Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 00:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 13 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 270
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 30 May 2013, 16:43    Post_subject: vaio no display  

Barry

some pics to show the vaio display when starting precise5610

+ wary5500 working great
+ precise5610 starting
+ precise5610 after 'Loading kernel modules
+ precise5610 fully started

Both of the vaio laptops are the same,
both exhibit the same problem.

Bill
precise5610-3.jpg
 Description   precise5610 fully started
 Filesize   8.65 KB
 Viewed   48609 Time(s)

precise5610-3.jpg

precise5610-2.jpg
 Description   precise5610 after 'Loading kernel modules'
 Filesize   9.31 KB
 Viewed   48680 Time(s)

precise5610-2.jpg

precise5610-1.jpg
 Description   precise5610 starting
 Filesize   9.14 KB
 Viewed   1466 Time(s)

precise5610-1.jpg

wary5500.jpg
 Description   wary5500 working great
 Filesize   10.74 KB
 Viewed   1466 Time(s)

wary5500.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 653
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 01:33    Post_subject: pwidgets pet 2.4.1 in precise-5.6.1
Sub_title: some widgets may need some fixes
 

G'day Sylvander,

I'm running pwidgets in a frugal precise-5.6.1 based on the 2.4.1 pet.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=35601&search_id=827712100

Check the final few pages of the pwidgets thread for fixes to some of the problems you are likely to come across with some widgets.

Success or not seems to depend on just which widgets you want displayed.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3474
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 02:20    Post_subject:  

Pwidgets-2.4.1 installed and functioning. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 791

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 04:32    Post_subject:  

Precise 5.6 :
- # ayttm
** (process:21467): WARNING **: Error loading plugin: libaspell.so.15: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

- # gadmin-rsync
** (gadmin-rsync:26051): WARNING **: Couldn't find pixmap file: gadmin-rsync.png

- Why are there 2 different gtkdialog links ? /usr/bin/gtkdialog and /usr/sbin/gtkdialog

- Still those 3 big bad files :
/usr/lib/libLLVM-3.0.so.1
/usr/lib/libicudata.so.48.1.1
/usr/lib/seamonkey-2.17.1/libxul.so
Is it possible to remove the first 2 ones, and replace seamonkey with lighter software.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 14:35    Post_subject:  Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500
Sub_title: Colonel Panic will see you now, Major Malfunction. ;-)
 

After reading Barry's blog post about whether Precise could replace Wary, I've had a crack at running it on my trusty K6-2 500 machine and, as I suspected I might, I'm having problems.

I'm booting from the CD, effectively pfix=ram as I haven't set anything up yet. It's getting as far as setting up the layered file system, but is throwing a kernel panic at the switch root phase. I've attached a photo of the screen. At this point it is also flashing the Caps Lock and Scroll Lock lights on the keyboard.

There's a link to the HardInfo report from Wary 5.5 in my sig.
k6-2_precise_panic.jpg
 Description   Kernel Panic when booting Precise 5.6.1 on a K6-2 500.
 Filesize   70.5 KB
 Viewed   1106 Time(s)

k6-2_precise_panic.jpg


_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 553
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 16:05    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500
Sub_title: Colonel Panic will see you now, Major Malfunction. ;-)
 

Hi Jades,

Do you get the same result if you press F2 as the CD boots and input:

puppy pfix=ram

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1040
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 31 May 2013, 23:49    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500
Sub_title: Colonel Panic will see you now, Major Malfunction. ;-)
 

Jades wrote:
It's getting as far as setting up the layered file system, but is throwing a kernel panic at the switch root phase.

Have you checked the md5sum to make sure you got a good download? I've had the same problem with bad ISO's due to faulty downloads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
for_wov


Joined: 10 May 2013
Posts: 25
Location: Europe:Kiev

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 07:01    Post_subject: retrovol +wifi(BCM4313)
Sub_title: some tunes to make puppy more userfriendly
 

retrovol again doesn't choose/maybe it shouldn't? right snd_card (in my particular case have multiple cards). no big deal doing it manualy but that will not attract more users/maybe it shouldn't? [replaced hw:0 to hw:1 & unmuted speaker]. wifi works like a charm with SNS (simple network setup by BK) SEES NO MODULE in wlan section but WORKS (refused 'wl' for BCM4313 and no more experiments Smile). my #1 puppy. Thank's BK and others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 09:00    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500
Sub_title: Colonel Panic will see you now, Major Malfunction. ;-)
 

ETP wrote:
Hi Jades,

Do you get the same result if you press F2 as the CD boots and input:

puppy pfix=ram


It's a first-time boot from the disc so there is no save, but it also does it if I explicitly tell it to boot pfix=ram - hardware may not be compatible but on other Puppies that don't work it explicitly mentioned the lack of cmov and I don't think they got as far as trying to switch root.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 09:01    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500
Sub_title: Colonel Panic will see you now, Major Malfunction. ;-)
 

jrb wrote:
Jades wrote:
It's getting as far as setting up the layered file system, but is throwing a kernel panic at the switch root phase.

Have you checked the md5sum to make sure you got a good download? I've had the same problem with bad ISO's due to faulty downloads.


I always do, and it also passed Imgburn's verification routine after I burnt it.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 553
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 10:23    Post_subject: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500  

Hi Jades,

Sorry to be pedantic but booting from a CD will not prevent puppy looking for and loading anything that contains the string “precisesave” that just might still be on a hard drive or attached device. Such an old file from another Pup will cause a panic.

The only ways to prevent this are:

F2 followed by “puppy pfix=ram” (the puppy followed by the space is vital)

Or

Before you boot from the CD rename any old precisesave files by placing an x at the start. E.g. xprecisesave.

The above may well not apply in your case but I think it is worth mentioning. That code is AFAIK the only certain way of preventing the automatic search for save files when booting from CD.

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 11:17    Post_subject: Re: Precise 5.6.1 testing on K6-2 500  

ETP wrote:
The above may well not apply in your case but I think it is worth mentioning. That code is AFAIK the only certain way of preventing the automatic search for save files when booting from CD.


I should perhaps have made it clearer that it was the first time ever that I tried using Precise on that machine, and therefore there wouldn't be any Precisesaves for it to find.

I've just booted from the Precise CD on the Pentium D machine (that's what I'm typing this on) so the disc isn't the problem either.

The AMD K6-2 family are i586-class and lack the cmov instruction so stuff compiled for a minimum of i686 usually doesn't work (apps giving Ilegal Instruction errors when run from the command line). Dunno whether that's what's happening in this case.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5891
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 18:46    Post_subject:  

Finally got around to moving to 5.6.1 on the Athlon XP install.Zero problems so far.
Pleasantly surprised by how fast the PPM updated the package database..... much,much faster than in the past. All looking good so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 19:17    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Finally got around to moving to 5.6.1 on the Athlon XP install.Zero problems so far.


Do you still have a K6-2 machine? Be interesting to see if yours runs into the same problem with Precise that mine does.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5891
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 19:43    Post_subject:  

Jades wrote:
James C wrote:
Finally got around to moving to 5.6.1 on the Athlon XP install.Zero problems so far.


Do you still have a K6-2 machine? Be interesting to see if yours runs into the same problem with Precise that mine does.


I'll try to drag it off the shelf and give it a try later tonight.Kind of curious myself. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0923s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]