Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 16:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
JWM Desktop Updates to V755 (Release) and V910 (Test)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 30 May 2013, 00:53    Post subject:  

sorry folks, I have been up above my ears (literally) in paint. !I hate painting ceilings!

However I have downloaded joe's latest v762 and will build today. If it passes my basic set it should be up tonight/tomorrow for your wider testing.
EDIT: Done, see first post for the 32bit test pet, x86_64 will appear this weekend.

@Oscar, I suspect it's google earth but when I have built the next version can you try again. If it's still happening I shall pass it on to joe for a check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 20:57    Post subject:
Subject description: 762
 

If the ceiling's fairly plain, you can use a specialized roller cover for ceilings from Sears (hardly any dripping!) and go a bit slower with it..

more jwm-ish (dotpet of 762 and etc)

Handles well in racy 5491 and slacko55. One of the differences I looked for was the handling of 'serial translucency' with kcompmgr -n enabled - it does indeed seem more simplified, in essence the 'stepping' of the translucency effect according to layer of individual windows. The overall visual effect is similar to pre-750 versions but slightly different in use (actually seems more robust in keeping with Joe's overall plan). Moving windows by r-click-drag in the pager feels quite smooth and even the 'pop' as desktop is changed when moving over halfway past the boundary is hardly noticeable.

Custom-compile in p431. Oh well, still has the drawing-remnant issue for max, max-h and max-v when using titlebar button for that in p431 (but fine with window or tasklist button menu) with kcompmgr -n enabled. Noticeably less smooth in p431 for moving windows by r-click-drag in the pager also. The stepping of serial translucency is simplified for sure, much more obvious when the xpad windows I use for test have the same bg. Comparing against vgit-731, sloppy focus looks a bit better integrated now too.

All very quick and responsive, looks like a winner to me.
762.png
 Description   with kcompmgr -n in slacko55
 Filesize   52.8 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

762.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 20:15    Post subject:  

thanks 'f00, but the house is a pre-1st world war timber and iron roofed building, nothing is plain, straight, square,etc.,..., but I like it as it's 'small' and there is only me (and four cats) living in it nowadays. And before anyone yells about the cats, they are all desexed, were strays, and up here in the wheat belt, a necessity to keep mice out of the house and workshops for at least 9 months of the year.

However, back on topic.

I've just downloaded a new snapshot v768, so that should come the test way uploaded tonight, one thing it has is some updated po files that need checking please by our non-english speakers please, and a few more supplied if people have time. from an initial build, it seems a bit faster with window creation as joe has apparently done some changes and removed some redundant code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 18:16    Post subject:  

I have uploaded onto the first post JWM Version 768.

I have tested it as ok and it's time to have extensive testing. You have seven days!

If this version is good it will be rebuilt as the next Release version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1125
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 04 Jun 2013, 07:44    Post subject:  

Hi,

I use Precise 5.6 with a 1024 x 768 pixel screen.

After installing jwm 768 and Restarting X both abiword
and dillo open their 936 x 702 windows in a new position
(some 25 pixels right of their pre-768-installation point).

My regards

PS I used 936 x 702 because if I made my dillo or abiword
less than full screen windows with other than a 4 x 3 ratio
they only opened in the exact position I wanted on exactly
every second opening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jun 2013, 18:56    Post subject:  

@jasper, hi

Is it only those two apps or do all apps start to the right?

Also, if you shrink them a little bit more, do they still move right?

before I put a problem to joe, I had best get some further info as I cannot duplicate your problem on any of my boxes, although i don't have precise 5.6 loaded anywhere, downloading one now. By the way there is a 5.6.1 bugfix out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1125
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 05 Jun 2013, 20:24    Post subject:  

Hi again,

I reduced abiword to 900 x 675 and dillo to 800 x 600 and
checked the pre and post v 768 positions with a pixel ruler
and saw no movement, Since you have almost certainly hit the
nail on head and as they are the only apps I want to and can
open in a specific position I did not try to test more apps.

I did post in BarryK's Precise 5.6/5.6.1 at the very bottom
of page 5 about the superb speed increase in JWM menus
thanks to technosaurus - I expect Joe and yourself already
know about that.

I will not be suggesting to BarryK that there may be a
minor bug in Precise 5.6/5.6.1 (though I do hope npierce
will update Barry on his abiword non-US spell-checker
problem fixes).

To be honest I have never used the layer optioms in earnest
and I gather JWM v768 Test has some speed increases and
a nice right click shade option. I only use JWM and ROX so
I'm very pleased Joe is making improvements and although
I was and am happy to try to test v768 I have no idea of
any other changes.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 89
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jun 2013, 08:06    Post subject:  

I fear that my request for easier window minimization (issue #45) may make it easier to break nested windows. Ideally, when all of the windows in a stack have individual minimize buttons, you'd expect to be able to minimize all of them using the taskbar entry as well. But when you're dealing with windows that cannot be closed until the child window is closed... things are easier to break.

This can be duplicated in QtWeb. Options -> Advanced -> Search Providers -> Add New. Minimize and restore the main window several times, and one of the nested windows will break. Granted, you had the ability to minimize multiple nested windows before issue #45 was resolved, you just couldn't do it from the taskbar. But I can't duplicate this in v574.
jwm_capture185.jpg
 Description   That's a lot of nested windows
 Filesize   56.76 KB
 Viewed   518 Time(s)

jwm_capture185.jpg


_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jun 2013, 22:24    Post subject: v722 test build  

@jasper, I think your problem has been fixed by joe with the latest snapshot.

@session, Yours may also be ok now, joe has done some fixes that may have sorted it all out.

I shall build, test and make available a V772 test build tomorrow, I have to go out tonight to a CFA meeting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Tue 11 Jun 2013, 15:32    Post subject:
Subject description: 772 custom
 

ChangeLog<---(from current all the way back to 2005!) says
Quote:
No more custom cursors for close/minimize/maximize.
as of Fri May 31 18:42:46 2013 Neutral

If you like that feature, it can be swapped back in with the src/cursor.c from 762 .. doesn't seem to break anything in 772 as far as I can tell. Of course whether the custom hover cursors look 'right' depends on your cursor set Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 01:32    Post subject: v775  

I have uploaded a test version 775, have fun!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1125
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 03:06    Post subject:  

Hi,

Thank you for v775 (Test). but the movement persists.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 89
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 05:37    Post subject:  

...meanwhile, my problem is fixed.

Resizing while maximized is now disabled... I've used that quite often to set window size, but it became redundant after recent versions made it so easy to maximize X or Y; this is certainly more streamlined.

@jasper: window placement is a little different after v768 in some apps... you can always use the --geometry option, say 936x702+0+0 (curiously, dillo won't respect 0+0, you have to do 0+1 to get as close to the corner as possible)

_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)

Last edited by session on Wed 12 Jun 2013, 23:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1042
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jun 2013, 18:44    Post subject:  

@jasper, I have added a problem to joe's issue list for you.

EDIT 14june: I have just downloaded v777, I shall build and test tonight before uploading tomorrow as i'm working today elsewhere.

Last edited by scsijon on Thu 13 Jun 2013, 17:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1125
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Jun 2013, 03:03    Post subject:  

@ scsijon - my thanks

@ session - I tried +0+1 and +1+1, but no joy - perhaps as
I'm using dillo v 2.2 from Tman.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 16 [238 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0825s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]