Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 10:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Menu's blank
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
mushy_peas

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 09:16    Post subject:  Menu's blank
Subject description: Menu's blank
 

New to Linux and thought I would try Slacko Puppy, version 5.5. All the menu's are blank either when i click on Menu and when I right click the desktop. This occurred on the live CD and when I installed it on the local hard drive.

I am using a HP thin client T5720.

Any ideas how i can fix this please?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 09:30    Post subject:  

hey mushy

welcome aboard

is this problem with or without a savefile?

if with then delete the savefile and try again

if without then it could be a dodgy download or burn

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 09:34    Post subject:  

How much RAM does your T5720 have?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mushy_peas

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 10:27    Post subject:  

How do i delete the savefile please? I have found where I can resize it.
Checked online and suggest /mnt/home directory. but i cant find that. I am not liking the file manager, any suggestions on what else i can use pls.

It only has 512MB of RAM.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 11:40    Post subject:  

hey mushy

the savefile is normally saved in the same directory the puppy files are in so look in that folder

if you use the drive icons on bottom left of screen (normally sda1 if you have one partition) and click to open you should see the puppy folder

find the savefile, right click and delete

or

you can run puppy from the disc and type 'puppy pfix=ram' where it says boot, this will boot without the savefile

if menus all ok then it is the savefile, if still dodgy then it suggests corrupt disc/download

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mushy_peas

Joined: 27 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 11:45    Post subject:  

I have sorted it thanks but not after dl the iso again and re-installing.

Just messed around with the screen resolution and put it back and it that fixed it.

Thanks All.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 851
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 12:41    Post subject:  

good one Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0623s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0205s) ][ GZIP on ]