Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 23:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Run Android-x86-4.2 safely on your PC
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jun 2013, 14:31    Post_subject:  Run Android-x86-4.2 safely on your PC
Sub_title: Use plop linux as boot manager
 

Here are the instructions to run Android-x86-4.2 safely on your PC
i.e. your computer's hard disk is not changed or modified at all.

The method uses a Live CD of Plop Linux. Plop Linux allows
USB boot without BIOS support (UHCI, OHCI and EHCI)
CD/DVD boot without BIOS support (IDE)

Instructions:

1) Download the iso of Plop linux
http://download.plop.at/files/ploplinux/4.2.2/ploplinux-4.2.2/ploplinux-4.2.2.iso
and burn it to a CD, not a DVD since many older computers
still don't have a DVD reader.

2) Download an iso of android-x86. I found the latest Jelly bean

android-x86-4.2-20130228.iso ---> Android 4.2.2 Feb 28, 2013
https://android-x86.googlecode.com/files/android-x86-4.2-20130228.iso

Write it on a USB device. You will probably choose a USB stick,
however I am using an external USB card reader.

Dragging the iso file to the device is not sufficient. Instead you must use
the command 'dd' (if you are using linux.) Here's how..

cd to the place where the iso is stored and type
Code:
dd if=android-x86-4.2-20130228.iso of=/dev/sdX

where /dev/sdX is the device name of your USB disk.
(Be careful to find the correct device name, since you are wiping
out all the data!!) Then type 'sync' in terminal to make sure
that the copying is complete.

3) Boot up your computer with the CD of Plop Linux. Tapping on a
function key may be necessary to show a list of bootable devices.
Choose CD as the device to boot from.

4) You will get a screen like this. Choose 'Plop Boot Manager'.
Don't choose 'Plop Linux' since that will take you to a console!!



5) You will now see a boot manager screen(see image)
Choose 'USB'.


6) If you have properly written your USB device
with a bootable iso, then Android Jellybean will now load.
Now you will see a blue screen (see image)
Choose the first option. The second option 'Vesa' also worked for me.




Some Notes:

1) If you have done some dangerous tinkering with your boot loader
then you may have to go into BIOS and choose 'Reset to default'.

2) Power off is in the Android settings control panel however it
didn't work properly on my computer. Only my
hard drive shut off so I had to press my on/off button

3) I was able to plug-in a USB stick and even an Android tablet
(with an OTG cable) and play music files and play slideshows
with files on other devices.

4) Unfortunately there wasn't a file manager included in Android
Jellybean

5) For experts ---> Help file advises that it is possible to put
executeable binaries in /ploplinux/bin before burning the CD.

6) Note that there is an option to install the Plop boot manager on
a hard drive however this modifies the MBR of your computer
so don't do that unless you understand the importance of
your computer's MBR.

7) If for some reason you find yourself at the Plop console
and want to get out --> Type 'reboot'

8 ) It is possible to install Android-x86 on a hard drive. Here is HowTo
http://www.android-x86.org/documents/installhowto

________________________________________________

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jun 2013, 11:18    Post_subject:  

Were you able to add an entry to your old bootloader, or does it need it's own version? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2368
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jun 2013, 12:40    Post_subject:  

Cool now my PC can function like a cheap arm device. Does Android pkg for ARM work or do those require a x86 version
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 16:58    Post_subject:  

You can use isobooter to make sure Android x86 will work on your hardware.
Android x86 is basically portable OS and can run at the moment on particular PC only.
It work well on my Acer. It is better to run android x86 v4.0, bcz more apps work on this version.
Here is some benchmarks test and how to install it directly on UFD using VirtualBox.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6t_mFoT1Pc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1_rI9H7qJ0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzWeyWa4jFo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 17:52    Post_subject:  

When installing Android-86 on a hard drive...

Quote:
Android-x86 can co-exist with other operating system or data in
the chosen partition. If the partition is formatted, you may choose 'Do not
format' to keep existing data. Otherwise, choose a filesystem type to
format. Note the type you chosen must match the partition id, or the boot
loader will fail to boot



The installer for Android-x86 has option to install grub on your hard drive.

Warning ! This may be dangerous. The only item on menu.lst file will
be Android OS but it can also look for windows(see image)!!!
This will confuse newbies.

If you find that you can't boot Windows after installing Android-x86 on
your hard drive then I would recommend you boot your computer
with a Live CD of Puppy linux and then run Shinobar's grub4dos
which does a good job of searching your hard drive for windows and
putting it on grub's menu.lst file.


According to the official site of Android-x86 it does look for
windows and puts it on grub's menu.lst file. Here's a picture
of the installer...



___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jun 2013, 19:14    Post_subject:  

Quote:
It work well on my Acer. It is better to run android x86 v4.0, bcz more apps work on this version.


I have an IBM desktop and I was able to get the
android-x86-4.0-RC2-asus_laptop.iso
to work properly with a trick.

While at the boot window of Android I pressed tab key to edit
the kernel line and removed the reference to Asus in the line.

EDIT: I believe that this only worked with a VESA boot of Android

The benefits of this version ----> terminal works!!!!

_________________________________________________

I should mention that the reason I use Plop linux rather than the other
boot managers available is because my USB port doesn't support
booting an OS.

_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 538

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jun 2013, 08:49    Post_subject:  

don570 thanks for figuring this out! But it still looks a but more complicated than needed. If only grub4dos would be able to recognize a partition on which android was installed then you could just install android from a burned iso to a partition.

who is the man in charge for grub4dos.. I believe it is sinobar no? Perhaps he has time to fix grub4dos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jun 2013, 18:27    Post_subject:  

To Dromeno...

You mentioned that grub can boot the iso.

grub4dos manual says that it recognizes entries that were created by
grub. When Shinobar's grub4dos ran it should have taken
the grub entries and rewritten them for the grub4dos menu.lst.

If it didn't do that then you can always do it manually with a text editor.

Make sure you have backup copies of menu.lst before doing this procedure.

__________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Mon 08 Sep 2014, 00:35    Post_subject:  

Android-4.4-R* supports read-write mode on ntfs and vfat 2Gb max.
It is portable (tested on some PCs and Laptops)

This is my Grub4dos menu.lst
title Android-x86 4.4-R* data2Gb
root (hd0,7)
kernel /android-4.4-R*/kernel quiet root=/dev/ram0 androidboot.hardware=android_x86 video=-16 SRC=/android-4.4-R*
initrd /android-4.4-R*/initrd.img
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1158
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2014, 10:08    Post_subject:  

Can any of these versions of android on Linux download .apk's from Google Play? Or are they stuck with the bundled apps?
_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2014, 16:18    Post_subject:  

I haven't been able to get google store to work, so I download from
freeware sites.

_____________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1158
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 22 Oct 2014, 20:21    Post_subject:  

I'm not keen on getting a Google account, but with the Play Store monopoly on even most free apps these days I was hoping I could set up a temporary linux install, run android on it, get a temporary Google account, and download a few herd to find free apks, and then be done with it.
_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop dual proc, 4gb ram, frugal Racy 5.5.
1999 Thinkpad 600e hacked Pent 3, overclocked 800 mHz, 490 kb running Lupu 528

Acer Iconia A1-830 x86 tablet -- Puppy some day?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
perdido

Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 87
Location: Omicron Persei 8

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 15:33    Post_subject:  

Softmaker Office for Android Beta released 10-14-14

http://www.softmaker.com/english/ofahd_en.htm

I cannot confirm that this will work with Android x86 as I have not been able to boot past the terminal screen yet, thought it might be useable for x86 even though system requirements say ARM-compatible CPU. As with all softmaker products, you are required to provide an email registration to receive the activation key.
This is available until 11-14-14 , IIRC.

This includes Textmaker, Planmaker, and Presentations each as its own apk. These are about 18MB each, so the whole suite would be 54MB.

Sytem requirements
Android tablets with ARM-compatible CPU and Android 4.0 or higher. 7-inch screens or larger recommended.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Yesterday, at 15:50    Post_subject:  

Here is the first review of Beta software from support site...

Quote:

I'd used TextMaker Mobile before, but switched to AndrOpen Office, since everything I use is in .odt format. At that time, AndrOpen Office worked better than TextMaker. Now, however, I am finding this new version is better than AndrOpen Office, so I'm using it. So, call it a thumbs up! for Textmaker.

A couple of issues, though.

First, when I type, there is a 1 - 2 second lag between the time I press a key, and the characters showing on-screen. Might be a hardware issue, might not. Not a major issue, but still, an issue.

Second, I am using a bluetooth Logitech Tablet keyboard. I prefer not to use the on-screen keyboard (I have Hacker's Keyboard installed, by the way). The keyboard commands mostly work the way I expect them to: alt+v to access View menu, ctrl+s to save, ctrl+up/down to move cursor up/down one paragraph, things like that. However, while fn+Home/End moves the cursor to the start/end of a line, and fn+Page Up/Page Down move the cursor a page up/page down, ctrl+fn+Home/End do nothing at all. Not a major problem, since I can quickly get to document Home/end by hitting ctrl+a (Select All), then left and right arrows, and be there, but still something. (Note: I remember the same issue in TextMaker Mobile, which I used on my Asus Transformer, with the keyboard/dock.) Also, when I hit ctrl+a, then right arrow, to get to the current end of whatever document I'm, the cursor moves there, but the screen does not match. i.e. if I'm at the start of a document and do that, the cursor is at the end, but I'm still looking at the beginning of the document. If I then press left arrow, the display shifts and the end of the document is displayed. I find though, that ctrl+a, followed by either ctrl+right arrow or ctrl+down arrow will shift directly to the end of document, and ctrl+a and ctrl+left arrow / up arrow shifts directly to the document start.

Third, I would like to be able to open a document in continuous view. I saw an earlier comment to same, with the reply that saving a document in continuous view would open that document in continuous view. Such does not seem to the the case.

I would also like to second something I saw in an earlier post, regarding payment options. I would much rather make a one-time purchase, instead of a monthly or annual payment.

I am using this on a Samsung Tab 3 7" with the following specs:
Snapdragon 400 / ARMv7 @ 1.7 GHz
1.5 GB RAM / 485 MB currently free
16 GB internal storage / 64 GB external - installed to internal storage
1024x600 display
running KitKat 4.4.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]