Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 14:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Legacy OS 4 Mini Released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 10 [142 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
danneauxs

Joined: 14 Oct 2008
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2013, 11:05    Post subject:  

Thanks John,
Most puppies I've tried detect the PCI card so I'll give OS4mini another try since I liked it so much.

Danneauxs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Usman55

Joined: 11 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 11:12    Post subject: Kernel panic - Out of memory
Subject description: Less than 256mb RAM
 

I tried this OS on my laptop. Apart from the sound and wifi not working, I'm in love with it. I believe it's because newer hardware is not supported.

Now coming to the point, I want to install Legacy on an old Pentium 3 800 Mhz 256MB RAM computer. I tried installing it twice after rewriting the ISO to the flash drive but with no gain. After a lot of searching, I figured out that there is a bug which makes the files copy to the RAM and due to limitations, it overrides. I have a few RAMs lying around but none of them are compatible with this motherboard.

Has the bug been fixed?

Btw, I believe this is an amazing OS but it's community hasn't developed yet. It took me quite some time to know what the problem was.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 12:17    Post subject: Solution to your problem  

Hi, here is John Biles solution to your problem about installation. Hope it helps, Rob

Hello slimhunter,
On some computers this has been a long standing problem which originates from the creator of Puppy (Barry K) belief that Puppy would aways be under 256mb's in size. When Developers like me come a long and increase the size of the iso above 256mb's his script or file decides to try and load the sfs file in to ram that's not big enough anyway. In the past I've posted for advice on this which never ended with a solution except one!

If you can pull out some RAM so you only have 128mb's Legacy OS 4 Mini will run off the CD and allow a full Hard Drive install. I use this trick all the time. Once Legacy OS 4 Mini is installed, replace the RAM and away you go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Usman55

Joined: 11 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 12:31    Post subject:  

You see, that's the problem. I don't have a compatible RAM.

Isn't there a way to create a swap partition on the flash drive which the system uses instead of actual RAM? Now that would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2838
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 13:03    Post subject:  

Usman55, let me see if I can rephrase what oligin10 is saying. You don't need to ADD memory, but to temporarily remove some of it. Let me go over it at a sort of beginner level, since I don't know your technical skillset.

Your computer's RAM is in "sticks", each of which goes in a "slot". You have either two sticks in two slots, two sticks in four slots, or four sticks in four slots. Like this...

SLOT_1 128mb
SLOT_2 128mb

...or...

SLOT_1 128mb
SLOT_2 128mb
SLOT_3 [empty]
SLOT_4 [empty]

...or...

SLOT_1 64mb
SLOT_2 64mb
SLOT_3 64mb
SLOT_4 64mb

There are a few other possibilities, I've seen both three slot motherboards and four-slot boards that alternate. So it might also look like this:

SLOT_1 128mb
SLOT_2 128mb
SLOT_3 [empty]

...or...

SLOT_1 128mb
SLOT_2 [empty]
SLOT_3 128mb
SLOT_4 [empty]

With your computer turned off and unplugged, open the case and you will see them. Flip the latches out for the highest-numbered slot with a stick in it (for the first two possibilities, this would be Slot 2; for the third, it would be Slot 4 -- for the weird boards, it would be either Slot 2 or Slot 3) and remove that one stick.

Now close it up, plug it in, and boot and install Legacy OS 4 Mini.

After shutdown, unplug the computer, open it back up, and put the stick back in. Flip the latches out, and push the stick down in there (mind the notches on the stick -- they must match the slot) until the latches click into place. It should require a fair bit of force, but if that stick REALLY doesn't want to go in, make sure that you've got it turned right -- you probably need to flip it around so that the label is facing the other way Wink

Hope that helps.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Usman55

Joined: 11 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 13:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for the long detailed post but I'm not that dumb. There is only one 256MB RAM stick i.e. I can't remove 128MB out of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2315
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 16:04    Post subject:  

May be able to increase the size of the memory used by video in the BIOS settings to make system think it has less RAM for running.
If the boot scripts are directly taken from BK puppy, there is a buried command switch that does this, i.e. not well known if you do not read boot code directly.
I think its there so BK can test functionality without removing RAM just like the this situation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 16:36    Post subject: Sorry it didn't help  

Sorry Usman55. I was hoping you had 2x128mb sticks. I don't have any more suggestions myself. I do know that OS4 Mini does have that problem. Good luck. Thanks, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Usman55

Joined: 11 Jun 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 07:28    Post subject:  

I guess I'll need to install another distro until the problem is solved. Or maybe I'll connect the hard disk to my other computer (it has 768 MB RAM) and then format it. It will work, won't it? I seriously hope the hard disk installation doesn't differ with the computer setup i.e. amount of RAM, processor etc. I'm saying this because Windows 8 failed to install due to processor's incompatibility.

Until then, can someone suggest me a light-weight OS which can run Flash flawlessly and has Office and some other basic apps preinstalled.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 12:27    Post subject: Custom Racy NOP522  

Hi Usman55, you could try my updated version of Gray's Racy NOP522. It was just done about a month ago. You can find it under derivatives section. It has updated flash, browsers, xfburn, deadbeef, etc. I posted 2 versions. One with Open Office Light, one without. Just an offer, it may be what you need. It is listed as Custom Racy NOP522OOL. Thanks, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 16:50    Post subject: Replying to your PM
Subject description: Just in case you don't get the PM
 

Here is the link to the topic:

[/url]http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85517[url]

And here is the link to the download for the Open Office Light version:

[/url]http://www.filefactory.com/file/qt7zgu7tb6f/n/RacyNOP522Custom040613OOL.iso[url]

I can't guarantee the flash works flawlessly for you. I haven't tested it on all sites of course. But it works at all the sites I go to. Let me know if it works out for you. If I have time, I'm going to put together a Puppy Linux 421CustomOOL iso also. But the RacyNOP based one has much better support for wireless and printers OOTB. Thanks, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jun 2013, 04:29    Post subject:  

Hello Usman55,
Sorry I've been busy with work and other commitments. I searched through every accessible script written by Barry K and could never find the script that controlled the size limit setting. Now I asked if anyone knew where it was with no luck. Maybe someone will see this post and provide some answers. If it's discovered those changes will end up in future releases so anyone with this knowledge please help now.

OK try this grab a version of Puppy that does boot on you computer and partition the Hard Drive with with a ext2 partition and 1GB of swap.
Reboot with Legacy OS and see if it boots. I used this trick in the past with some luck.

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 17:36    Post subject:  

I've just made a full install of Legacy OS4 Mini to my hard drive and so far it's working well (so thanks again John). I haven't had to install much extra software although I have added Softmaker Free Office as I like the extra Word compatibility.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Slacko 5.9.3, Puppy EmSee v2.1, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3048
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Dec 2013, 12:56    Post subject:  Legacyos with kernel 3.0.25
Subject description: Wireless, Internet but no sound
 

Wireless, Internet but no sound
Alsamixer appears after replacing 'dev' by racy 5.3 dev
Firmware and modules from Racy too.
I wanted 'Tellico' so i am satisfied but with sound, Legacy Mini would have been perfect !
image.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   56.11 KB
 Viewed   296 Time(s)

image.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 29 Dec 2013, 09:34    Post subject:  

Hello Pelo,
Reading your post it appears you got sound working after added files from Racy is that correct? If so can you please explain what you did and I will test and include in the next update of Legacy OS 4 mini so others can benefit from the work you've done.
John

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 10 [142 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0857s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]