Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 29 Aug 2014, 12:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Raring 3.8.7 with non-PAE 3.8.7 kernel, created using
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 25 [371 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5721
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 02:21    Post subject:  

Might be of interest to some....Nvidia Linux driver 304.* and legacy branch support timeframes

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3142
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 14:29    Post subject:  

I have now tested the xorgwizard caused hanging. It happens to me frequently with my dual graphics integrated intel...and sometimes with ati radeon also when I switch to use it in BIOS.

Okay...it is not kernel dependent. I have tested with 3.8.7 and with 3.7.10. They all cause the same hanging after you use xorgwizard > probe, start X and exit to prompt again.
Luckily I have acpid listening powerbutton and for me it shuts down the computer. No need to hard shutdown.

Anyway exiting to prompt after using xorgwizard probe property is the clue.

It looks like that xorgwizard with X server: X.Org X Server 1.13.3 is not anymore compatible. There is for example command: Xorg -configure > /tmp/xorgprobe.txt 2>&1 which give error about screens when you execute it in the prompt.

I suppose that Xorgwizard creates somewhat defective xorg.conf file due to incompatibility. And yes....I can create really weird xorg.conf with xorgwizard.

It has several screens, monitors, devices listed, most of them useless.
Code:
Section "Monitor" #sectionmonitor0
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   HorizSync    30-49
   VertRefresh  56-61
   #UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
   Option      "PreferredMode" "1366x768"
   EndSection
   
Section "Modes"
   Identifier "Modes0"
   #modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor1"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor2"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
   ### <percent>: "<f>%"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "NoAccel"               # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "EnablePageFlip"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorTiling"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ColorTiling2D"         # [<bool>]
   #Option     "RenderAccel"           # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SubPixelOrder"         # [<str>]
   #Option     "AccelMethod"           # <str>
   #Option     "EXAVSync"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "EXAPixmaps"            # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ZaphodHeads"           # <str>
   #Option     "EnablePageFlip"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "SwapbuffersWait"       # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "radeon" #card0driver
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
   ### <percent>: "<f>%"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "Rotate"                # <str>
   #Option     "fbdev"                 # <str>
   #Option     "debug"                 # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card1"
   Driver      "fbdev"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   ### Available Driver options are:-
   ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
   ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
   ### <percent>: "<f>%"
   ### [arg]: arg optional
   #Option     "ShadowFB"              # [<bool>]
   #Option     "DefaultRefresh"        # [<bool>]
   #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"    # [<bool>]
   Identifier  "Card2"
   Driver      "vesa"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   #Option         "metamodes" "1366x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_0
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
      Modes       "1366x768"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen1"
   Device     "Card1"
   Monitor    "Monitor1"
   DefaultDepth 24
   #Option         "metamodes" "1366x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_1
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
      Modes       "1366x768"
   EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen2"
   Device     "Card2"
   Monitor    "Monitor2"
   DefaultDepth 24
   #Option         "metamodes" "1366x768_60 +0+0" #METAMODES_2
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
      Modes       "1366x768"
   EndSubsection
EndSection


I suppose that this kind of defective xorg.conf created by xorgwizard might cause problems.
And it happens with all my tested 2 other kernels. Compiling latest jwm-731 or disabling acpid....causes only that acpid not listening disables my powerbutton shutdown function and I had to hard shutdown. Jwm change to 574 or 731 didnt make any difference.

My conclusion....it is due to X.Org X Server 1.13.3 and xorgwizard incompatibility. But this is just preliminary evaluation of the problem...

I think that Barry Kauler should check this post....when his vacation is over....or anybody who understands more about Xorg - X server and xorgwizard.

By the way...3.7.10 kernel behaves nicely in my laptop. 3.8.X kernels does not like my acpi_call module anymore. If I switch off ati dual graphics discrete card ( I do that because it eat watts and warms the laptop even when it is not in use ), the suspend to ram does not wake up nicely. Sometimes it hangs. I cant cause that hanging with 3.7.10 kernel. It makes me thinking that I could use this version more....posting from 3.7.10 kernel Upup Raring now....Needs more test and usage and prolonged suspend to ram before I am sure...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 05:17    Post subject:  

Hi pemasu,

in all the recent puppies, my eeepc boots right into Intel video driver. It's a bit different with upup raring, as you will see in the attached picture. On the left side is the first run applet that shows upup precise 3.8.3.1, and on the right side, the same applet showing upup raring. It does pick up intel video in the end, but it's not doing so in a "straight" manner. Not a big deal, just an illustration to your thoughts on xorg as probably being buggy.
intel_vid.jpeg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.61 KB
 Viewed   1223 Time(s)

intel_vid.jpeg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 08:50    Post subject:  

Anikin. That is caused just because I forgot to remove Video Wizard. You cant use Video Wizard in my builds. Different kernel. And I cant load my compiled proprietary drivers to ibiblio...so....I have removed it. Now I forgot to do it manually. Should include it to the script.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 11:06    Post subject:  

anikin knows how to notice the obvious.
On the other hand, how else could I have learned about the removed video wizard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3030
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 15 Apr 2013, 12:43    Post subject: ORCA : a step to voice
Subject description: pretty look and everything ok ?
 

first use :
Surf on the Web : wireless, eth0, youtube music and image : nothing to do, that's is perfect.
Planner now by default,
NEW : icon finder, good idea.
Added : xvidcap 1.1.7 for tutorials, pupsaveconfig to avoid useless saves.
A good classical distribution.
Desktop icons : please change a little bit, there are a lot !
Wallpaper : ringtail is a new one ? ok fine.
F2fs dual boot : good idea
Laptop : hibernate some people want it (not me)
Wakepup ; very useful because this program avoids working with CDs on old laptops. But when you have burnt it once, it's for all your life. Not necessary here ( in PPM it's enough) ?
Planner is shown twice (calculate and setup). Remove it from setup.
Xblindkeys : well !
Xvidcap missing.

Pls make fun in your Ubuntu's Puppies.
. No ? in french we shall say 'un peu de fantaisie'

Me gusta, j'aime, i appreciate : aurora theme,

Ah ORCA ! want to try it with Puppy. 34MB hum...
And no missing dependancies, well ! thus, something new ...
It's for the fun. A new step to vocal management
I Tried Orca with Ubuntu 12.04 a week ago.
aveugle.png
 Description   I have installed all proposed things. But ORCA does not appear.
 Filesize   13.82 KB
 Viewed   1112 Time(s)

aveugle.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2013, 10:13    Post subject: SFS/devx question  

Hi pemasu,

I have compiled mksquashfs and need your help with a couple of sfs/devx questions:

1) What compression do you use - gz or xz (specifically for devx)? If it's xz, what block size would be the best? And if I follow help, the command makes quite a lengthy line. How does exactly your mksquashfs command line look like?
2) I'm confused by default mksquashfs3 and mksquashfs4 and mksquashfs symlink - I have only one binary for that.
3) Do I understand correctly that gz is a thing of the past and has been deprecated? Do I need it at all in the tool?

Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2013, 10:28    Post subject:  

Anikin. With these recent enough kernels there is choice to use xz compression which creates higher compression. With old computers the decompression takes longer time.
I think since 2.6.38 kernel there has been support for xz compression.

So....Barry Kauler uses with Wary gz compression, which decompresses faster in old comp.

I have used xz compression nowadays. It is fast enough with most comps which people try with my builds.

Squashfs3 is the older version used in Puppies before my time. Lol.

Code:
mksquashfs /path/to/the/folder/for/compression name-of-the-compressed-squashfs-file.sfs -comp xz


Woof3 builddistro has much more complicated scripts to determine used mksquashfs version, kernel version, compression type, etc....I dont bother to repeat those steps here. Just download woof and check 3builddistro file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rasul

Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Location: Tehran, Iran

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 04:14    Post subject: okular running error  

Hi,
thanks for your great job, I am running an AOD260 machine with N2600 cpu (GMA3600), problematic on most new kernel distros but it is now working well with yours!

Using Ubuntu's repos I installed Okular and Kolourpaint, both belong to KDE. Kolourpaint works great but Okular gives an error once trying to run it, it first says:

"Could not find mime types"
inode/directory
inode/blockdevice
inode/chardevice
etc etc etc

and then says something about not being able to open the folder %i !?

To resolve the issue I used the KDE SFS provided for the precise puppy, the first error about the mime types was removed (like it could now find the mime types) but the second error syill persisted. With or without the KDE SFS when I click OK on the error pop up windows Okular remain open on the desktop but when I want to open a pdf file it gives a massage that says sorry for the interuption but there seems to be a bug there you can report if you like or restart the app. If I restart the app again the same story and if not anyway Okular has been closed. Even once I produced a /%i folder and the second error wasn't removed.

Searching the web I saw people were adding the mime types manually to resolve the issue but the folder to which I should add the data is not available here or more probably I cannot find it, meanwhile that I don't know what to copy there if I could find it.

Can you help with this? I prefer not to use the KDE SFS as only need those two KDE apps not the desktop and its many little or large applications.

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 16:01    Post subject:  

rasul. Install devx sfs and load it with sfs_load right click....for example.
Then execute in console: update-mime-database /usr/share/mime
And you get mime types binary data file updated.
I did launch okular in console....as I do launch every app...I do test. That gave me hint what was wrong.

Next thing. /usr/share/applications/kde4/okular.desktop
In the Exec row: just leave okular word there, like this:
Exec=okular

Launch okular 2 times in console. You will see that the error messages are gone. Also launching from the menu will work, when you run in console:fixmenus
and then restart jwm

Done.

Sidenote: I installed all the dependencies from the PPM, estimated installed size about 167 Mb. For universal document viewer. Auch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3259
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 17:20    Post subject: libtiff.so.3  

I noticed a problem in using Raring 384 (other than xorg problems Rolling Eyes )

You are using libtiff.so.5 whereas audacity packages for Puppy
require libtiff.so.3

I have fixed this in the pinstall.sh script of audacity by doing a check to
see if libtiff.so.3 exists. If it doesn't then I create the link


http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85629

_______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1313
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 21:33    Post subject: Amrel RT 786 EX Toughbook
Subject description: Non pae processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
 

My other post for reference

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=699799#699799

Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae
installed just fine. Simple network manager connected ok
via wpa2 encrypted wireless router at my house.

Specs on the laptop for reference

Code:
Pup-SysInfo Hardware Report (Summary), Tue 23 Apr 2013

Current Time: 20:25:45
System Uptime: 18 min
Load Average: 1.12 0.76 0.58

▶—— BASE SYSTEM ——◀

PC Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Product Name: Montara Family of Chipsets

Motherboard Vendor: Phoenix Corporation
Product Name: RT786EX

Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
Max Speed: 500 MHz
Current Speed of Core 0:1600 MHz

Min/Max frequency    : 600/1600 MHz
Frequency governor   : performance
Freq. scaling driver : acpi-cpufreq

Sensor status is not available, or required kernel drivers are not loaded.

Personal Storage: RAM Disk
 Size    Used    Free    Use%
 387M    6.5M    381M    2%

Memory Allocation:
 Total RAM: 492 MB
 Used RAM: 485 MB
 Free RAM: 7 MB
 Buffers: 21 MB
 Total Swap: 279 MB
 Free Swap: 279 MB

Linux Kernel: 3.8.4-upup (i686)
Kernel Version: #1 SMP Mon Apr 1 17:49:25 GMT-8 2013

Hostname: puppypc14357
Username: root
Language: en_US.UTF-8
Keyboard: us
Timezone: Etc/GMT-8

Operating System: Upup Raring 3.8.4.2
Desktop Window Manager: JWM vgit-716
Desktop Start: xwin jwm

Firewall: Off (ip_tables not detected)
Network Status: Connected wlan0
Wireless Network: WIN_0745
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
Link Quality=70/70 Signal=-23 dBm
Session: Received 1.2 KB, Sent 1.7 KB
Month: Received 0 MB, Sent 0 MB
External IP Address: 98.20.17.90
Network Address: 192.168.254.8
Domain Name Server (DNS): 192.168.254.254

Boot File System: iso9660
Boot Media: cd

PUPMODE=5
PUPSFS=sr0,iso9660,/puppy_raring_3.8.4.2.sfs
PUPSAVE=

▶—— DISPLAY ——◀

Video Display:
 Screen Resolution: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
 Screen Depth: 24 bits (planes)
 X.Org version: 1.13.3

Video Chip:
 2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
 oem: Intel(r)852GM/852GME/855GM/855GME Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
 vendor: Intel Corporation
 product: Intel(r)852GM/852GME/855GM/855GME Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

▶—— MULTIMEDIA ——◀

Multimedia audio controller [0401]: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller [8086:24c5] (rev 03)

▶—— NETWORK ——◀

Ethernet controller : Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ [10ec:8139] (rev 10)
--
Ethernet controller : Atheros Communications Inc. AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0013] (rev 01)

▶—— INPUT DEVICES ——◀

AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
Lid Switch
PC Speaker
Power Button
Sleep Button
SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad
Video Bus

▶—— PCI DEVICES ——◀

CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller
CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI7420 CardBus Controller
Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCI7x20 1394a-2000 OHCI Two-Port PHY/Link-Layer Controller
Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) IDE Controller (rev 03)
ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DBM (ICH4-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 83)
SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
System peripheral: Intel Corporation 82852/82855 GM/GME/PM/GMV Processor to I/O Controller (rev 02)
USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)

▶—— PRINTERS ——◀

DefaultPrinter CUPS-PDF

▶—— SCSI DEVICES ——◀

ATA ST68022CF Rev: 3.01
TEAC CD-W24E Rev: 1.0A

▶—— USB DEVICES ——◀


=== END OF SUMMARY REPORT ===

This report is also available in
/tmp/root/PSI-HW-SUMMARY-130423.


Just doing this for Puppyt and myself to see about whether both work or not OK on these toughbooks.

I blew away the frugal install I did with Upup Precise 3.7.2 with kernel 3.7.2, no pae

Now running the frugal installer for this release.
Looking copacetic so far . I figured why dual boot 2 Upups on just a 8 gig micro drive (like a Ipod drive).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 00:01    Post subject:  

Thanks don570. It has been fixed in my woof2 already. Barry Kauler has also fixed it in woof2 level also....so no problem with libtiff symlinks in next build. Waiting that Ubuntu Raring official is out. Should be soon. Then I create the next build with latest fixes. Xorg - xorgwizard problem still exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rasul

Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Location: Tehran, Iran

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 03:06    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
rasul. Install devx sfs and load it with sfs_load right click....for example.
Then execute in console: update-mime-database /usr/share/mime
And you get mime types binary data file updated.
I did launch okular in console....as I do launch every app...I do test. That gave me hint what was wrong.

Next thing. /usr/share/applications/kde4/okular.desktop
In the Exec row: just leave okular word there, like this:
Exec=okular

Launch okular 2 times in console. You will see that the error messages are gone. Also launching from the menu will work, when you run in console:fixmenus
and then restart jwm

Done.

Sidenote: I installed all the dependencies from the PPM, estimated installed size about 167 Mb. For universal document viewer. Auch.


Thanks a lot! That worked fine. Now I can edit not only my PDFs but also DJVUs! Seems there is no excuse left for me not to switch to raring completely Very Happy

Meanwhile: also, having the devx SFS loaded, tried to install and work with virtualbox 4.2.6 from here:
http://www.theasterisk.tk/repository/VirtualBox/4.2.6/virtualbox-4.2.6-x86_src.install.pet
but it didn't work, it is installed but when starting to use it gives the usual kernel module errors. Do you know a Raring-compatible virtualbox pet or sfs around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 24 Apr 2013, 08:39    Post subject:  

rasul. Thank of the feedback. About Virtualbox. I know nothing about it. But....it sounds like you will need kernel sources sfs also to be loaded...if the pet....or virtualbox environment inside it compiles kernel module driver for virtualbox on the fly....just guessing....I really know nothing about Virtualbox. Now more experienced Puppy users should step in and give help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 25 [371 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1423s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]