Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 16:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Laptop sleep function only works properly with Slacko 5.3.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
liro

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 17:03    Post_subject:  Laptop sleep function only works properly with Slacko 5.3.3
Sub_title: [Solved - for my setup at least]
 

When I started using Puppy on my laptop (IBM Thinkpad X31) last year, I orginally tried out Wary but in the end settled on using Slacko (5.3.3), which has worked pretty well for me ever since.

One of the reasons I stopped using Wary was because I couldn't get the sleep function to work properly. The laptop would go into sleep mode after closing the lid, but wouldn't 'wake up' again when reopening it. After spending a lot of time trying to fix this (ACPI, etc) I just gave up and started using Slacko 5.3.3 instead, which doesn't have this problem.

When Slacko 5.4 was released I eagerly tried it out only to find out that unfortunately it has the same problem (with my my laptop) as Wary does. As I couldn't be bothered spending loads of time trying to find the solution again, I decided to just stick with Slacko 5.3.3 for the time being...

Now, I've just tried out Slacko 5.5 hoping that this problem might have disappeared with the newer version, but sadly nope...

Does anyone know what Slacko 5.4 and 5.5 have in common with Wary, but not with Slacko 5.3.3 with regard to laptop sleep functions? I did post about this before in a bugs thread but didn't get a reply, but was hoping some clever person here might know Wink.

Thanks!

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
liro

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 17:04    Post_subject: Re: Laptop sleep function only works properly with Slacko 5.3.3  

[sorry double post]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2340
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 19:09    Post_subject:  

Sorry looks like laptop support has come and gone, Ive have had same type of failure with puppylinux and the woof builds for a year. Does not seem too much interest by developers to fix this. Mad

I found a version of quirky from a year or two ago still sleeps and wakes without cooking my notebook during use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 19:38    Post_subject:  

It works fine in Slacko5.5-4g on my MSI netbook.
_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
liro

Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 19:12    Post_subject:  

Wish I could find a solution to this as I'm basically stuck with Slacko 5.3.3 until I do... Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 22:34    Post_subject:  

liro wrote:
Wish I could find a solution to this as I'm basically stuck with Slacko 5.3.3 until I do... Confused


Did you try a quick push on the power button after
lifting the lid?

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2013, 06:46    Post_subject:  

I have the same problem as the OP, neither lid close or power puts lappy to sleep (lenovo t60 & t500)

pressing the power button causes it to go through the motions but doesn't actually sleep, 5.3.3 works ok and I think from memory 5.4 did also but could be mistaken

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2013, 07:04    Post_subject: Try this (works for me)  

Put this in /root/Startup & make sure it's executable, then reboot.

**edit - sorry folks uploaded an old zip, which had a missing 'fi'. This is the working version.
susplid0.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  susplid0.zip 
Filesize  362 Bytes 
Downloaded  253 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Mon 20 May 2013, 08:19    Post_subject:  

thanks oz

part way through a mammoth upload so can't test yet, will report back

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 21 May 2013, 21:56    Post_subject:  

hey oz

unfortunately the script caused the laptop to sleep/wake/sleep/wake even with replacement upload

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 18:49    Post_subject: Manual method  

Unzip the attached to /usr/bin, ensure executable, then make a desktop icon.
Clicking the icon should suspend after 1 sec, requiring either a lid close then open, or just a power button push, to resume.
suspbase.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  suspbase.zip 
Filesize  212 Bytes 
Downloaded  270 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
litig8rtenn

Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 28 May 2013, 20:28    Post_subject:  

should either or both of these solutions work with Slacko 5.5?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Tue 28 May 2013, 21:41    Post_subject:  

hey oz

suspbase working well on my lenovo t500 - thanks

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
litig8rtenn

Joined: 16 May 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 29 May 2013, 10:48    Post_subject:  

Suspbase doesn't work on my Dell laptop Inspiron 2200 running Slacko 5.5. When it goes to sleep I have to long-press power button to shutdown and then press power button to re-boot, after which it indicates improper shutdown and goes through some fixes while booting.

When I tried the susplid option it wouldn't start at all and I had to boot from CD and then delete the susplid file to get it to boot normally.

I have Slacko 5.5 installed to the hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 140
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 May 2013, 20:33    Post_subject: Apparently only works for some machines  

Sounds like Dells need some other solution. I have a Toshiba Pentium Dual Core & these scripts also work with HP & Compaq Celeron Dual Cores, and suspbase on a Lenovo. My Samsung netbook has 'samsung-laptop' module loaded & a power button press is needed. Same results for my stuff with Racy 551.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0689s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]