running java files cause error/

Play with your Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
username009
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 04:44

running java files cause error/

#1 Post by username009 »

i downloaded a JAVA runtime environment on the Slickpet and after that i thought that i could run minecraft after but it still says "no JVM could be found on your system please define EXE4J_JAVA_HOME

CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME/ someone?

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#2 Post by jpeps »

Maybe you didn't install it? If it's the sfs version, mount it with sfs-load-on-the-fly in the setup menu.

User avatar
username009
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 04:44

#3 Post by username009 »

then? what happens next?

jpeps
Posts: 3179
Joined: Sat 31 May 2008, 19:00

#4 Post by jpeps »

username009 wrote:then? what happens next?
right click on jar icon; set
'File/Run Action' to:
java -jar "$@"

User avatar
WB7ODYFred
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 02:15
Location: Oregon & Washington

Re: running java files cause error/

#5 Post by WB7ODYFred »

username009 wrote:i downloaded a JAVA runtime environment on the Slickpet and after that i thought that i could run minecraft after but it still says "no JVM could be found on your system please define EXE4J_JAVA_HOME

CAN YOU PLEASE HELP ME/ someone?
execute these commands in a terminal and post the output for us to see. I have posted below what works for me.

Code: Select all

echo $PATH
set
echo $EXE4J_JAVA_HOME
echo $JAVA_HOME
java -version
/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin/java -version[
ControlPanel
ControlPanel creates the Java Control Panel app. Did it work Yes or No?
echo $EXE4J_JAVA_HOME There is no output from my execution of this command.


sh-4.1# echo $PATH
/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11R7/bin:/root/my-applications/bin:/opt/qt4/bin:/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin
sh-4.1# set
BASH=/bin/sh

HOME=/root
HOSTNAME=Kliktel528_pup
HOSTTYPE=i686
IFS='
'
INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE=en_US
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/lib:/lib:/usr/lib:/usr/X11R7/lib:/root/my-applications/lib:/opt/qt4/lib
LINES=24
LOGNAME=root
MACHTYPE=i686-pc-linux-gnu
MAILCHECK=60
MM_RUNASROOT=1
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1
MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
OLDPWD=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome
OPTERR=1
OPTIND=1
OSTYPE=linux-gnu
PATH=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11R7/bin:/root/my-applications/bin:/opt/qt4/bin:/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin

sh-4.1# echo $EXE4J_JAVA_HOME

sh-4.1# echo $JAVA_HOME
/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25

sh-4.1# java -version
java version "1.7.0_25"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_25-b15)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 23.25-b01, mixed mode)

sh-4.1# /usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin/java -version
java version "1.7.0_25"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_25-b15)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 23.25-b01, mixed mode)

sh-4.1# ControlPanell


Check contents of your file /etc/profile.d/java
file:////etc/profile.d/java

Code: Select all

JAVA_HOME=$(ls -d /usr/java/jre* | tail -n 1); export JAVA_HOME
echo $PATH|grep -q "$JAVA_HOME" || export PATH=$PATH:$JAVA_HOME/bin;
CLASSPATH=$JAVA_HOME/lib; export CLASSPATH	
Below Collected from Musher0 posts
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 1&start=17
every java user should have a profile.local file in /etc with this at the end of it:


Code: Select all

# /etc/profile.local
#
### some entries here, usually.
#
PATH=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/bin:$PATH
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH   
(Please modify my "/usr/java/jre1.7.0_25" with the proper location where your java is.
"/opt/java/jre<version number>" is the most likely place your java would be installed.)

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 1&start=36
Use the Script file to Install Java from Musher0
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 031#710031 My manual JAVA installation notes. which might help you.

Let us know that your problem has been solved, please. You can edit your first post to save "[SOLVED]"
Hope I have helped you, Good Luck in using Puppy Linux.
Fred

Post Reply