Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 13:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
'lina-lite - version 005
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
jacatone

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 370

PostPosted: Fri 26 Apr 2013, 00:27    Post subject:  

Does anyone know if this is the latest version of lina-lite and does it use the XFCE desktop environment? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Fri 26 Apr 2013, 00:38    Post subject:  

Yes, this is the latest version of lina-lite and it uses XFCE-4.10 desktop.
_________________
X-slacko-2.3 - X-precise-2.4 - Carolite-1.2 - Carolina-1.2
X-slacko new repo
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3435
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 12:48    Post subject:  

audacity audio editor 1.3.12 static works with wav ogg mp3 files
on lina-lite without the need to add more software.

___________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 14:16    Post subject: Testing Lina Lite  

Finally getting around to testing Lina Lite!

I first must say... 'it is a very impressive and fast Puppy.'

Although a barebones distro, it was easy enough to install all the needed programs from the package manager (some from elswhere) to get things going the way I want them.

Now...firefox ERS 17.0.6 that comes with Lina-05... very clear and displays graphics and text really nice, it has some short-comings... r/h Slider Bar sometimes refuses to move the page although the mouse wheel overrides that. Page changes to another by itself at times, haven't found a cure for that, maybe firefox-20 or 21 regular build would be a better choice? Installed Seamonkey-17 from the package manager and that works nice with NO problems.

Slideshow-01 (an oldie but goodie) from the Puppy Forum installs and runs very nice in Lina (changed to look at my Pictures Folder) as does my little Cloud.pet. Would be nice to see support for fd0, Jamimiah didn't see much need for it in Saluki... I believe she made a mistake,

As I've been working with Lina, the thought came to mind what a nice 'Rolling Release' this little Puppy would make... just a thought!

Keep up the good work guys you have a winner here!!!

>>>---Indian------>
desktop-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.04 KB
 Viewed   908 Time(s)

desktop-1.jpg


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 620
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 14:26    Post subject:  

Unfortunately as with carolina, lite will only run up to the 17 series firefox. That's why the ESR (extended support release) was chosen, it should be maintained for at least a year.
_________________
X-slacko-2.3 - X-precise-2.4 - Carolite-1.2 - Carolina-1.2
X-slacko new repo
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jun 2013, 16:47    Post subject: Lina Lite 005  

Still testing on Lina Lite, adding lots of what I want a program to do... it continues to be an amazing puppy and may well be my 'main puppy' for everyday use If I get a few issues resolved!

Only main problem encountered so far is WiFi... wlano is recognized by frisbee but just won't connect! :: using Linksys usb module with Verizon modem/router combo. Had the same problem with Saluki and jemimah did something to get it working but I forget what it was... been a long time ago and many, many distro's back Sad (It's NOT my hardware or config., I have several other distro's where WiFi works great... and a few where it doesn't)

Also...anyone have any luck getting the Weather Module working in conky 'ken' ?

If so, would appreciate a tip or two!

'Thanks'

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sat 15 Jun 2013, 00:30    Post subject: Re: Lina Lite 005  

sszindian wrote:
Still testing on Lina Lite, adding lots of what I want a program to do... it continues to be an amazing puppy and may well be my 'main puppy' for everyday use If I get a few issues resolved!

Only main problem encountered so far is WiFi... wlano is recognized by frisbee but just won't connect! :: using Linksys usb module with Verizon modem/router combo. Had the same problem with Saluki and jemimah did something to get it working but I forget what it was... been a long time ago and many, many distro's back Sad (It's NOT my hardware or config., I have several other distro's where WiFi works great... and a few where it doesn't)

Also...anyone have any luck getting the Weather Module working in conky 'ken' ?

If so, would appreciate a tip or two!

'Thanks'

>>>---Indian------>

Hi sszindian,
If you go to Control Panel-->Network and choose the Frisbee Network Manager Configuration you can choose to disable Frisbee and use a more traditional Puppy method of connecting to wifi. Without knowing what jemimah did to help you out, it would be really difficult to add whatever it was.

As far as conky goes, I've never used it, so I'd be no better than a noob at providing advice concerning conky. Hopefully someone will step up to the plate and help you on this issue.

Glad to hear that you're enjoying 'lina-lite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jun 2013, 09:11    Post subject: WiFi  

Hi elroy, thanks for the reply...

Installed the- rt3070sta-2.5.0.3-3.2.13-ski.pet you posted over in Carolina thread... It creates a new usb0 module for frisbee (of which I'm not sure of the objective)... so now frisbee sees eth0, wlan0 and usb0 however, only eth0 will connect to the network with frisbee. Using the standard SNS I cannot connect to network at all with frisbee disabled. I tried all types of config's with the wlan0 and usb0 without success using both frisbee and SNS.

On all my other puppy versions where frisbee or regular SNS makes a wlan0 wireless connection... only wlano and eth0 are available for setup.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 10:12    Post subject: unwanted startup sound  

May I ask for help, please?

My friend uses a Dell laptop Latitude D610 essentially as an Internet device only: Yahoo mail via browser, search via Google, play online videos etc.

I am setting up 'lina-lite on my D610, before seeing how she likes it on hers.

An item I've not yet solved is the loud 'crackle'-like sound immediately after the screen shows
"Recognising media devices... optical input"
(around line 701 and subsequently in /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit)

How can I prevent that sound?

Thanks a lot,

Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 21 Sep 2013, 20:10    Post subject: Ram Hog  

Anyone have any ideas why Lina-Lite is such a 'RAM HOG?'

Most of the newer puppy builds only use somewhere between 80MB and 120MB (average) of ram at any given time when checked with 'Hardinfo hardware information' but Lina runs 180MB upwards to 400+MB of ram when checked. I configd the browser to dump its cache when done but that only helps a wee-bit.

Is there a way to easily correct this with a .pet, Kernel upgrade, or something?

Even though Lina is using a somewhat old kernel, it's still a very snapy program for older hardware. I run it on a Dell P-4 with 750 + MB ram and it does a fine job.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 395
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sat 21 Sep 2013, 22:30    Post subject: Re: Ram Hog  

sszindian wrote:
Anyone have any ideas why Lina-Lite is such a 'RAM HOG?'

Most of the newer puppy builds only use somewhere between 80MB and 120MB (average) of ram at any given time when checked with 'Hardinfo hardware information' but Lina runs 180MB upwards to 400+MB of ram when checked. I configd the browser to dump its cache when done but that only helps a wee-bit.

Is there a way to easily correct this with a .pet, Kernel upgrade, or something?

Even though Lina is using a somewhat old kernel, it's still a very snapy program for older hardware. I run it on a Dell P-4 with 750 + MB ram and it does a fine job.

>>>---Indian------>


I've run 005 for a long time now and never noticed this. Just booted into my remastered 005 with abiword, gnumeric etc on board (frugal install, pfix=copy so sfs is copied into memory (my main sfs is 67.9Mb and the zdrive is 23.8Mb)) and see the following:

In lxtask, 67 Mb of 1980Mb used, CPU % at idle 3.5%. Running opera, mem use up to 169 Mb (site dependent) of 1980Mb in Lxtask, returns to 67 or so on closing opera (12.16).

Edit 9/22/2013: more careful recheck of memory use on 005 using HWinfo: At idle, hwinfo reports 107Mb memory use. Rises to 193 Mb with opera running on this site, falls right back to 107Mb when opera closed. My first report of 193 at idle was actually running opera.

Could it be a firefox/browser thing not releasing memory? I don't have either ff or chrome installed on this OS to check.

I've never had problems with memory in Saluki 00x through 'lina-lite 005 so never really thought about it. Usually run them on Pentium Ms with 1Gb or on Athlon or P3 boxes with 512Mb. What do you see in Lxtask?

I'll bounce into x-precise 2.1.1 on this machine now and append what I see.

Edit: Indeed, now in xprecise 2.1.1 non-PAE installed identically on the same computer. I see 107Mb used out of 2027Mb in HWinfo, and Lxtask shows 1.5% CPU and 73Mb used at idle. ( I set lxtask for 5 sec update). What I'm currently using on the more humble boxes is alphaOS 11. It takes some tweaking but once set up the combo of a modern kernel, openbox with a tint2 panel and spacefm with no gvfs or pup_volume_manager is really squeaky efficient and it is non-PAE. My best guess on 005 is a browser not releasing memory but that is just that, a guess

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.3n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 22 Sep 2013, 19:12    Post subject: Ram Hog  

Thanks for that info Marv!

You Wrote:
What do you see in Lxtask?

I'm never used that feature... fact, I have no idea where or what it is Confused

I guess only elroy would know about the ram thingy... but since he's gone on to new pastures, no answer there I guess?

The high usage of ram by Lina doesn't affect the performance in any way that I was able to notice, but it just made me wonder after finding out about it. I believe the highest I've seen it was 440MB usage where as most other versions are running + - the 100MB mark.

I'm playing with the new X-Precise and X-Slacko at the moment, they seem to be doing rather well so far.

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 395
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 22 Sep 2013, 20:03    Post subject:  

Lxtask task manager should show up in the system menu. If not, it can be run from the terminal as lxtask. I use it to take a quick at cpu and mem use by app and to kill bad actors. Should be in 005.
It's certainly in the Carolina repo anyway. I'm in x-precise now and it's there. Pretty useful little critter actually.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.3n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Sep 2013, 20:48    Post subject: Re: Ram Hog  

Marv wrote:
... recheck of memory use on 005 using HWinfo: At idle, hwinfo reports 107Mb memory use. Rises to 193 Mb with opera running on this site, falls right back to 107Mb when opera closed.

175MB used of 2065 , with opera running on this site
Falls back to 119MB when opera closed.

'lina-lite 005, Dell Latitude D610 laptop. No swap.

Thanks,
Sheldon

_________________
Dell E6410: LuPu Super 2 & various Puppys;Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2, 'lina-lite;
Intel D865GBF: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2;
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2; ASUS P5A: MS-Windows 98SE, Puppy Linux 2.14X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Mon 23 Sep 2013, 18:28    Post subject: Ram Hog  

Well, a little more testing reviled, the problem is NOT with Lina Lite, at least I don't believe so.

After reading the posts I noticed that everything seemed to be running pretty normal with those using Opera Browser, when I found the excessive ram usage, I was running Seamonkey so I tried Firefox from the PPM. It did an auto-update and then I ventured to give it a good Internet workout... online Solitaire, a few Youtube vid's and some online Newspapers. It used around 170 some MB while working then dropped back to 117-120 at the desktop, this occurred with each session.

Retried Seamonkey... bingo right back up in the high MB figures again so, I would say the problem is 'Seamonkey' using all that excessive ram... for what? I have no idea.

I'm going to give Opera a try soon and see the results.

'Thanks for the look-in-to guys'

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 15 [225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1035s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0099s) ][ GZIP on ]