Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 12:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 601 Beta (Closed, see first post)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 14:10    Post subject: Re: Updated Flash plugin and OpenJavaRE available  

tazoc wrote:

Q5sys wrote:
Did you change something with the symlinks for the lib folders? For some reason kvirc wont run now because it hits the symlink for /usr/lib and errors out when its searching for a library
I'm not familiar with kvirc, couldn't find it in the KDE SFS or PPM. Please post a link to the pkgs and terminal o/p errors.

Thanks,
TaZoC


Deps:


Error:

You can see that it cant find the library even though its clearly included with the SFS package and is mounted into the file system. I dont know if this is because the sfs package has the file at /usr/lib which is a symlink in LHP or not. That's where the program looks for it though, and thats where it's built when the program is compiled.
However I copied the lib to the root app directory and then it'll find it.
But then it spits out the error.

Package:
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/errors/kvirc-4.2.0-2-x86_64.sfs



Possibly related, possibly not.
I can load the kvirc SFS packge with the Load on the Fly utility, however I cannot unload it. Doing so gives the following error:

Which makes testing this very difficult since I have to keep rebooting after I make a change to the SFS.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 11:11    Post subject: KVIrc; /usr/lib64; sfs_load; Sound Card Wizard  

Hi Q5sys,
Please try this KVIrc-4.2.0-2-x86_64-1.sfs at
http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64/?C=M;O=D

When building an SFS per Fatdog64 convention, 64-bit app libraries go in /usr/lib64/, not /usr/lib/.

It doesn't matter with Pets or TXZ pkgs because clicking on them or installing with PPM in LH64 is tweaked to move them automatically. Extracting a pkg with right-click -> Extract-txz will do the same.

sfs_load can unload an SFS by right-clicking on the SFS -> sfs_load. It will ask if you want to unload it, click Yes, then the unload will work.

Instead of Multiple Sound Card Wizard, try the standard Sound Card Wizard in the Setup menu. With my setup I choose the second driver in SCW. When it finishes I open Retrovol and tick IEC958 to enable the digital output on my sound card.

Hope that helps,
TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 15:04    Post subject: Re: KVIrc; /usr/lib64; sfs_load; Sound Card Wizard  

tazoc wrote:
Hi Q5sys,
Please try this KVIrc-4.2.0-2-x86_64-1.sfs at
http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64/?C=M;O=D

Gives the same error


It it works for you then I've got a conflict somewhere else in my system. That I'll need to track down.

tazoc wrote:
sfs_load can unload an SFS by right-clicking on the SFS -> sfs_load. It will ask if you want to unload it, click Yes, then the unload will work.

Tried that, on some SFS packages it works, others it wont. I have no clue what the difference is between why it will or wont.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 16:20    Post subject:  

I finally have a 64-bit laptop!

(Refurbished HP Pavilion g7.)

QUESTION1: Does Lighthouse 64 handle the troublesome EFI/UEFI Microsoft mess embedded in the BIOS?

QUESTION2: We rolled-back the MS install to Win7 (just in case I need to run a radio-related app in an emergency) - does that present any potential problems to a triple-boot (frugal) GRUB menu setup?

QUESTION3: I'd like to also be able to select a 32-bit Puppy. Are dPup Wheezy or Racy 5.1 equally OK = they won't disturb anything in the LH64 setup?

I'm looking forward to getting back to Lighthouse!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 20:21    Post subject:    

edoc wrote:
I finally have a 64-bit laptop!

(Refurbished HP Pavilion g7.)

QUESTION1: Does Lighthouse 64 handle the troublesome EFI/UEFI Microsoft mess embedded in the BIOS?


Just found the answer to this question = YES!

edoc wrote:

601 uses Linux kernel 3.7.10 and every kernel since 3.7.9 has contained the fixes to the infernal EFI/UEFI problem.

QUESTION2: We rolled-back the MS install to Win7 (just in case I need to run a radio-related app in an emergency) - does that present any potential problems to a triple-boot (frugal) GRUB menu setup?

QUESTION3: I'd like to also be able to select a 32-bit Puppy. Are dPup Wheezy or Racy 5.1 equally OK = they won't disturb anything in the LH64 setup?

I'm looking forward to getting back to Lighthouse!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 14:19    Post subject:  

tazoc,

I tried a complete new save file to test kvirc. Loaded the SFS and got the same error as before. So there must be a conflict with some other SFS I have.
I got a seg fault, but when trying to report it I got a QT error, which makes no sense since the file that isnt found... is exactly where it is.
screen cap http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/errors/kvirc-error3.png
Strace log: http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/errors/kvirc-error.txt

Since the other error was possibly QT related... maybe something is wonky with QT?

Here is a list of the SFS packages I'm using:

4_KDE-4.6.5-x86_64-G.sfs
MPlayer-20110624-x86_64-3.sfs
arora-0.11.0-x86_64-1sl.sfs
ntop-5.0.1-x86_64.sfs
OpenJRE-IcedTea-7u21-x86_64.sfs
openshot-1.4.0-x86_64.sfs
Devx-L64_601.sfs
Opera-12.01-x86_64.sfs
filezilla-3.6.0.2-x86_64.sfs
Flash-11.2.202.275-x86_64.sfs
flashplayer-plugin-11.2.202.280-x86_64.sfs
pidgin-2.10.7-x86_64.sfs
glances-1.6.1-1-x86_64.sfs
qbittorrent-3.0.8-x86_64.sfs
Google-chrome-24.0-x86_64-1.sfs
gufw-10.10.1-x86_64.sfs <--- being worked on, doesnt work right.
Gvfs-1.12.3-x86_64-2.sfs
steamclient-1.0.0.36-i386.sfs <--- being worked on, doesnt work right.
kmymoney-4.6.3-i486.sfs <--- being worked on, doesnt work right.
Thunderbird-17.0.3-x86_64-1.sfs
Transmission-2.33-x86_64-1.sfs
TrueCrypt-7.1a-x86_64.sfs
L64-601.sfs
viewnior-1.3-1-x86_64.sfs
lhp601-cli-powerpill.sfs
VLC-2.0.3-x86_64-2.sfs
libreoffice-4.0.2-x86_64_en-US.sfs
Xfce-4.10.0-1-x86_64-1.sfs
xscreensaver-5.15-x86_64.sfs
yakuake-2.9.9-x86_64.sfs

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 17:13    Post subject:  

Status report for load on HP Pavilion g7 laptop...

1. Burned an ISO disk (thought I downloaded stock LH but it says Mariner).

2. Disk in drive hit esc then F9 then chose CD/DVD as Boot Device.

3. First try got only a mess of video noise so restarted the process.

4. Before Puppy/LH booted I entered "lhp nomodeset pfix=vesa,ram"

5. WOW!

6. We had already rolled MS Win8 back to 7 and moved HDD space usage around - but I used gparted to extract an 8g Linux Swap partition from the 500g I had formatted as ext3 between the MS partitions and the 420g partition for Linux.

... I will post more after this VERY slow Move process concludes ...

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
live

Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 03:49    Post subject:  

Comments on L64 601Beta

I Like it very much Very Happy Very Happy

Suggestions & remarks for improvements:
It's the 1st puppy for which I need to change my touchscreen settings, my cursor moves so so slowy, I had to raise the min to 9

I would recommand to update:
* Thunar 1.3 to 1.6 (offers pane view as well)
* GIMP 2.6 to 2.8.4 (simple window view is much more confortable).
* LibreOffice 3.6.1 to 4.0.3 or later (lighter !) https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/ReleasePlan#4.0_release
* Update VLC & ffmpeg 0.11.2 -> ffmpeg 1.2.1 (fix should arrive within a month)
* Update Java
* Update Chrome Browser 24 -> 26 (http://www.technewsdaily.com/17489-chrome-update-audio-vulnerability.html)
* Gparted 0.9 to 0.16x http://gparted.sourceforge.net/news.php
* Put Skype as part of the package
* change kernel 3.7 (EOL) to 3.8 https://www.kernel.org/

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 08:36    Post subject:  

Back to the install after 7+ hours to adjust the partition via gparted yesterday ...

Lighthouse64 Universal Installer shows only the vfat, ntfs, & ext4 partitions.

It does not show the odd little partition MS created and it does not show the Linux Swap file I created yesterday per the LH64 instructions.

When I choose the sdaGUII associated with the ext4 partition there is no response from LH64 Universal Installer - the install window disappears and I'm back at the main screen.

I have copied the usual three Frugal install files to /sda4 - should I attempt a "Grub2Dos bootloader config" instead?

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 15:18    Post subject:  

@edoc: Your problems sound like they are related to the new GPT partition table that is a part of your UEFI-enabled system.

I believe that you have already tried to disable this and switch to a legacy MBR. Here is another link that may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 16:10    Post subject:  

I know that this will shock you Rolling Eyes Embarassed chuckle ... but I am finding this EFI/UEFI stuff confusing.

Is the Lighthhouse64 Installer supposed to autodetect and install accordingly, EFI or non-EFI or is the process manual?

Or am I wrongly presuming EFI compatibility due to kernel 3.7.10?

GParted shows the following:

/dev/sda1 fat32 100.00 MiB
/dev/sda2 unknown 128.00 MiB
/dev/sda3 ntfs 107.67 MiB
/dev/sda4 linux-swap 9.77 GiB
/dev/sda5 ext3 478.51 GiB
unallocated unallocated 1.34 MiB

I added sda4 & sda5 and the little unallocated space at the end is an anomaly of GParted calculations I suppose.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 16:17    Post subject:  

If this was a traditional 4-partition table, Gparted should see one of these partitions as extended. Since it does not, it sounds like Gparted is correctly recognizing the GPT.

So the next question is whether GRUB/Grub4Dos can install its boot code into this setup.

BTW, where did the Windows partition go? Sda3 isn't big enough to hold it.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 06 May 2013, 16:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 16:19    Post subject:  

The Ubuntu link you sent is so Ubuntu-centric it's not entirely easy to follow.

Do I read correctly that a Puppy Linux Frugal install will be forced into a fat32 partition?

Also, I get the "boot flag" of this but what is a "GPT disk"?

Thanks!

David

Quote:
Creating an EFI partition

An EFI partition is necessary to install Ubuntu in EFI mode via the manual Ubuntu installer.

Since Ubuntu 12.04, it is possible to re-use an existing Windows7 EFI partition (without formatting it). If you use a previous version of Ubuntu, or if you have several installations of GNU/Linux in EFI mode, it is safer to create a new EFI partition EFI.

An EFI partition can be created via a recent version of GParted (the Gparted version included in the 12.04 disk is OK), and must have the following attributes:

Mount point: /boot/efi (remark: no need to set this mount point when using the manual partitioning, the Ubuntu installer will detect it automatically)

Size: minimum 100Mib. 200MiB recommended.

Type: FAT32

Other: must be located at the start of a GPT disk, and must have a "boot" flag.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 16:21    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If this was a traditional 4-partition table, Gparted should see one of these partitions as extended. Since it does not, it sounds like Gparted is correctly recognizing the GPT.

So the next question is whether GRUB/Grub4Dos can install its boot code into this setup.

BTW, where did the Windows partition go?


The first three are only for MS Win7 (we removed Win8 & "upgraded" to Win7).

MS Win7 appears to operate OK.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 18:27    Post subject: Updated KDE-4.6.5-H, KMyMoney-4.6.3, Transmission-2.75 SFS
Subject description: 5_KDE-4.6.5-x86_64-H.sfs includes Qt-4.8.2 instead of Qt-4.7.0
 

KDE-4.6.5-H, KMyMoney-4.6.3, Transmission-2.75 SFS files uploaded.

http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64/?C=M;O=D (most recent) or
http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64 (alphabetical)

KMyMoney requires 5_KDE-4.6.5-x86_64-H.sfs.
5_KDE-4.6.5-x86_64-H.sfs recommends Gvfs-1.12.3-x86_64-2.sfs. The others include all dependencies.

Q5sys wrote:
I tried a complete new save file to test kvirc. Loaded the SFS and got the same error as before. So there must be a conflict with some other SFS I have.
I got a seg fault, but when trying to report it I got a QT error, which makes no sense since the file that isnt found... is exactly where it is.
screen cap http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/errors/kvirc-error3.png
Strace log: http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/errors/kvirc-error.txt

Since the other error was possibly QT related... maybe something is wonky with QT?
Yes, thank you for the SFS list, I have updated the KDE SFS, replacing the outdated Qt-4.7.0 with Qt-4.8.2 and a couple of bug fixes. I think you'll find KVIrc now works. Here is the SFS list I tested with, booting 601 with pfix=ram and selecting these at the 5 sec. boot prompt: (Select and configure SFS.)
  1. 5_KDE-4.6.5-x86_64-H.sfs (includes Qt-4.8.2)
  2. Flash-11.2.202.280-x86_64.sfs
  3. Gvfs-1.12.3-x86_64-2.sfs
  4. KMyMoney-4.6.3-1-x86_64-L1.sfs
  5. KVIrc-4.2.0-2-x86_64-1.sfs
  6. Transmission-2.75-x86_64-1.sfs
In Lighthouse64, the SFS files are sorted by basename so that names that begin with a numeral are layered above others. That is why our earlier tests with the Qt-4.8.2.sfs didn't work; (needed to layer Qt above the KDE SFS by prefixing the newer Qt SFS file name with a numeral e.g., 3_Qt-4.8.2.)

@edoc,
Lighthouse64 Universal Installer can only detect and install to Linux or vfat/ntfs partitions. 601 does not have any UEFI support. I am working on installer updates as follows for the next release:

Partition selection dialog scrollable if numerous partitions.
Improved detection of existing installs.
Experimental UEFI boot menu support.
Wine and 32-bit libs moved to extra SFS, (not built-in to base ISO)

Also: GIMP-2.8.4 Image Editor
Pidgin-2.10.7 Internet Messenger
Samba-4.0.5 File sharing
Drives Manager 2.0, updated busybox and more...

@live,
Thank you for the comments and suggestions. Q5sys has built http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/libreoffice-4.0.2-x86_64_en-US.sfs

JavaRE: http://www.lhpup.org/update/L64-601/Internet/OpenJRE-IcedTea-7u21-x86_64.pet (also in Lighthouse Update)
or SFS http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64

-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1095s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]