much fuss, I will just install LDXE od XFCE. I just prefer having a clean desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jul 2013, 19:58    Post_subject:  

a few new backgrounds.
precisemi5,5z.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/folder/7v1msw26s6chb/spuppy
 Filesize   16.61 KB
 Viewed   612 Time(s)

precisemi5,5z.jpg

precisemi5,5xv.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/folder/7v1msw26s6chb/spuppy
 Filesize   7.62 KB
 Viewed   627 Time(s)

precisemi5,5xv.jpg

precisemi5,5vz.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/folder/7v1msw26s6chb/spuppy
 Filesize   16.54 KB
 Viewed   627 Time(s)

precisemi5,5vz.jpg

precisemi5,5v.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/folder/7v1msw26s6chb/spuppy
 Filesize   7.32 KB
 Viewed   653 Time(s)

precisemi5,5v.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 02:05    Post_subject:  

linuxbear wrote:

This worked very nicely and left only 4 files in the root directory of the thumbdrive. Now I need a way to hide the taskbar. If that cannot be done without too much fuss, I will just install LDXE od XFCE. I just prefer having a clean desktop

@ Linuxbear.
Glad to know that it helps you. For clean desktop, I may refer you to try xfce alongwith wbar instead of LXDE as LXDE is a more complicated compare to XFCE..
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1434
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 02:10    Post_subject:  

linuxbear wrote:

This worked very nicely and left only 4 files in the root directory of the thumbdrive. Now I need a way to hide the taskbar. If that cannot be done without too much fuss, I will just install LDXE od XFCE. I just prefer having a clean desktop

umair wrote:
@ Linuxbear.
Glad to know that it helps you. For clean desktop, I may refer you to try xfce alongwith wbar instead of LXDE as LXDE is a more complicated compare to XFCE..
UMAIR


You could try: LxPup by SFS.....

Not too complicated Wink

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 05:40    Post_subject: hide taskbar & desktop icons  

Hi linuxbear et al,

To hide your jwm taskbar use Menu > Desktop > JWM Configuration Manager > Tray management > Tray Autohide Option.

To hide all other drive and desktop icons try the brilliant SwapIcons-1.0.pet from rhadon.

To hide sfs files (e.g. the final Opera Classic v 12.16 download from Terryphi today) try the pet masterpiece SFStray from seaside. Easy to set up > then Click an icon to open > then, after use, just close to unload the SFS (or minimise it to the taskbar if it is to remain loaded).

Also from seaside is another jwm masterpiece fav-menu.pet. Easily choose your favourite apps to put in the menu > then left-click any free screen space (similar to the main menu right click option).

To hide Main Menu Apps there is PupMenu from radky - another of my personal favourites - which also does much more and is of wide use - not restricted to Precise and JWM.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0937s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]