Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 19:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.5, released March 9, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3073
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 15:29    Post subject:  

Audacity Audio Editor Version 1.3.9
works very well on desktop machines ---> recognizing the sound card
automatically. Retrovol or alsamixer isn't needed!!

Try it here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 430
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 26 Apr 2013, 06:11    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51 !
Problem with sound-loudness only with precise 5.5 on my desktop-machine.
(no problem with my Toshiba-notebook )

Upup 3.7.2 and 3.8.3 working fine with sound ... but i cant use them on mydesktop-machine due problems with xorg ...they crash sooner or later working with them .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 208
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 10:04    Post subject:  

LateAdopter

I have corrected 3 typos in my post - the main one being that I connect through VGA not RGB.

Thanks for your thoughts. I didn't realise that there was more than one widescreen ratio.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 208
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2013, 23:23    Post subject:  

Racy 5.5 works with the HDTV with vesa at 1440x900. the xorg-server is version 1.11.0 .

precise 5.5 doesn't work with the HDTV at 1440x900 even if vesa is chosen. (The graphics card is an Intel.) The error in the xorg log is
Code:
vesa: Ignoring device with a bound kernel driver.

The xorg-server version is 2:1.11.4-0ubuntu10.11 . Is this the correct one for Precise?

I searched the web expecting to find an instruction to allow a driver to be set in advance. But found sites advising to upgrade instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 22:40    Post subject:  

new background.
preciseap25,22a.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   16.41 KB
 Viewed   688 Time(s)

preciseap25,22a.jpg

preciseap25,22.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   14.79 KB
 Viewed   683 Time(s)

preciseap25,22.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4133

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 04:47    Post subject:  

omg it takes forever to package a pet now (I've been on older pups)

/usr/bin/new2dir has a function called fixfilelistfunc

always called as
fixfilelistfunc "$ONEFILE"

it can be sped up significantly by replacing those with something along the lines of:
Code:
sed -i "/$ONEFILE/d" /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files

or changing that function to do the same rather than doing 2 consecutive reads and writes (really slow for large file lists in packages with a lot of resources)
Note: You may need to quote it differently, I haven't tested it yet (dia package is still going through files after an hour), but wanted to post it before I forget.

Edit: it should also remove any occurance of
/usr/share/icons/*/icon-theme
and add a line to the pinstall script along the lines of
echo gtk-update-icon-cache `dirname "$ONEFILE"` >> /pathto/pinstall
(but I think? pinstall needs the leading "/" removed for woof?)
this saves ~500kb for each pet that has icons in /usr/share/icons
... alternatively petget could automagically run it if a package contains any files in /usr/share/icons since this would fix other packages that may have been packaged with an icon cache that overwrites the existing one which may have additional icons or be missing some that are in the icon.cache file (may cause a fault if gtk thinks there is an icon that is missing but was on the packagers machine)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 10:08    Post subject: RE new2dir  

Disagree a little bit because I think that the main delay comes from the .moved.files ..
Code:
for ONEMOVED in `cat /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.moved.files`
 do
  ONEORIG="`echo -n "$ONEMOVED" | cut -f 1 -d '&'`"
  ONENEW="`echo -n "$ONEMOVED" | cut -f 2 -d '&'`"
  grep -v "$ONEORIG" ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files > /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
  echo "$ONENEW" >> /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
  sync
  mv -f /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
 done

could be like
Code:
 for ONEMOVED in `cat /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.moved.files`
 do
  ONEORIG="$ONEORIG
`echo -n "$ONEMOVED" | cut -f 1 -d '&'`"
  ONENEW="$ONENEW
`echo -n "$ONEMOVED" | cut -f 2 -d '&'`"
 done
#fi
echo "$ONEORIG" |sed '/^$/d' > /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.orig.files
echo "$ONENEW" |sed '/^$/d' > /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.new.files
grep -v -f /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.orig.files ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files >/tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
cat /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.new.files >> /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
cp -a --remove-destination /tmp/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files ${RELPATH}/${EXE_PKGNAME}.files
fi


EDIT : put the code inside the if/fi function in case "$ONEORIG" is empty, grep -v -f "$empty_file" could grep nothing .

Last edited by Karl Godt on Fri 10 May 2013, 04:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4133

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 14:47    Post subject: Re: RE new2dir  

Karl Godt wrote:
Disagree a little bit because I think that the main delay comes from the .moved.files ...
you are right I just grabbed on to the first obvious one.... Turns out the whole thing needs refactored on 2nd look. Installwatch's -e parameter would help and it would be better to use a single awk script to fiddle with the list than the crazy # of iteration with multiple unneeded read/writes.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mchabez

Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 15:45    Post subject:  

I don't know if this has been known before...

If I install a package that has a *.desktop file, it should have a menu entry. Well, most of them do.
But when the category is listed like this in the *.desktop file (example is from the fceux package in ubuntu precise)
Quote:

Categories=X-Fun-Sub

It does not show up in JWM's menu at all.

Same with trimage:
Quote:

Categories=X-Graphic-Sub


Changing them to X-Fun and X-Graphic works, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4133

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 16:51    Post subject:  

mchabez wrote:
I don't know if this has been known before...

If I install a package that has a *.desktop file, it should have a menu entry. Well, most of them do.
But when the category is listed like this in the *.desktop file (example is from the fceux package in ubuntu precise)
Quote:

Categories=X-Fun-Sub

It does not show up in JWM's menu at all.

Same with trimage:
Quote:

Categories=X-Graphic-Sub


Changing them to X-Fun and X-Graphic works, though.


you could add them to /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy
but I would suggest reporting to those packagers that they should use a registered category

Puppy (and linux in general) has enough work-arounds already, its better to fix the upstream package if possible

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DM was on fire!


Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 149
Location: N.E. Georgia Mountains, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 01:05    Post subject:  

Precise 5.5 runs flawlessly on my end, with KDE 4.9. Thank you to everyone for another great release! *-*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mchabez

Joined: 21 Feb 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 02:00    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
mchabez wrote:
I don't know if this has been known before...

If I install a package that has a *.desktop file, it should have a menu entry. Well, most of them do.
But when the category is listed like this in the *.desktop file (example is from the fceux package in ubuntu precise)
Quote:

Categories=X-Fun-Sub

It does not show up in JWM's menu at all.

Same with trimage:
Quote:

Categories=X-Graphic-Sub


Changing them to X-Fun and X-Graphic works, though.


you could add them to /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy
but I would suggest reporting to those packagers that they should use a registered category

Puppy (and linux in general) has enough work-arounds already, its better to fix the upstream package if possible


I added them to /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy, ran fixmenus, restarted X, still the same.

Edit: Adding the X-(category)-Sub category in their respective /etc/xdg/menus/puppy-*.menu files fixes the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 11:56    Post subject: frisbee-1.1 and network_tray-2.7  

The newest version of frisbee and network_tray are available here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=698497#698497
and are candidates for inclusion in Precise Pup 5.6. The major improvement is to the information provided by the network icon, to show all network types in use: ethernet, wifi, wireless modem and analog dialup.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 14:24    Post subject: KDE  

DM was on Fire! wrote:
Quote:
Precise 5.5 runs flawlessly on my end, with KDE 4.9

I would love to try KDE with Precise 5.5 but I'm unsure how to set it up.

A quick look at the Ubuntu repositories via PPM shows dozens of KDE related packages, so I'm not sure where/how to begin.

Any hints getting KDE working appreciated!
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2473
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Tue 07 May 2013, 07:37    Post subject: non root user
Subject description: sudo not found
 

# whoami
fido
# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 42: exec: sudo: not found
#

fido can mount.... and everything he is not allowed to do Shocked
[edited later]Cannot reproduce this ability for mount[/edit]


Thanks nooby who made me become fido again and find this bug Very Happy

[edit]
# xskat
Can't write file /root/spot/.xskat.opt

fixed by:
Code:
# chown spot /root/spot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [126 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0948s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]