Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 16:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jun 2013, 21:15    Post_subject: precise hangs on detecting optical input  

precise puppy 5.6.1 hangs on detecting optical input when booting

as reported on precise 5.4.3

as reported on precise 5.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jun 2013, 22:45    Post_subject:  

Hi i am wondering if there is a version of xfce that will run on this Precise Puppy. I have started a thread about xfce click here to view and follow it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1629
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 20 Jun 2013, 11:52    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo wrote:
Hi i am wondering if there is a version of xfce that will run on this Precise Puppy. I have started a thread about xfce click here to view and follow it.


hi hideho ... not a 100% working but mostly http://www.wuala.com/666philb/Documents/xfce4_4.8.0.3_sfs4.sfs/

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 11:20    Post_subject:  

goolwa_pup, I have a machine that sometimes hangs during
startup with that "optical input" message on screen. This started
happening with several recent pups. I found that I could work
around the problem by putting "pfix=nox" on the kernel line. Then
once I set up the video driver and created a personal Save file,
I could get rid of the "pfix=nox" and everything would be ok.

I just found that Barry's Raring 5.6.92 alpha doesn't doesn't tend
to hang on the initial startup. Instead, I'm offered keyboard, video
and time zone selections. It may be that pups using his latest woof
will be free of the hang problem.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 780
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 18:58    Post_subject:  

I have decided to run Precise Puppy 561 again on my Acer Aspire One D257 netbook (you could say this is my main PC).

I had set up my wifi connection, as usual I,

Code:
1.) Run Dougal's Network Wizard
2.)Select wlan0
3.)It asks about the wl module not in the wpa_suppliant list, and as usual I allow it to add the entry.
4.)Press Scan
5.)Select the network
6.)Select Open, WEP, WPA/TSIK, or WPA2 (depends on network)
7.)type in password (if needed)
8.)Press 'save' and then 'use this profile'
9.)Connects to network.
10.) Then I press DHCP.
11.) Done


But it did not connect. the wireless light on my netbook was on, but i could not connect to any site. I rebooted, tried again and same thing. I tried Frisbee, but with no luck either.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jun 2013, 20:16    Post_subject:  

artsown wrote:
goolwa_pup, I have a machine that sometimes hangs during
startup with that "optical input" message on screen. This started
happening with several recent pups. I found that I could work
around the problem by putting "pfix=nox" on the kernel line. Then
once I set up the video driver and created a personal Save file,
I could get rid of the "pfix=nox" and everything would be ok.

I just found that Barry's Raring 5.6.92 alpha doesn't doesn't tend
to hang on the initial startup. Instead, I'm offered keyboard, video
and time zone selections. It may be that pups using his latest woof
will be free of the hang problem.

Art


thanx artsown .....I will give it a go....however this issue really needs to be addressed by the developers....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 02:26    Post_subject:  

bark_bark_bark wrote:

2.)Select wlan0
3.)It asks about the wl module
But it did not connect. the wireless light on my netbook was on, but i could not connect to any site. I rebooted, tried again and same thing. I tried Frisbee, but with no luck either.


Hi bark_bark_bark

1. issue this command in a terminal to determine which chip you have
Code:
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:

2. visit http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#Supported_devices to see which broadcom driver (there are 4 types) is recommended for your chip
3. blacklist wl and reboot to see if a different driver works
4. follow the instructions to do a manual wifi setup at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469 and note any error messages
5. if all that fails, run pdiag in a terminal and post/pm the tarball created
6. report if any of the above gives you success

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
goolwa_pup


Joined: 29 Oct 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 04:11    Post_subject: hangs on recognising optical device  

goolwa_pup wrote:
artsown wrote:
goolwa_pup, I have a machine that sometimes hangs during
startup with that "optical input" message on screen. This started
happening with several recent pups. I found that I could work
around the problem by putting "pfix=nox" on the kernel line. Then
once I set up the video driver and created a personal Save file,
I could get rid of the "pfix=nox" and everything would be ok.

I just found that Barry's Raring 5.6.92 alpha doesn't doesn't tend
to hang on the initial startup. Instead, I'm offered keyboard, video
and time zone selections. It may be that pups using his latest woof
will be free of the hang problem.

Art


thanx artsown .....I will give it a go....however this issue really needs to be addressed by the developers....


I gave it a go and yes it worked........then found poweroff doesnt work from menu...poweroffed from terminal...rebooted.... ....and found it was still hanging on booting at recognising optical devices.....went into Lucid Puppy and found there was a save file 2fs created by precise even though i didnt see anything asking for one as it was shutdown from terminal....anyway I have had a look.... didnt like.... and will stick with Lupu for now thanx Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 08:41    Post_subject: quicksetup: hyphenated time zones don't work.  

When a user chooses a time zone containing a hyphen, quicksetup converts the hyphen to a plus sign. So, for instance, if the user selects "America/Port-au-Prince", quicksetup sets /etc/localtime to point to /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Port+au+Prince, a file that doe not exist.

Here is one possible patch (based on quicksetup 2013-05-13 07:52:17 in Woof):
Code:
diff -ur old/quicksetup new/quicksetup
--- old/quicksetup   2013-06-23 15:40:55.476286475 +0000
+++ new/quicksetup   2013-06-23 16:09:59.396079466 +0000
@@ -422,10 +422,8 @@
    CZONE='/usr/share/zoneinfo/Australia/Perth'
    DEF_TIMEZONE='Australia/Perth'
   fi
-  if [ "`echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | grep 'GMT' | grep '\+'`" = "" ];then #fix sign.
-   DEF_TIMEZONE="`echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | sed -e 's%Etc/%%' | tr "\-" "\+"`"
-  else
-   DEF_TIMEZONE="`echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | sed -e 's%Etc/%%' | tr "\+" "\-"`"
+  if echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | grep -q 'GMT';then #fix sign.
+   DEF_TIMEZONE="`echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | sed -e 's%Etc/%%' | tr "+-" "-+"`"
   fi
   xDEF_TIMEZONE="`echo -n "$DEF_TIMEZONE" | sed 's%GMT%GMT\\\\%'`"  #the sign needs a \ in front. ex: GMT\+8
   #note, screen out UTC timezone, causes confusion... 111103 screen more...
@@ -1337,10 +1335,8 @@
  [ ! -e /etc/localtime ] && DEF_TIMEZONE="" #111027 precaution.
  if [ "$DEF_TIMEZONE" != "$ZONERETVAL" -o "$HWCLOCKTIME" != "$NEW_HWCLOCKTIME" ];then
   FLAG_CHANGED="${FLAG_CHANGED}${TT_tz2}:yes|"
-  if [ "`echo -n "$ZONERETVAL" | grep 'GMT' | grep '\+'`" = "" ];then
-   ZONERETVAL="`echo -n "$ZONERETVAL" | tr "\-" "\+"`"
-  else
-   ZONERETVAL="`echo -n "$ZONERETVAL" | tr "\+" "\-"`"
+  if echo -n "$ZONERETVAL" | grep -q 'GMT';then
+   ZONERETVAL="`echo -n "$ZONERETVAL" | tr "+-" "-+"`"
   fi
   [ "`echo "$ZONERETVAL" | grep 'GMT'`" != "" ] && ZONERETVAL="Etc/$ZONERETVAL"
   #111103 these are also in Etc dir...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jun 2013, 11:15    Post_subject:  

Wow, Great !

Still the GMT time setting on Puppy is WRONG !!

PERTH is GMT+8 !! NOT GMT-8 !!

http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/australia/western-australia/perth/

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jun 2013, 23:20    Post_subject:  

Downloaded the ISO of new Precise 5.6.1.
FRUGAL Installation on my desktop.
Everything is working fine.
teamviewer8 runs well without any issue.
Skype 4.2 working nicely.
Also installed wine (to use cisco packet tracer). Running nicely without any issue.
Keep it up Guys.
Posting the screenshot:
screen2.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  screen2.jpg 
Filesize  136.37 KB 
Downloaded  188 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
linuxbear

Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 621
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 15:06    Post_subject:  

This is definately nice on an old machine @ work. I also did an install to a USB thumbdrive with unetbootin. The problem is that Unetbootin put everything in the root directory of the thumbdrive and I would rather locate all of the Precise files in a directory. Does anyone have any idea how to do this and which system files need editing. Also, what would be the minimum amount of files in the root directory required for a boot after the Unetbootin install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1795
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 16:41    Post_subject:  

Do you need to use unetbootin?

I'm pretty sure grub4dos will do what you want.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 22:48    Post_subject:  

linuxbear wrote:
This is definately nice on an old machine @ work. I also did an install to a USB thumbdrive with unetbootin. The problem is that Unetbootin put everything in the root directory of the thumbdrive and I would rather locate all of the Precise files in a directory. Does anyone have any idea how to do this and which system files need editing. Also, what would be the minimum amount of files in the root directory required for a boot after the Unetbootin install?

Hi Linuxbear:
As suggested by the smokey01, You can use GRUB4DOS for that.
Here is the link where I post a detail that how to use your Flash Drive for Single or Multiple puppies in USB Drive. It will also work for your HDD (If you want to do.. ) http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=205609088&t=82373/
hope this will helps.
Thnx.
UMAIR
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2056
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jun 2013, 11:41    Post_subject: Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013  

I did an install to a 4gb flash drive using unetbootin.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 27 Jun 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.6.1 Linux 3.2.44 i686
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller (rev 09)
oem: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product:
Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop x86/MMX/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3550 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 MHz

I added a few applications with ppm including firefox-22,kdegames, and xbmc.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   58.42 KB
 Viewed   681 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1104s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]