Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 22:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 601 Beta (Closed, see first post)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 15:24    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
tazoc wrote:
#2 - I haven't been able to reproduce. I'm assuming you're using KDE-4.6.5 SFS. I did observe similar problems with the KDE-4.9.3 in testing only. I will ask Jamesbond what his fix was.
The problem with excess time to examine drives was also observed using jwm and other WM. It is probably a hardware dependent problem, although other users with similar hardware should have the same problem.

Regards,
Jim


Do you mean 'Drives' the program in the menu... or opening a drive in Rox?
If you mean the 'Drives' Program, then i can confirm this as well. Ill debug later when i get home.
I figured it was just me with my millions hdisks for why it was slow.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 15:36    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
tazoc wrote:
#2 - I haven't been able to reproduce. I'm assuming you're using KDE-4.6.5 SFS. I did observe similar problems with the KDE-4.9.3 in testing only. I will ask Jamesbond what his fix was.
The problem with excess time to examine drives was also observed using jwm and other WM. It is probably a hardware dependent problem, although other users with similar hardware should have the same problem.

Regards,
Jim


Do you mean 'Drives' the program in the menu... or opening a drive in Rox?
If you mean the 'Drives' Program, then i can confirm this as well. Ill debug later when i get home.
I figured it was just me with my millions hdisks for why it was slow.
Drives program and also the time that it takes to access any drives ie. Using JWM or any other WM, it takes excessive amount of time for drive icons to show, also true with the program pmount. As I stated before the same problem occurred with Fatdog64-600 and Jamesbond corrected the problem. See here.

Regards,
Jim

Last edited by Jim1911 on Mon 22 Apr 2013, 15:52; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 15:42    Post subject:  

tazoc wrote:
#1 - Please try getnvidia-0.8-64:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72405

I think I should remove the pre-compiled Nvidia-glx-310.40-k3.7.10-L64-1.pet from Lighthouse Update if that is what you tried. Keep in mind neither will work if your card is not on the http://www.lhpup.org/download/update/L64-601/System/Nvidia-glx-310.40-supported.txt
It does not work, I get an error message that makes no sense because I have plenty of ram and swap space.
image-5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   91.01 KB
 Viewed   609 Time(s)

image-5.jpg

image-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.4 KB
 Viewed   603 Time(s)

image-3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 15:56    Post subject:  

Jim,
Try the nvidia sfs i posted on the first page. let me know if it works for you.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 17:05    Post subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
Jim,
Try the nvidia sfs i posted on the first page. let me know if it works for you.
Sorry, I can't get it to work. Also, I downloaded and tried to compile the latest driver "310.44" for my card and had no success with that either, since there appears to be a kernel mismatch.

Regards,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 18:15    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Q5sys wrote:
Jim,
Try the nvidia sfs i posted on the first page. let me know if it works for you.
Sorry, I can't get it to work. Also, I downloaded and tried to compile the latest driver "310.44" for my card and had no success with that either, since there appears to be a kernel mismatch.

Regards,
Jim


Kernel Mismatch? Can you screen cap that error? Or do you mean the same module issue you had before?
I dont understand a Kernel mismatch since I compliled that on LHP601, and it works for me. We should have the same kernel.
Also did you use a Mariner ISO or the regular base ISO?
Can you post a hardware report so we can see what exact nvidia chipset you have.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 20:25    Post subject: gcc/kernel mismatch  

I imagine Jim is getting the same gcc/kernel mismatch you saw and I figured out how to reproduce that. I re-compiled the kernel against gcc-4.7.1 today and now no error message when compiling nvidia. So that should be fixed for the next release.
_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 20:27    Post subject: Re: gcc/kernel mismatch  

tazoc wrote:
I imagine Jim is getting the same gcc/kernel mismatch you saw and I figured out how to reproduce that. I re-compiled the kernel against gcc-4.7.1 today and now no error message when compiling nvidia. So that should be fixed for the next release.


I only got that at compilation though... he shouldnt see that if he's just loading my SFS package.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 20:31    Post subject:  

Extra SFS packages for LHP-601b

I have checked all these on my system and they all load fine. I have not done extensive testing with these, so PLEASE report any issues you have. I may have missed a lib that each package requires due to it already being on my system. If thats the case, just drop me a line and I'll send you the required lib as well as fixing the sfs package.


Arora 0.11 - Lightweight Webkit Broswer
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/arora-0.11.0-x86_64-1sl.sfs

TrueCrypt 7.1a- File/Drive encrytion
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/TrueCrypt-7.1a-x86_64.sfs

Filezilla 3.6.0.2 - FTP Program
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/filezilla-3.6.0.2-x86_64.sfs

GIMP - Version 2.8
(You must start this with the 'gimp-2.8' command, otherwise the built in gimp 2.6 will launch) - edit your menu items accordingly if you want 2.8 to overrule 2.6
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/gimp-2.8.2-x86_64.sfs

LHP Command Line Power Pill - Bunch of Command Line Utilities
Programs included
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/lhp601-cli-powerpill.sfs

LinCity-NG 2.0-5.1 - A SimCity type game
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/lincity-ng-2.0-5.1-x86_64.sfs

LibreOffice 4.0.2.2 - A Document Suite
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/libreoffice-4.0.2-x86_64_en-US.sfs

PeaZip 4.9.1 - File Extraction Suite
(Files are in the /root/my-applications/ directory)
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/peazip-4.9.1-x86_64.sfs

Pidgin 2.10.7 - Multi-Protocol Instant Messaging Client
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/pidgin-2.10.7-x86_64.sfs

RawStudio 2.0.8 - Photo editing Program for RAW files
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/rawstudio-2.0-8-x86_64.sfs

Viewnior 1.3.1 - A simple image viewer
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/viewnior-1.3-1-x86_64.sfs


WireShark 1.8.6 - A Network Packet Sniffer
(You may get an 'dofile' error on start, I didnt notice any problems after)
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/wireshark-1.8.6-x86_64.sfs

Xscreensaver 5.15 - Complete Xscreensaver Package with all screensavers
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/xscreensaver-5.15-x86_64.sfs

Yakuake 2.9.9 - A tiling Drop down Terminal client
http://puppy-linux.org/lhp601/sfs/yakuake-2.9.9-x86_64.sfs

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 22 Apr 2013, 21:36    Post subject: Feedback  

Hi TaZoC
I'm a bit late to this new release, but I have downloaded it and frugal installed it on my Acer Aspire Laptop. I have been spending some time with Puppy Precise 5.5 and Mint 14 as Daily operating systems, both of which perform just fine for me.

Although I use Rox by preference on all my desktops because I am now so used to it that anything else seems un-familiar, I tried your new file manager and the creators did a good job. It's quick, offers multiple tabs for views, and appears to be well thought out. By the way, how nice that you customize the Rox menus, the icons in different folders, and the "open with" and "send to" options in Rox. Another example of the care and thought you put into Lighthouse, and you've also customized the file type icons in SpaceFM.

I notice some cursor lag in Firefox. It wanders a bit - nothing too severe but enough to make me notice. Good of you to have Chome v.24 available as an SFS or a .pet through Update so that I do not need to hunt down a version. I use chrome pretty much exclusively as my browser as it syncs with no fuss on all the platforms I sign on to. Other distros seem to make Chromium Browser available. You have provided Chrome - is there any significant difference? In Apps I see that the exec is "google-chrome-spot". Is there a separate "google-chrome" similar to Firefox-root?

I also notice that the fonts are rendered on the screen a little less distinctly than I would like. Is there a way to make them a bit sharper? Frisbee works just fine with my on-board wifi. Having done some comparative timings I find it takes Lighthouse about 2 minutes to have an up-and-running desktop that is wifi connected. Puppy Precise 5.5 takes about 1 min 40 secs and Mint 14 is also around the same time. Perhaps it's Precise that is fast - both based on Precise Pangolin. Of course they do not have optional other Window Managers to switch to (another great feature of Lighthouse).

A final question - has anyone got compiz-fusion working on Lighthouse64? I tried following your instructions on lhpup.org using the .sfs indicated, but I have not been able to make it work yet. (C-F works fine on this laptop for Mint14 and some other Pups).

Thanks for another great iteration of Lighthouse Pup - I will continue to test it out.

B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 03:26    Post subject: Correction
Subject description: Compiz-fusion
 

Correction from my last post - I tried again and Yes, C-F works great in LXDE and Xfce - and persists when you switch. Must have been operator error again! Embarassed
Before I tried C-F I was switching from Openbox to LXDE back and forth a couple of times, then I tried switching to JWM and something broke. I got a prompt with a weird date 2 days ahead and a time that was six hours ahead, and everything froze. After attempts via ctl-alt-backspace a couple of times I used ctl-alt-del and it rebooted OK into JWM.
I'll keep testing.
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 10:17    Post subject: Re: Correction
Subject description: Compiz-fusion
 

Barburo wrote:

Must have been operator error again! Embarassed


Don't sweat it man, it happens to the best of us. i completely blundered the other night when i was building packages. lol
Glad you were able to resolve your problem.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 20:00    Post subject:  

TazOC,
Did you change something with the symlinks for the lib folders?
For some reason kvirc wont run now because it hits the symlink for /usr/lib and errors out when its searching for a library

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 20:25    Post subject: Updated Flash plugin and OpenJavaRE available  

I've uploaded Flash-11.2.202.280-x86_64.pet and OpenJRE-IcedTea-7u21-x86_64.pet to the Lighthouse Update repo., If you need Flash or JavaRE, these are recommended updates, however I also recommend uninstalling the JavaRE-7u17 Pet, if previously installed, before installing OpenJavaRE-IcedTea. IcedTea is the web plugin for OpenJavaRE. Thanks to Q5sys for OpenJavaRE, which replaces the old JavaRE-7u17.

Both are available in SFS at http://www.lhpup.org/sfs/601-x86_64/?C=M;O=D

Q5sys wrote:
3.) Flash gives some glitches every once in a while. A flash image will 'bleed through' onto other tabs.
I've noticed this in Opera, Firefox, and Chrome
Please try the updated Flash above, if you haven't already. Then there is a workaround here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Browser_Plugins#Flash_Player:_Leaking_overlay_with_Nvidia
Barburo wrote:
You have provided Chrome - is there any significant difference? In Apps I see that the exec is "google-chrome-spot". Is there a separate "google-chrome" similar to Firefox-root?
Hi Barburo,
Thank you for the feedback and complements. According to Wikipedia, "Chromium is the open source web browser project from which Google Chrome draws its source code. The browsers share the majority of code and features, though there are some minor differences." Yes, google-chrome is the script which runs Chrome as root.
Barburo wrote:
I also notice that the fonts are rendered on the screen a little less distinctly than I would like. Is there a way to make them a bit sharper?
The default Xfont-dpi is now 96 instead of 90, not sure if that would affect the rendering. I don't know how to make the fonts any sharper. Do you notice this in all apps or just browsers?
Barburo wrote:
A final question - has anyone got compiz-fusion working on Lighthouse64? I tried following your instructions on lhpup.org using the .sfs indicated...
I need to update that Compiz-Fusion web page. I have not worked on C-F recently, and would not be surprised if it doesn't work in the LH64-6.0x series. Xfce4 and KDE4 have their own desktop effects, so I just use them, without the Compiz SFS.
Q5sys wrote:
Did you change something with the symlinks for the lib folders? For some reason kvirc wont run now because it hits the symlink for /usr/lib and errors out when its searching for a library
I'm not familiar with kvirc, couldn't find it in the KDE SFS or PPM. Please post a link to the pkgs and terminal o/p errors.

Thanks,
TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Thu 25 Apr 2013, 21:08    Post subject: Re: Updated Flash plugin and OpenJavaRE available  

tazoc wrote:
Q5sys wrote:
Did you change something with the symlinks for the lib folders? For some reason kvirc wont run now because it hits the symlink for /usr/lib and errors out when its searching for a library
I'm not familiar with kvirc, couldn't find it in the KDE SFS or PPM. Please post a link to the pkgs and terminal o/p errors.

Thanks,
TaZoC


I'll post that tomorrow when I have more time to reboot and load the SFS package.

Bug report #1:

1.) Booting from DVD, but loading all files from /dev/sdf1/ {named hitachi} (files include safe file, lhpsfs, etc).
2.) Click on the pinboard icon for the drive and it opens in rox.
3.) Navigate in rox to /media/
4.) Double click the drive.
5.) Rox attempts to 'mount' the drive
6.) Rox opens the drive up in the window so you can view the files.
7.) Pinboard icon for drive no longer works. Returns the error:
Code:
Directory '/initrd/mnt/dev_save/media/hitachi' not found.

8.) Go back to /media/ in rox and 'unmount' the drive
9.) Pinboard icon works again.

Repeatable. Looped the above 4 times in a row and the same behavior existed. I'm thinking a symlink is getting killed.

Bug report #2:

Multiple Sound Card Wizard does not keep its settings after reboot. This renders sound in most programs mute, since I cant change it to the proper device. In programs like VLC where I can custom select it... I can get sound. But no sound in a browser at all.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 8 [107 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1149s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]