Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 04:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Is there a way to force X to start at 1920x1080?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 20 Apr 2013, 19:21    Post subject:  Is there a way to force X to start at 1920x1080?  

Using Puppy precise 5.5

I have a 1920x1080 HDTV which I can connect to my PC through the VGA connector. If I boot with the TV then X starts at 1024x768. If I start xorgwizard then it says the TV can not be scanned and asks me to choose a resolution but then starts at 1024x768 whatever I choose.

The TV's manual says to set the resolution on the PC before connecting to the TV. I can set 1440x900 (the maximum on my old monitor) and that's usable on the TV but it's the wrong ratio. If I restart X then it reverts to 1024x768. If I manually change the resolution in xorg.conf to 1920x1080 (or anything else) then X starts at 1024x768 and sometimes changes the value in xorg.conf!

Is there a way to force X to start at 1920x1080? The TV's manual lists supported resolutions but for the frequency it gives only 60Hz sometimes followed by A or B. What would I set for the frequencies for X?

Last edited by zygo on Sat 27 Apr 2013, 09:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 21 Apr 2013, 11:47    Post subject:  

I have a newer nvidia pci-express card with DVI , HDMI and VGA out .

Have not had the chance to attach any HDMI screen .

What i know is that with the default kernel and xorg drivers the ddcprobe command only works on the
lowest out ( DVI ) in my case . ddcprobe scans for possible resolutions, and these are offered in xorgwizard .

I don't know anything about RGB out .

My older 1280x1024 monitor needed to press a button to switch VGA and DVI . DVI is not worth it in my experience .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2013, 10:15    Post subject:  

Karl Godt Thanks.

I connect through VGA not RGB as I originally stated.

So maybe disabling ddc would help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0412s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]